We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm staff and pure bliss resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Warm staff and pure bliss resort”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The moment we arrived at the Tioman airport via Berjaya air, we were greeted immediately with smiles from the staff who waited patiently for us and brought us to the resort via a big and comfy boat. When the resort was within sight, it just took our breath away. Sandy beach with lush greenery at the back plus a nice view of the twin peaks. We stayed at the family beach villa, and we were so lucky the get the best room in the house! We just walked straight to the beach. The room is big, spacious and everything we need is available. Toiletries is well-equipped and the water pressure for shower is very strong. It's great to know the resort got their water supply from the spring water from the mountains. Talk about natural mineral water! The beds (queen and super single) are very comfortable. Pillows are very comfortable, and they gave a few hard and soft ones for you to suit your needs.

The staff are the greatest! They made the resort felt so warm and welcoming for my family and I. We were greeted with smiles everywhere we go and this made all the guests to do the same, and thus we are able to make friends with other guests as well. Mohan, is a great man who makes sure guests are comfortable and needs are met. Chef William and his team, whips the best mouth watering dishes, and we just ate and ate while we were there. As a coffee drinker, their brewed coffee is the best. I must have 3 cups of cappuccino every morning. Sofia, Vessie, and other waiters and waitresses (sorry I forgot their names) are just pleasant and ready to serve with a smile. Norliza, the reservations manager, and the front office staff are always smiling. Had been chatting with friendly Mr. Gan, Mohan, William and the gang during our stay there. The resort has Xbox Kinect for the kids and an internet room for web surfers.

We went jungle trekking led by John and Ken, and they are very knowledgeable with the jungle. We also went for a guided snorkeling led by Mark and Zaki. We felt very secure and safe with them as they went into the water with us and always made sure we are safe. They took extra care of my kids. Zaki brought me, a non-swimmer, to look at beautiful corals, and for that I'm truly thankful. It's worth to go for the snorkeling trip. You can also arrange for other trips like round island, diving, etc with the resort.

The resort is quiet and very private. I felt secured while staying there and it's so unpretentious that I can walk around barefoot and no one will bat an eyelid. It's also good to know they are the only "eco-friendly" resort in Tioman, and waste water are treated before it's released.

We loved our stay there and will we come back again? Definitely!

Room Tip: Get the beach villa, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank msjojong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    173
    56
    27
    11
See reviews for
180
182
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We went to tunamaya on a public-holiday break expecting the place to be busy and unaccommodating. However, as soon as we touched down in Tekek airport, a friendly staff from the resort was there to greet us and bring us to the resort. He was nice enough to also show us the way to a nearby duty-free shop which sells liquor at lower prices than the airport. Once we were done with stocking up. We were whisked away by speedboat to the resort. The views throughout the ride were breathtaking, albeit the choppy waters.

After arriving at the hotel lobby, we were given welcome drinks and a wet towel to freshen up even before checking in. The check-in process was a breeze, no hassles of any sort. We were then taken to our room via a buggy ride. We stayed in a beach villa (#113) which was very clean. The room had an attached moderately-sized bathroom, and the water pressure and heater was great! I guess they'd fixed the water problem. =)

About activities at the resort, there were only a limited amount of things that you could do. We opted for an unguided jungle trek through the rain forest at the back of the resort which was free. But the climb was tough and there was nothing much to see at the end of the track. We also went for snorkeling the next day (RM100 + 10% service charge per person)

Relating to the dive center, we dealt with a very friendly lady, Fiona who provided us with snorkeling gear even before we went on the boat for the snorkeling tour. Hence, we were able try out the gear and snorkel around the resort's beach before going out to the Renggis island and marine park. However, we did have a bad experience at the dive center with an unfriendly French dive instructor who rudely turned us down when we inquired about the snorkeling tour. We also witnessed him being rude to other guests as well. Although we understand that it was during the peak season and there were only a limited number of seats available for the tour, it was odd to encounter such rude staff. Luckily, Fiona saved the day and she managed to squeeze us in to the tour, somehow.

Regarding the restaurant in the resort, the food was great and delicious when we ordered through the ala-carte menu. However, the buffet was a let down. My advice is to stick with the ala-carte menu and stay away from the buffet.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hwei_Fern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pahang, Pahang, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Just wanna share some picture of Tunamaya Resort. I've been there with my officemate for our working purpose. Got a chance to try their food. Yummylicious :) Room is nice and clean. Their room price is starts about RM600. The resort is isolated from others. Its a right place for honeymooners spending their romantic moments. You also can have your beach wedding here.
Part from the beautiful and sinfully delicious food, not forget their staff. All of them are so friendly even few of them can't speak English properly. But at least, they try to give you the best. 90% of their staff is Malaysian.

Enough with all the good things. There's only one thing for me are not so gorgeous. Their beach is long but it's a bit rocky and the beach area become so small/ limited when high tide period.

One of the best resort in Tioman Island :)

Room Tip: Choose any rooms that suit your group. But if you are couple/ honeymooners, better choose their Beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AzraEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

We spent 5 days at the Tunamaya, it is absolutely a beautiful resort: very comfortable and clean rooms, eccellent service, good cooking and well organized. The staff is a point of excellence of this place. Two above all: Raymond, the waiter, and Nathan, the Chef.
Few points have to be highlighted anyway:
- the resort is in the south of the island, where we found always rough sea. So you have not clear water and you cannot see anything under the water. The rest of the island was more sheltered and has a nicer sea.
- the resort is reachable only via boat, and this cost is not included in the room tariff, it is 80 MYR per person per way. I suggest to the Hotel to include it in the cost, because it is high and it isn't a nice surprise at the check out. You don't have other way to leave the resort.
- the boats of the service are many, but we used always the small ones (unlucky?), that are not very safe because the sea is rough. They cost as the big one, but they don't have the same comfort. We arrived each time completely wet!
- the restaurant is very good with a satisfying menu, but sometimes the forced us to have our meal with an expensive buffet, not even so good. About 110 MYR per person. I suggest to avoid the buffet.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feelfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohan_Tunamaya, Resident Manager at Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Thank you for the the overall experience which you have enjoyed during the 5 days with us.
We are glad that our associates have gone beyond to impress you with our services.

I have conveyed your personal regards to Raymond who is now promoted to Restaurant Supervisor and Chef Nathan who have gone beyond to delight you..

The sea condition at that point of time with the south wind blowing made the sea at times rough and the water base unclear. We have started building an Infinity Pool which will be in operation February 2013 for our guest just in case the sea is rough at a certain time period in the island.

We have noted on your comments with regards to the transfer charges incorporated to the room rates which we are working on for the next season.

As for the boat transfers, we have started shuttling our guest with our 45 seater boats instead of the smaller boats which we have used during your stay.

We note on your experience with the buffet. We have started with daily fresh catch on ice at the BBQ open kitchen based on the item weight and a better spread buffets on certain days which is optional for guest if they would like to savour it besides our a la carte being available at the same time.

I thank you personnally for taking time to write on us and we look forward to your return soon.

Best regards and many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Our stay was fantastic from start to finish. We flew with Berjaya air to Tioman and were picked up at the airport and taken to the resort with the Tunamaya speedboat. After a 20 minute ride, we arrived at the resort. The view from the jetty of the resort with the twin peaks on the background is just fantastic. A golf cart brought us and our luggage to the reception area and we were offered a nicely tasting fruit cocktail and a refreshing towel. While you nip from the cocktail in the seating area, with beautiful sea views, you’re checked in. So easy and pleasant. Reception staff, especially Farah, were very very friendly and helpful during our entire stay.
We stayed 3 nights in a quad beach villa (#114) and one night in a beach villa (#111). The views from both villas are phenomenal. Beautifully landscaped with some trees hanging over the ocean and the beach in front of your villa. The villas have everything you need including a nice bathroom with rainshower. The beach villa is a bit bigger, but the facilities are almost the same.

The chef prepares good food at reasonable prices. Breakfast is a buffet, with fruit, juices, a choice of breads; French bread, croissants, toasts, … You are also offered a western or an Asian ‘menu’ which includes an egg (omelette, sunny side up) with sausages for the western breakfast. We didn’t try the Asian. The a la carte menu for lunch and dinner gives a lot of western and Asian choices.

Because the hotel is brand new, there are some rookie mistakes, which didn’t bother us. It was just charming to see some of the waiters doing their utmost best presenting our drinks or preparing the tables.

We visited the Ash waterfalls on foot, with a hotel guide. The walk is nice, through the jungle and passing some characteristic beach towns, tough a bit exhausting due to the climate. We weren’t satisfied with our guide, because he showed up 30 mins to late (ok, this can happen) but he didn’t explain anything whatsoever about the flora and fauna. The guide disregarded, all other personal is super friendly and gives you a welcoming feeling.

We really recommend a stay at the fantastic place due to the great location and super friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timvh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I stayed at the resort for 7 nights in July. From the hot towels and drinks on arrival to the warm farewell on leaving, everything was wonderful. The staff were friendly, smiley and couldn't do enough for us. Mohan was excellent and made sure you got what you wanted, Farrah and the others on reception were very efficient and Vessie and the other waiting and bar staff were really good. The rooms were perfect, we had a beachfront villa which couldn't have been better, towels & linen changed daily and a turndown service if required. The beach was very natural and the gardens were fabulous. This resort had only been open 4 weeks when we arrived and as we were part of a large party this could have been a bit chaotic but everything was well organised and managed. We were delighted with the holiday it was pure relaxation and totally recommend it.
Carol from Yorkshire United Kingdom

Room Tip: Beach villas are brilliant you have a terrace with soft seating facing the sea, but also a patio at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohan_Tunamaya, Resident Manager at Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
The team and I would like to thank you for writing your "Absolute Heaven" comments on us.

We are pleased that we have exceeded your expectations in all areas of our resort with our friendly and smiley staffs.

I have made sure Farah and the rest at the reception, Vessie and the rest of our associates at the Pawana Restaurant and Ombak bar has read your review and they sent their best regards to you and look forward to having you with us again.

I am extremely happy that I personally have made your stay a memorable one with the team at our resort.

Thank you once again for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My wife and I stayed there for the pre opening and were very disappointed at how little we got for paying so much. Basically it's like staying in a big monopoly since you can only reach it by boat... Everything there is to do is via their services which are way overpriced, here's an example, to come and go to the nearest town by boat for an hour or two costs 60RM per person, and if you want to go diving, it's about 500RM for the boat for a full day. Snorkeling gear rental is expensive and the food in the restaurant is not that great, so if you want different food, you have to hire a boat to go somewhere else with more options. The bar is not much better... We asked for a martini and they couldn't make it, we asked for a bloody mary and they made us a tomato frappe, I mean, come on. The sea was very choppy when we were there and we were told this is the usual so swimming in the ocean is not so simple... The room was clean but the shower we had was terrible with no hot water and no water pressure. We were actually bored to tears since this place is so far away from everywhere else and there is no place to go unless you have a boat. If you like isolation then this place is for you if not, save your hard earned money and go somewhere else...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eitan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohan_Tunamaya, Resident Manager at Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

It is a deep regret to read of your experiences with us at the resort on on your overall stay.

There must a miscommunication on the diving trip rates whole day with the sum mention as our dives rates are RM 280.00 per dive for a person with gears and guide.

I do sincerely apologise on the mix up of the cocktails as we have now hired a bar supervisor who is skilled and experinced to mix up the drinks at the resort.

The weather at that point of your stay was windy and the water was choppy with the south wind blowing in towards the resort and we have taken a management decision to built an Infinity Pool just besdie our main lobby area which will be in operation by February onwards to have our guest swim in if the sea condition is choppy or strong winds .

I do hope you would give us an oppportunity to stay with us again and experience the improvements we have taken from your comments.

Once again thank you and please do contact me if we can be in any assistance for your upcoming trip back to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
3.6 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
510 reviews
5.1 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
6.6 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
1.0 mi away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#4 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island

Property: Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
Address: Lot 20 & 21, Kampung Pasir Sarang Burung, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a rainforest at the southern tip of Tioman Island, Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort Tioman Island and its private beach provide a lush escape for sun seekers. With the island's serenity enveloping the resort, and with sights that include a view of the island's approximately 1,000 year old rainforest terrain, our resort's 54 villas are blessed with a natural ambience that's difficult to beat. Choose from villas with sea views, rainforest views or garden views and go face to face with marine life and admire soft corals, sea urchins, turtles, clown fish and even reef sharks in the clear turquoise waters in front of the resort.The resort also has Tioman Island's only infinity pool for seaside lounging, and it provides activities like jungle trekking (towards Asah Waterfalls and the twin peaks) and pizza making and batik painting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing