We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Bagus Place Retreat(Pulau Tioman)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Minang Cove Resort(Pulau Tioman)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Tioman Dive Resort(Pulau Tioman)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Alang's Rawa(Mersing)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
D'Coconut Resort(Pulau Besar)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
393
112
31
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
112
31
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea cliffplunge pooltree top chaletmandi mandi restaurantseacliff chaletour honeymoontreetop roomlittle toucheslemongrass drinkfishturn down servicethai foodpublic ferrycoral islandcocktail hoursun loungersheaven on earth
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at Japamala resort and it seemed way too short for us ! We loved the peaceful atmosphere there, with lots of lovely places all around the resort to relax. The sarangs are lovely and remote enough to feel really on your own and never be disturbed (only a little group of monkeys around at a moment but nothing annoying).
The food at both restaurants is good and what a great moment to have an happy hour with free cocktails everyday looking at the sunset over the blue water !!
Really a great place to stay at, we'll definitely come again if we have the opportunity !

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ajolais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Your holiday at Japamala begins with being whisked from Genting Jetty by the resorts speedboat, only 5 minutes later you land at Japamala to be greeted with a welcome ice cold drink. We stayed in the highest tree top chalet, number 13, which probably has the best view in the resort although you do have to climb 125 steps to reach it, it is definitely worth the effort! Everywhere was kept spotless by the friendly staff who managed to clean our chalet during the morning and turn our beds down, light scented oil burners and candles and leave chocolates on our bed every evening without us spotting them once!!!
Food was excellent, starting with a buffet style breakfast which provided excellent choice including hot options (give the beef bacon a go - delicious!!) The fresh fruit juices and coffee were amongst the best we have had. Lunch is taken in the jetty restaurant, a nice variety of dishes, we loved the salads and chicken sandwiches. Prices were reasonable by UK standards and ice cold water was always available. Happy hour was 6 - 7 pm with free cocktails and tasty snacks, don't be shy, get there early for a comfy seat! Evening meals could be take again on the jetty or at the thai restaurant. Again, food was of an excellent standard with good portions and reasonable prices.
We stayed for 6 nights and had the most relaxing time we could have wished for. Snorkelling equipment is available and is a must - the sea is so clear and the fish and coral were amazing. Kayaking was also available, travelling round the coast and listening to sounds of the jungle was a magical experience. We spent a morning walking through the jungle to Genting VIllage, a bit of trek but another wonderful experience.
All in all we had the most fantastic time there and we would not hesitate to recommend Japapmala to anyone, just hope that we will be able to return again one day :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank d0lly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have nothing negative to say about this resort. I was at this resort with my family, we had one of the beach houses with private pool. The rooms were absolutely amazing. Outstanding service. Beach was beautiful. Snorkeling was only possible in the morning and evening due to high/ low tide. There is not a lot to do except for snorkeling or walking in the jungle, but for a relaxing vacation I would 100% recommend this.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carola k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Reading back through previous reviews, it appears Japamala has made and is continuing to make improvements. This is good and will hopefully continue. I really wanted to give this place a "5", but there are a few niggling problems that need to be addressed.

For the most part the resort was a wonderful and relaxing place to stay. The staff are very switched on and seem genuinely interested in doing a good job. Every member of staff (including cleaners and maintenance guys) greeted us with warm smiles when we saw them. The key members of staff were friendly and gave very personalised service. The quality of service sets this place apart from most other resorts I have stayed at in Asia, where disorganised and disinterested service is often a problem.

We loved the two beaches. There are 3 cabanas facing the main beach and a further 4 or 5 facing the second beach (in front of the second pool). The resort also places day beds and tables on the beach itself. Even though the resort was apparently "full" it felt half empty, and there were empty cabanas every day. We just plonked our gear in one and left it there all day. You get the sense that no-one is going to move or take your stuff, and the resort's isolation means the only people that you see are the handful of other guests and the staff. At low tide the beaches are no good for swimming, but there are two swimming pools and you can also go from the end of the jetty (via some slightly slippery wooden steps).

The snorkelling is quite nice straight from the beach and especially further out where the live coral is found. The jetty itself is fantastic to snorkel around due to the huge schools of fish sheltering underneath. We spent most of our time snorkelling and relaxing with books.

Food and drink can be had basically anywhere and any time. We found the service to be efficient and the cook out on the jetty does a pretty good job considering where she is cooking! We enjoyed all of our meals. Free happy hour cocktails are obviously pleasant, but considering the room rate, fair enough. We found the seating on the jetty a bit uncomfortable - something a supply of extra cushions would probably fix easily.

Our room was one of the highest ( a Hillside Sarang). Although it was quite lovely in many ways (secluded, surrounded by greenery, large comfy bed), it had some deficiencies which need looking in to. Some things would be very easy to rectify: there were no teaspoons, no real milk (long life would be fine, but "creamer" is disappointing), no bin for wet or food waste. (Fruit basket provided, but where to put the banana peels? Tea bags?). Ants quickly found any food waste and so we would have liked a little kitchen tidy bin with sealable plastic liner. There was no hair conditioner in the bathroom. A pretty basic product supplied at most hotels so I was surprised at its absence.

The air conditioner kept the upstairs bedroom cool , but the lower room was too warm, even with the fan going. We had to move our son's bed upstairs so he would be cool enough to sleep. We couldn't leave doors open (to get a breeze) due to insects and monkeys. Fly screens are desperately needed.

The checkout procedure needs improvement. There was no itemised list of food and beverage purchases (not even the carbon copy from original slip). Others have commented on this previously. Whilst the "rustic" reception area is quaint, that does not excuse sloppy business practice with checkout paperwork.

We were also unhappy at the exorbitant prices charged for the boat transfer to and from the ferry. 80 Ringitt for each person for a one way trip to the main jetty at Tekek (which we were assured was essential as there was no guarantee that the outbound ferry would bother to stop at the nearby Genting jetty). The 5 minute trip from the Genting jetty to the resort is 30 Ringitt per person. The boat transfer should be priced as a customer service, not a chance to make money.

Overall we enjoyed our 3 nights very much. The sea was beautifully clear and we had fun snorkelling and diving. It was a very private and relaxing experience, marred only by minor details as outlined above.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank melscottmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We visited Japamala resort on Tioman Island as part of our honeymoon. We were in heaven for a week. From the moment we were picked up by the staff at the airport and transferred by boat to the resort is was all like a fairytale. The resort is breathtaking. They have thought of every little detail and even a little more than that. We stayed in the Treetop chalets and just loved it. The room was rustic, clean, comfortable and beautiful decorated. The room was kept so extremely clan and spot on every single time of the day. The staff knew our routines and somehow always managed to clean and provide tuck down service whenever we were out. The staff took such a pride in the resort one could mistake it from being their own resort were only the best was good enough. During our stay they organized a romantic barbeque on the beach with bonfire. They arranged a happy hour every single day, this meaning free cocktails for one hour. The two restaurants served outstanding food and the service was great. In fact the restaurants served such good food that when we returned to KL we visited one of their restaurants during our visit there as well. On our last evening the staff had decorated the bed with roses and a handwritten greeting. I and my husband travel too many exotic destinations always choosing good resorts and hotels, but this is one to remember. Thanks to all the staffs at Japamala resort for making our honeymoon so special.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lindafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews