We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Pulau Tioman”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Clean room, beach villa is very near to the sea, nice service, the hotel prepared a lovely couple of swan made by pink towels on the bed for us, well trained and polite staff, especially a young person who drives the shuttle boat named Zhai fu is very friendly, knows everything in the island and a good guide during our stay. Food is good, a theme for every night, better have more choices in the breakfast. Although the munson season, not good for snorkling, the swimming pool in the resort is good enough for relax. Very nice experience for the honeymoon!

Room Tip: a beach villa is absolutely worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philippening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

We visited the Tunamaya Beach resort with 4 other couples to celebrate the New Year.
The Resort is a 40 minute Boat ride away from the main town (airport), and during this time it was the monsoon season, hence the sea was extra rough. Once in this resort the only way to connect to the rest of the island is by Boat. Since we were a whole bunch of people we were well entertained amongst ourselves; However I recommend this resort only to those who wish to have tons of peace and quiet.
The General Manager Mr Rao was always on the job and willing to please the guests.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandyjohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

If you can't live without wild nightlife and the internal combustion engine, this is not the place for you. But if you want quiet out-of-the-way beauty and great service from a well-trained and attentive staff, you couldn't do better. Even though we stayed during monsoon season and some of the sea activities were shut down, it was a wonderful experience. The food is good, the cabins very comfortable, and at high tide you can start snorkeling steps from your cabin door. Highly recommended for anyone looking for quiet comfortable getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i_w_m2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Well kept and comfortable rooms/cabins. Lovely resort with fantastic snorkeling off the beach. Great eternity pool right on the beach. Very efficient airport transfer by speed boat. Friendly and helpful staff. Great food. Beautiful weather, even in mid-November.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tipster1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I was lucky enough to stay 4 amazing nights at Tunamaya resort during early November 2013. I was amazed with the attention to details, great value and fantastic service provided by the heart warming staff members. The weather was perfect for most of the time we stayed there, normally light rain in the afternoon but it didn't worry us. The food was exceptional with a mix of western and local dishes - something different every night. The 30 minute boat ride from the airport to the resort provides a great way to see the rest of the island. I truly recommend this place for all holiday makers and can't wait to go back.
Cheers

Room Tip: Book through the resort itself via e-mail - its cheapest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esmith14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Overall surprisingly fantastic experience. I stayed with my wife and little son for 3 nights in mid November 2013. Obviously there were only very little guests since it is off-season. I am a nature lover and I wanted to be away from my work and was looking for some peace. It is really heaven and earth in-between sea and rainforest. This hotel is isolated from rest of the establishment in the island. No roads. Just the sea in front of you and rainforest behind. Exactly what we wanted.

Some tips:
Transportation. From Johor Bahru to Mersing, By bus 10-14 MYR for pax , 2-3 h, a taxi 150-180 MYR. I took a taxi all the way from Singapore (BUGIS) to Mersing and paid 180SGD. The real problem starts when it comes to the ferry. You can book ferries on line. Ferry transfer is around 2 hours. Damn bored. Please prepare with a book or try to fall a sleep. If I am going there again I will fly for sure no matter how expensive it is. Transportation is beyond hotels control. No point scolding them. It is 51km from Mersing to Tioman.

Rooms: Nice, Well kept and maintained. Comfortable. New. No worries about rooms. You will enjoy.

Food and Drinks: Great taste. Not much to choose. But adequate. I loved the cocktails in Ombak Bar. Enjoyed my dinners. Soups, 4 options. Soup lovers try SOTO AYAM. Pineapple rice, nasi goreng all well. Breakfast included and it is good. Some evenings they have seafood BBQ. Most difficult thing is waiting time. It is horrible. Can be as long as 30 min sometimes. Prepare your self for this, otherwise you will get disappointment and angry. Just walk on the beach, read a book or order a drink, get occupied your self with some thing until your food is ready. But don't worry your food will taste great.

Staff: Of course they are friendly and helpful.

Pool: Good location and well designed. The water was a bit sour.

Snorkelling: Great around the jetty and floating stages. But for a great experience go for a island hopping tour with a boat. They will take you to coral island and Marine park and this brings you a life time experience of snorkelling. This trip also includes lunch and Paya beach resort( have to pay separately) and visit to Aishah waterfall. Carry some bread with you. This trip is expensive 720 MYR for 4 ppl.

Activity: Jungle track, Pool table, Diving.

Room Tip: Beach villa- Facing the beach, backyard garden Family villa- facing garden, backyard beach Rainfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PSK294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the Tunamaya Beach Resport. We had a package which covered for our meals, transfers and some activities. I should note that I have three children aged 3,6 and 9. Overall, the trip was very enjoyable and the kids had a good time.

It was a little challenging getting to the island. The ferry service to the island takes up a lot of time. But once we were on the island, it was very enjoyable. Tunamaya is a relatively new resort. It has very clean and comfortable facilities and cabins.

The highlights were the meals, particularly those cooked by the sous chef, Nathan. He was exceptionally friendly and went to some lengths to accommodate our requests. The other staff were also exceptionally helpful and firendly. One staff in aprticular, Afzal, went out of his way to help us on th evoage from the island to the Mersing Jetty. With three kids and a lot of luggage, his help (for no expectation of reward or recognition) was fantastic.

The one negative apsect related to our package. We paid a significant amount because the package was said to include all meals etc. However, on getting there, we discovered it did not include any bevearages, including juices and the like. Also, because our kids did not eat much, we had a lot of dishes and this resulted in food being wasted (so after a while we stopped getting 5 dishes between us). Unfortunately we were not able to exchange the dishes for juices which would have made sense given the significant amount we paid for the package.

But all up, it was en enjoyable trip and the kids loved snorkelling and going on the bushwalks. The beach is a little rocky, so bring your beach shoes.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful, although if you want to be near the water, go for the beach chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bilal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
3.6 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
523 reviews
5.1 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
8.5 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
1.0 mi away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#4 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island

Address: Lot 20 & 21, Kampung Pasir Sarang Burung, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Price Range: £83 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a rainforest at the southern tip of Tioman Island, Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort Tioman Island and its private beach provide a lush escape for sun seekers. With the island's serenity enveloping the resort, and with sights that include a view of the island's approximately 1,000 year old rainforest terrain, our resort's 54 villas are blessed with a natural ambience that's difficult to beat. Choose from villas with sea views, rainforest views or garden views and go face to face with marine life and admire soft corals, sea urchins, turtles, clown fish and even reef sharks in the clear turquoise waters in front of the resort.The resort also has Tioman Island's only infinity pool for seaside lounging, and it provides activities like jungle trekking (towards Asah Waterfalls and the twin peaks) and pizza making and batik painting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing