We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Most has been truthfully said already. The location is spectacular and the staff, especially Mighty Mike, Beautiful Belle and Sam make it all the more. The chef of Mandi Mandi makes the most authentic Italian food, and the cocktail hour and beach bbq is to die for. We could not find a fault.
Though the staff is dead honest, it would be great to add a safe to the rooms, so that one can leave passports and spare cash locked away and not worry about a thing.....which is the perfect way to spend a few days in this tropical paradise. Also a sit down style of bar would get guests talking to each other ( if they wanted to!). Breakfasts tend to get repetitive after the third day or so.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    103
    29
    9
    3
See reviews for
73
362
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Amazing place, superb environment, great staff, excellent food, super cool, ultimate relaxing, turquoise blue sea, coral reefs for snorkeling, you will love Aruni, Belle, Trainee, Sam and all the others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LudovicoBHilversum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Well, not sure where to start.. what a spectacular place... even looking at pictures on the web, can't even compare as is so beautuful.. What majes this resort so special are the amazing and friendly staff, they are like a family, they maje you feel as if you are part of them, there is nothing they would not do for you, but again, they dont need to, everything is just perfect. We were in treetop right at the very top (13) What an amazing view, definatly the best!! The room was beautiful, all styled in bamboo. A chocolate laid out on either side of the bed with brandy when you returned from evening meal and candles lit, and a little note of comfort from the Thai manager Aruni who was so hepful and kind and always around if you needed her, very warm and friendly.. there are two restaurants, the Thai/Malaysian where you also have breakfast (amazing)! The seabass is gorgeous , recomended by Mikey from Malacca, who we nicknamed 'super Micky' he would go out if his way to do anything for you if he could, also like to mention young 'Thu Ya Sam' from Burma, wounderful personality and again so helpful, also like tonmention 'Bel' , took us out to coral island and looked after eveybody, amazing coctail maker and she is so sweet, and 'Achmad' from Bintan,always making us laugh, amazing personality, outstanding care and precision to everyhing. Now back to the italian restaurant on the jetty, fantastic service from all the staff that work there, food was amazing, especially the seafood pizza.
We are very well travelled all over the far east, I thought Phi Phi Island was beautiful but if I have to say, Tioman Island and the Japamala have actually topped it.. if you want a nice quaint, friendly and amazing special place, please stay at the Japamala..if you don't like the rainforest and bugs, dont bother, this place is exactly where it is supoosed to be.
I would definatly recommed this hotel and I they deserve the awards they have got. Thank you Japamala!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed at Japamala 8 nights and we must admit that this is the best resort we have ever stayed at. If you love to relax and eat excellent food this is the place for you. We stayed at the sea cliff nr 14 and the view from there was incredible. The people working at the resort are very nice and they see to your every need :-) we send them our best regards and we will be returning in the future :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrMortenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The resort is a real gem. It is located in the nice, calm, very green part of the island Tioman. The place is tranquil and you are so closed to the nature. We had a Sea Cliff Chalets with a perfect sea view. Our room was big enough. The guys clean the room few times a day. The service in general is very personal and on the high level. The stuff is very competent and helpful. The food war very delicious and fresh. And the cocktail evening is something special.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

JapaMala is located in a green lush jungle in the southwest of Tioman Island. The rooms are lovely, food is good, service is great. We stayed in Penghulu House which is the best room but were not impressed with and thought the room was overpriced. A number of minor shortcomings made us a bit disturbed but we were thankful to the hotel management who worked very hard to compensate. The reef around the resort is not good compared to what we had seen around the island. Try Juara, Monkey Bay, Salang Pulau Tulai which are all near by. If you can afford a longer boat ride definitely go to Pulau Aur which has the loveliest reef.

Room Tip: Please contact hotel directly for bookings as the reservations center is not the best option for goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FiddlingTravelNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Having read the recent reviews on here my comments would mirror those of the last few guests that have stayed on the Island. This is truly an island haven and highly recommended if you want to relax, read, do some snorkelling and eat good food. The Italan food served at the restuarant on the jetty is delicious and although we enjoyed our meal at the Thai restuarant we choose to have all other meals in the Italan . The staff are all delightful and I will definitely visit here again. If I have one criticism about this resort is that the furnishings could be more comfortable...and I personally don't like a hard mattress...the initial appearance of the resort does look a bit jaded as the wood looks like it needs a good coat of varnish...however this is all forgotten rather quickly as every other aspect of the resort is top class!

Room Tip: The cliff top rooms would not be suitable for anyone who had difficulty climbing stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buona23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
3.6 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
2.1 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
5.3 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
3.0 mi away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#4 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
331 reviews
3.2 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Japamala Resort by Samadhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Japamala Resort by Samadhi

Property: Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Address: Kampung Lanting, Tioman Island, Pulau Tioman 86800, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#1 Spa Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Japamala Resort by Samadhi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JapaMala is Tioman Island’s only boutique resort, and one-of-a-kind in Malaysia. This small and exclusive resort of 13 rooms is hidden amidst 11 acres of lush tropical rainforest. A one-village-one-resort property, JapaMala has its own private and quiet beach. While some charming Malay village-style villas and chalets dot the jungle and beachfront, others nestle in the most breath-taking spots.Best described as an ‘eco-luxe’ resort, JapaMala transcends the experience of living close to nature by redefining it with a touch of luxury. Designed by natural streams, steep cliffs, towering boulders and where no trees are felled, the entire resort borrows from nature its elements to offer an exceptional sense of paradise, freedom from the real world. While serious relaxation is an elusive commodity for many, one can truly succumb to the healing effects JapaMala imparts through its holistic blend of sumptuous gourmet treats, intimacy between man and nature, unique spa experiences and truly unprecedented hospitality. Many say JapaMala is not just a place, but a state of mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Japamala Resort by Samadhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Japamala Hotel Pulau Tioman
Japamala Resort
Japamala Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing