We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mice, music and bed bugs!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Tioman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Salang Sayang Resort
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mice, music and bed bugs!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

While writing this, I am still experiencing the itching concequences of our stay! The bedbugs were horrible! Furthermore there were mice in the room and it was incredibly noisy. The good location and nice food could not make up for this..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mariska888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    64
    40
    12
    23
See reviews for
35
47
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

I was at Salans Sayang Resort (former called Zaids place) at Pulau Tioman Salang Bay for 4 nights at one of the Hill Bungalows. The bungalow is very very basic and cheap as well - 100 RMB per night. One problem is that it is dirty, the bath is nearly a dont go in there, the bed looks ok BUT IS NOT! There were numerous bed bugs in our hut (No. 18) which bit me. We recognized this when we already left for Kuala Lumpur. In KL we put all our stuff on a white linen and checked AND found some dead bed bugs! This is a really bad message because these bed bugs are THE PEST! I had 130!!! stitches which were so awful itchy for 2 weeks!!! DEFINITELY DONT GO THERE. We had to wash all our clothes and stuff at 50 degrees celsius which cost us 2 days of our holidays. Beside that I felt really bad for 2 weeks because of the stitches. You can informate yourself about bed bugs at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bed_bug or about prevention and how to treat them at http://www.medicinenet.com/bed_bugs/article.htm . Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. By the way I wrote an email and a message on facebook to the hotel staff but they did not react on my inquiry. This hotel is a NO GO!

Room Tip: If you have to stay there - CHECK YOUR ROOM CAREFULLY FOR BED BUGS - and ask for another room if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fredrik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pulau Tioman hotels

København, Danmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Salang was chosen, as it seem to be the only place with some "action" going on. Travelling with teenagers, stimulate the need for evening activities. However, it's fair to conclude that Tioman has a lot to offers, but a hefty evening life and night markets is not on the list.

Salang Sayang has the best restuarnt in Salang, and with the charming staff and the only place located on the (swimable) beach, it was easy to fall in love - even though the bungalows are very worn out.

I wish the story ended here, but unforunately not. We found ourself bitten everywhere, but took it for mosquitoes. At least until we, at teh beach, found out that a number of our nighboors had the same bites - and they turned out to be bed bug bites. These things happen, but unfortunately the staff seem to be ignorant of the problem.

Would I come back - yes, to a bungalow woithour bugs (anybody knows how to check without putting yourself as bait) - otherwise not!

Room Tip: The bungalows at the beachfront seem to be newer. The rest are situated in a nicely kept garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
around the world
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Decent barebones place to stay. Room was clean, very basic (foam mat mattress, one fitted sheet and a blanket was the bed/bedding), but did the job. Good to have hot water and air con. Porch was nice; always good to have a place to put shoes and dry out clothes. Monkey Bay was ~45 minutes away and a good hike.
A nearby events guy will schedule around-the-island trips (all day - 100 ringgets or 90 for resort guests) or trips to coral island (3 hours - 70 ringgets or 60 for guests - make sure to ask about discounts for guests) but only has 2 boats so both trips might not be offered if one is popular.
Restaurant was pretty poor - but I was just coming from Singapore and might have had high standards... The bbq chicken wasn't cooked inside, the restaurant wasn't open for breakfast until 10, and the food just generally wasn't good.
Something to note - my boyfriend called and was told that only the honeymoon suite was available for the dates we wanted, and to email them requesting a reservation. After we didn't receive a response email I called (about 2 hours later) and was told that they had a room for two people or a room for three people available. So I guess room availability depends on who answers the phone...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank illjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I spent 4 days here in April 2012 as I did my PADI diving license at AZMI DIVE CENTRE. Truly a magnificent experience. The chalet is pretty nice and clean. The mini balcony is actually very useful as I could hang my clothes and also a perfect place to unwind while enjoying the beautiful beach in front. The beach os only 20 meters from my chalet and it is situated right next to Azmi dive.

Food around Kg Salang is not a problem. Plenty of restaurants serving all kinds of food. There is also a bar, the most happening night spot there.

The best thing about Kg Salang is its people. Friendly. Definitely coming back there.

Room Tip: Find the chalets that are closer to the beach. Less mosquitos and other insects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LifeLoveBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

After being unable to get a booking from calling the hotel directly, I tried via an online agency and was able to secure 2 adjacent sea-facing rooms. We were a group of 5 adults and 2 kids and the rooms were perfect! The rooms have 2 queen size beds each and can easily accommodate 4. Simple rooms, but have aircon and a basic bathroom/toilet. Best part is that you can just get into the water from the balcony in your room! during high tide only though..

the beach around Salang is well maintained and has a gentle slope, so its ideal for kids to play safely in the water. if you swim about 50 mts or so, you will see nice corals and fishes. The restaurant at Salang indah has a very good variety of food and very decent prices. There are many other choices as well within walking distance. The service at the restaurant needs to improve.. its just that the team serving like to keep chatting and playing and try to avoid contact with the guests.. you'll have to keep calling out to them..otherwise its clean and has nice views of the horizon..

Room Tip: You need to get the Sea-facing aircon rooms/chalets to really enjoy this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Having stayed at 4 to 5 stars hotels most of our local holidays, we decided to let our 2 boys experience smaller resorts and chalets type beach holidays with a small budget. We have no regret and will come back to Salang Sayang Resort again. The only let down is too many stray cats. We were staying in room 14 and it's steps aways to the beach. The beach is beautiful with soft white sand and water is crystal clear. We have done numbers of snorkeling in a day as it is just in front of the beach. The under water corals and marine fish is plenty and my 2 boys were excited to experience it. The services from the resort especially Joe and the gang is superb. Good initiative to extend any help to make your stay memorable. Thumbs up to our chef, an Indian gentleman that cook best food, really tasty and mouth watering.. and the unbelievable is the price is cheaper than those roadside stores in Kuala Lumpur. Good service from Ida and the gang too.

Room Tip: Get the aircondition room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poorislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
10.6 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
4.0 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
9.1 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
4.5 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
10.8 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salang Sayang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salang Sayang Resort

Property: Salang Sayang Resort
Address: Salang Village, Pulau Tioman 86800, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run resort established more than 30 years ago. Our quaint wooden chalets are right at the beach front. Our resort is equipped with a restaurant, Sea Sports Centre, Mini Mart and library. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Salang Sayang Hotel Pulau Tioman
Salang Sayang Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing