We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday hideaway on Tranquil Tioman Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Holiday hideaway on Tranquil Tioman Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We are sitting on the verandah of our beachside villa admiring the ocean only 10 metres away from our feet! What better way to enjoy a tranquil break from the hustle and bustle of reality! Tunamaya Resort is definitely a place we would recommend for those looking for a relaxing, private and quiet place to holiday. No night clubbing or retail therapy available here....just want we wanted!!!!

Having met on Tioman Island exactly 20 years ago today as backpackers, we were extremely excited to revisit the island and "splash out on accomodation" this time!!! We were certainly not disappointed!!!!!!! Our beachside villa is spacious, tasteful, modern and very comfortable with a view to die for. All the facilities at the resort are well appointed, well cared for and spotless.The Infinity Pool with its sun lounges guarantees the idyllic place to wile away the hours.

Tunamaya Resort has been a wonderful experience. On arrival, we were greeted by staff who welcomed us like old friends!!!! From the Administration and reception staff, boat crew, cleaners to the gardeners, all the staff have been sincere, friendly, smiley and hospitable. Their service is second to none. Mohan, the Resident Manager of the resort, is very articulate, genuine, obliging and professional. His knowledge, experience and excellent PR skills has gained the respect of the staff and together they work as a happy and effective team. They have all ensured that our short stay has been memorable and nothing has been too much effort.

The chef, Nathan (who previously worked as a chef at Club Med) is friendly and is enthusiastic about meeting the guests and tries to satisfy their culinary requests!!!!! A varied and reasonably priced menu had us excited about eating at the restaurant every night. Whether it be Asian or Western cuisine, you won't be disappointed.

Wanting a challenge and change of scenery? Why not try the Jungle Trek up to the Lookout which takes about an hour and a half return. This can be done with or without a guide.

If you are interested in diving or snorkelling, visit Mark and Fiona from Twin Peaks Dive Centre. They run their business from Tunamaya Resort. The Dive Centre is owned and operated by their family of the renowned and reputable B & J Dive School which is located north of the island. Both Mark and Fiona are a lovely couple who are very knowledgable, experienced and passionate about diving and what Tioman and its neighbouring islands have to offer.

Thank you, Mohan and staff, for also kindly and generously acknowledging our 18th wedding anniversary with a complimentary half hour massage at the resort's Spa. We look forward to revisiting you at Tunamaya Resort with our children in the next few years when the pool bar, pool table and table tennis will be ready for us to use!!!! All the best for the coming year.

David and Carolyn Banfield, Perth, Western Australia

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    156
    50
    25
    10
See reviews for
154
169
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Just spent a week-end at the Tunamaya last week-end and left the place feeling satisfied with location, accommodation, diving and only semi happy with food. I am sure they will get better in that front as they looked keen on feedback. I thought the setting was breathtaking with the mountains with rocky tops at the back and the sea 5-6 meters from the porch of the huts. No internet in rooms but at the lobby/restaurant area. Nice snorkelling out of the jetty for non divers and very helpful staff at the dive shop. The resort is accessed from the sea.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HSoydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

As 2 families, we have visited resorts in Samui, Mauritius, Langkawi, Maldives etc. Unlike most international chain hotels, Tunamaya gave us a very hearty and warm experience.
As soon as we arrived the island, the group of Tunamaya staff gave us a really warm welcome and the welcome drink is very refreshing.
The snorkeling site the diving centre brought us to was beautiful (remember to bring bread to feed the fishes!)

Transport is highly limited on the island so we had to dine in the Tunamaya resort every time. We wished to dine out and try some local food, but the price and convenience of the restaurant in the resort tempted us to stay and the restaurant is extraordinary! With a very good price, we enjoyed a variety of quality dishes ranging from Malaysian lakes to very fine pizza. The food was definitely a surprise for us especially with its quality and price, and the Laksa noodles and Lobster Bisque (served in the buffet) were surely remarkable! We did not need to worry about the lack of efficient transport on the island at all!

We would especially like to praise the staff, Moham the manager is extremely friendly and helpful. We felt very welcomed by all the friendly staff, from the chef to house cleaning, the cheerfulness and hospitality is never absent. On valentines day, we received a box of chocolate from Tunamaya and we are all touched by their cordiality.

The resort is very new and the facilities are clean, although leisure facilities are not as well equipped. We shared our opinion with the resort and they replied that the extra leisure facilities were scheduled to arrive on the day we left . But in general, the beautiful beaches and game centre is more than enough for a great relaxing week.

We had a great time in Tunamaya and strongly recommend this resort if you want a quiet and meditative holiday(but don't expect exciting nightlife like samui and phuket), we were definitely moved by the sincere and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Beach side villa is preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

To be fair, we didn't actually stay at the hotel so can't really rate it - but we had a similar issue to the previous traveller.

We booked well in advance for Chinese New Year, knowing that hotels would book up fast. A few friends of ours tried to find a room at this & other hotels, only to find them all booked solid.

I followed them up at the end of January as to helping with our ferry tickets & transfers. They forwarded a copy of the ferry schedule, which only indicated ONE ferry service per day (due to 'monsoon season'), with the one coming back on Tuesday from Genting scheduled for 7am - which would've meant a 5:30am check-out.

When I contact the ferry booking company, they said they'd send me a schedule after we bought tickets. I told them that I already had one from the hotel & questioned as to how it could be logistically possible for one ferry service to transport everyone, since all hotels were fully booked. I was assured that no-one would be left behind & to buy our tickets while they were still on sale.

Needless to say, having taken the ferry numerous times from Mersing to Tioman when it wasn't CNY & there was more than one scheduled ferry...we decided to cancel our hotel booking & drive up to the Cameron Highlands instead.

We're now obviously both interested to hear as to when the ferry actually ran, how long it took & whether anyone was left stranded?!

ps...it took 3 email requests to get someone to contact us about booking a dive trip & I followed up the ferry/transfer, as nobody got back to me as promised. Hopefully not a reflection of their overall service.

Room Tip: Ended up cancelling our booking, but would still like to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohan_Tunamaya, General Manager at Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Mr Brett Pennington.

Thank you for your concern and inquiry with regards to the ferry transportation and our guest flow to the island staying with us on the 9th of February 2013.

We did not have any of our guest travelling stranded but all arrived at the resort late morning on the 9th February ferry departures from Mersing and being picked up from the Genting jetty by our transfer boat.

The ferry schedule on the 9th of February was one trip into Tioman but the ferry operator had another 7 ferries running on the same day as early as 6.30 am till 5.30pm without any earlier scheduled plannned except for the 7am ferry.

I apologised for the delay in replying your dive trip inquiries which took 3 days as the dive e-mail in the island was down and was replied by our Twin Peaks Dive Centre Team to you there after.

We look forward to your staying with us soon and may thanks for your inquiries and comments.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

We were looking forward to a stay this coming CNY long weekend holiday(9/2/13) since December, when the reservations were made. Last week we received a courteous call for ferry confirmation to the isand from Mersing. I was impressed and couldn't wait to visit the place.
Today, we were called via the hotel's reservation agent that there was NO ferry service until Feb 12th! Hence we should change our original stay from feb 9th to feb 12th!
What kind of service is this??? CANCELED!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Joop000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohan_Tunamaya, General Manager at Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you for your keen interest in staying with us at Tunamaya and writting to inform us on your unavailability to stay with us due to the ferry tickets.

We had contacted all our guest staying from the 9th of February 2013 which was a peak CNY festive week to check on their ferry arrangements via e-mail or phone as early as 30th January 2013 once we had received the ferry schedule for February on that day from theFerry Operator.

Most of our guest has made their ferry / flight ticket arrangements on their own and for those who needed our assistance for the ferry tickets we have in advance booked the ticket through our ticketing agent knowing that it was peak and only one ferry departing Mersing on the 9th of February to Tioman.

Our reservations records show the e-mail correspondence sent on the 30th of January 2013 for all our guest who has made the reservations for the said date to revert if they were needing our assistance to book the ferry tickets which we have facilitated

We regret on the inconvience caused by the ferry transportation which is beyond our control as it is being managed by a private organization but we look forward to your stay with us soon.
As an alternative mode of transportation is by flying in from Singapore to Tioman which would be more convienient.

Thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

My friends and i recently spent the weekend over in Tunamaya. we had a sea view beach front villa. the View was amazing!! the service provided by the resort was unbelievably good. Way beyond my expectations. Extremely helpful, friendly and very hospitable. my friends and i felt like VIP guests there. the villas and the reception area was all within very close proximity.

facilities of the resort were all in excellent condition(brand new) and even more activities and facilities are continuously being added in. Prices charged were also of reasonable range considering the level of service the provide and condition of the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ljhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asperg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We had been there for 3 days and it were the best time of our whole trip through Malaysia. Everybody was so polite, friendly and very obliging. The whole staff seemd to have fun at their work. The Bungalows had been very clean, beds were comfortable. The beach is nice and clean. All in all it was a perfect stay! Special thanks to Nathan for cooking our special food (it was gorgeous) and to Subang for the nice trip trough te island (and the suncream).
We hope to come back someday!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steffi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
3.6 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
5.1 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
6.6 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
0.8 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#5 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
Address: Lot 20 & 21, Kampung Pasir Sarang Burung, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a rainforest at the southern tip of Tioman Island, Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort Tioman Island and its private beach provide a lush escape for sun seekers. With the island's serenity enveloping the resort, and with sights that include a view of the island's approximately 1,000 year old rainforest terrain, our resort's 54 villas are blessed with a natural ambience that's difficult to beat. Choose from villas with sea views, rainforest views or garden views and go face to face with marine life and admire soft corals, sea urchins, turtles, clown fish and even reef sharks in the clear turquoise waters in front of the resort.The resort also has Tioman Island's only infinity pool for seaside lounging, and it provides activities like jungle trekking (towards Asah Waterfalls and the twin peaks) and pizza making and batik painting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing