We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth each Ringit! :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Worth each Ringit! :-)”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Berjaya is probably the biggest resort on Tioman, about 10 minutes ride from the small airport away. The shuttle service was free and picked us up directly at the airport.

The room was clean and cosy. Our "Superior Chalet" was obviously not built within the last few years, but maintained quite well. It might be time to do some rennovations... for a 4 star hotel this was totally ok though. The "Deluxe Chalets" are much newer and a few square meters bigger. If you want to have a new room, you should book this categorie. Don't go for the "Junior Suites". They are located next to the lobby & bar, which is a few hundred meters away from the pool, restaurant and beach!

The food was absolutely ok. The hotel serves an international breakfast & dinner buffet, with a large choice of different food, even there were only a few guests in the hotel. I would have preferred some local dishes though... (most tourist probably disagree / prefer what they know). If you want to get to know the local cuisine, I can highly recommend the small restaurant right at the entrance of the hotel. The food there is very cheap and very tasty!

I have to give you a BIG WARNING about the rental shop right at the entrance of the hotel though!!! Those guys approach all tourists arriving or leaving the hotel, trying to sell scooters, boat & diving trips. We booked a boat tour there and had to leave a deposit. The next day the owner of the shop didn't shop up at the agreed time. As we found out this happenes frequently. We went to the police station twice until we finally got back our deposit! NEVER EVER go to this rental shop! If you want to rent something, do it in the hotel or ask the restaurant owner (old very nice lady).

Last but not least: The service in the hotel was really outstanding! The staff was very friendly and always willing to go the extra mile to make a guest happy. They even supported us, dealing with the rental guy & the police, despite the fact that this had actually nothing to do with the hotel.

I can definitly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danieltravelus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    643
    335
    145
    84
See reviews for
498
564
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We had a 3 days and 2 night. Everything was wonderful.
The staff was helpful and smiling all the time when we need help.
The place, food and wheather are prefectly to welcom us.

It is a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuanJuanO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portimão
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Just returned from 1 week holidays at this wonderful resort, with my wife and 1 year old baby. Great location, very nice staff, clear and hot water, excellent for families. Great place for snorklings, both in front of the resort and Rennings island. With luck you can actually see some sharks, stringray, turtles - i had that luck !!!
Accomodations is not the hotest point but it´s OK, and food also very reasonable with some choice. Be sure to choose full-board if travelling with babies. Outside restaurants close to the resort are not advisable.
Staff was very nice and helpfull, specially with the little baby. Many thanks to all the staff.
Surely a place to revisit !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view, specially near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPereiraPortim_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed in a chalet almost the furthest away from the lobby in October. I have mixed feelings about our stay. The bad: The room was dark and not too clean (I didn't feel comfortable putting my bags on the floor or the stained sofa, but no choice). Worst, of all, I felt like I was sleeping in my neighbor's room! The head of the bed was a few feet from the dividing door and the neighbors had on loud music/talking loud until somewhat late at night. I could clearly hear every word said.
The good: The bed and sheets were clean and they were accomodating by giving us an extra kids bed. The pool area and open restaurant (next to the pool) were very pleasant. The slides at the pool were a hit with our kids and it was nice to be able to eat in open air right next to it. Also, the beach was clean, water was clean and calm. We were able to take the hotel shuttle to a nearby hotel and walk to a beautiful beach we had all to ourselves.

The convenience to Singapore, the nice pool/restaurant, and beautiful beaches do outweigh the room issues, but I feel like a lot could be done get the rooms in better condition.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpmsmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offenbach, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

For many years we are on holidays in Malaysia and for two weeks we are used to come to the Berjaya Tioman Resort. We were never disappointed whether you have a look on the rooms the service or the food. In fact we normally come on low season but had never problems with the rooms or the service. In other posts I have read that for example the breakfast isn´t that good.Sorry I cannot agree with this because they offer varied food from different continents and it is quite tasty. The same with the service, I could read not so friendly etc. I do not know what happened to the other people and feel sorry for them but in my experience the service is very friendly and obliging.
The surroundings of the hotel are looked after and are clean.
I´m not the "hangout on the beach guy" but used to go to the rain-forest. Nevertheless the quality of the beach is good and several activities from the hotel like snorkeling are available. And if you want to play golf here we are.
To make a long story short I can really recommend the hotel, doesn´t matter if you travel as a single, a couple or with kids.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiehlmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed from 18 til 21 November 2012. Flew in from Singapore via Berjaya Air on a propeller plane. Old plane with cracks in between windows, but obviously made it safely. Return flight was a much better plane.

It is now the monsoon season, this is my third time in Tioman and all stays have been at the Berjaya over the years, twice in November, once in February, all during the monsoon season. This trip, rain fell in the middle of the night and the days were totally dry and scorching. No signs of any monsoon during the day.It was hardly gloomy. Same as my previous trips, rain hardly fell during the day, monsoon or not.

Previous 2 stays have been uneventful. Like the resort because it is sprawled out and you get some amount of privacy, not congested, especially during the monsoon season. Check in was fast, we were brought to our superior chalet in a buggy. Room was a comfortable size, we had the downstairs ( the superior comes in 2 levels, you get either upstairs or down). The aircon broke down on the last night, but we did not bother to call for service until check out as the weather was cooling and did not need the air con. We tried room service, food was brought within 20 minutes and it was nice. First night had the semi buffet at Sri Nelayan, food is okay. 2nd night at Coriander Seeds restaurant,which is Thai and Indian. Food and ambience is good here, as per other reviews. Very romantic too. They are closed on Tuesdays.

We did not use other facilities to comment. What disappointed us on the last day was during check out. We were told to be at the lobby at 9:30am to take a shuttle to the airport to catch the 11:20 am flight out. We called reception at 9:00 to arrange a buggy to help us with our luggage at 9:15am. They agreed, no issues. At 9:20am, no one shows up. We called reception again, they said would send someone down again. Still no show. At 9:30 we called reception again and asked if they could get the airport shuttle to wait for us as we were still waiting for them to get our luggage. This time, the receptionist told us that the shuttle already left! I told her that we had been waiting for them as agreed earlier on, and she repeated the shuttle left at 9:00 am. I repeated that we were told to be at the lobby by 9:30am and she just hung up rudely without saying anything else. No more confidence, we dragged 3 luggages, 3 knapsacks and our 6 year old to the lobby. By now, quite mad, we did the check out thing and told the receptionist the buggy never showed up and hoped they could arrange our airport transfer. The receptionist then said that there would be another shuttle about 10:00am to the airport. Well, she should have told us over the phone when we called earlier and not just hang up, then We would not get so panicky about missing our flight! Out of my 3 stays at this hotel, this experience was the worse, no assurance was given, and the lack of communication is disappointing.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelTan, General Manager at Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking your time to pen the review.

We are deeply sadden to hear of your experience. There is no excuse and we would like you to accept our most sincere apologies for the poor service rendered by the receptionist. We have since shared your comments with the Front Office Manager for his follow up.

We thank you for the feedback and apologize for the shortfall or distress you may have suffered. We appreciate and value your constant patronage to our Resort and sincerely hope you will provide us with another opportunity to welcome you back with a more positive experience.

Wishing you and your family a good and positive week ahead.

Sincerely,

Michael Tan
General Manager
Berjaya Tioman Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This is a great hotel! The best in Tioman! Everything was wonderful :the position, the sea view, the beach, rich breakfast, very large and clean rooms, friendly staff! If I wish to spend a while in Paradise, I will come back here!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
6.3 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
4.7 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
507 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
2.3 mi away
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
#9 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
556 reviews
6.5 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia

Property: Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
Address: Pulau Tioman 86807, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tioman is an island befitting the stars. Whether you seek relaxation or adrenaline, we’ve got you covered. With miles of secluded palm-fringed beaches, clear turquoise waters, abundant marine life, misty mountains and lush greenery, savour each moment as you indulge in one of the world’s most beautiful islands where ‘Bali Hai’ was filmed in the Hollywood classic ‘South Pacific’, in addition to the recent Hong Kong TV Series ‘The Ultimate Goal’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia Hotel Pulau Tioman
Berjaya Tioman Beach Resort
Berjaya Tioman Beach Hotel
Tioman Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing