We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for divers resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We read an article on White Sand Critter Diving in Paya Beach Resort and booked a 3-nite stay. We were assured by the resort's dive operator that all arrangements for our stay were confirmed. Upon arrival we checked at the dive centre and found that the one and only person in charge was not expecting us and had no clue about critter diving. She had her hands full with scuba course students and casual resort guests who wanted an introduction to scuba. The next day proved no better when the person assigned to take us out failed to show up. We gave up and checked out one day earlier.
As for the resort, our superior beach front rooms were next to a construction site/rubbish dump. Other than a good satay stall, the resort food was very average. If you have the misfortune to be stuck in this resort, you would do much better at the Paya Beach Seafood restaurant outside the resort beyond the jetty.
The final straw was having to wait 1-1/2 hours for the ferry back to the mainland, only to be told (although we had tickets) that the ferry was full. We had to push our way through to the upper deck and refused to budge. Despite the crew's protests that the ferry was full, we saw a ticket being sold to a passenger who had boarded without a ticket.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2010

A wasp nest was found on the balcony bamboo chair and a friend was stung. Seeing the ballooning swelling I rushed to the reception to seek help and asked for first aid or any first aid kit. The reception staff looked lost and instead referred me to another counter that rent out life jackets. The fella who looked like the boss told me to get the honey from the breakfast buffet (going on at that time) when I asked for first aid kit! Instead of dropping what he was doing at that time, he continued chitchatting with a girl there. My friend could have died from allergic reaction from the wasp sting!!!!

As for the beach, it has becoming polluted with cigarette butts, empty plastic drinking bottles, candy wrappers etc. We were frequented visitors to Paya Beach Resort in the past. 10 years ago, the beach front used to boast of pure fine, white sand. It is now contaminated. I advise all to avoid Paya Beach resort given that there're other better maintained resorts in the vicinity.

The ferry that was supposed to take us to Tanjung Gemok Ferry Terminal was one and half hours late. In between the waiting time, ferries to the Mersing Ferry Terminal passed by a few times. The resort had arranged for a coordinator to communicate with the delayed arrangement. This 'Uncle' decided to take an unannounced tea break, leaving the rest of us behind before the arrival of the late ferry pickup.

Avoid Tioman Paya Beach Resort!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joos0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PayaBeachResort, Owner at Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

We are indeed deeply grateful to all those who write reviews here on tripadvisor about our excellent and wonderful resort, as all of you, by your individual reviews, have blessed us with the wonderful privilege of presenting the facts and truth to all the many other readers of reviews here on tripadvisor. By your own hand, you have allowed us to tell everybody how wonderful our resort's facilities and services actually are. For this honour and privilege, we are deeply grateful for your blessing.

We thank your review. We aim to make our resort a value for money and affordable 3 star beach front resort for guests to enjoy the abundant blessings of nature around us. We have had a new Management Team since October 2013 and the new team is headed by an experienced hotelier who is able to manage and administrate professionally. He believes in taking feedback seriously by using the feedback as an additional pair of eyes to help him provide the best facilities available for all our guests. He is one who believes in executing and making real rectifications be it the physical structure or our operations or administrative systems and not one who believes in the proverbial mindless lip service of "humbly apologising" for the sake of convenient public relations just for a fleeting moment.
Our Room Division Manager has been informed of your feedback and is conducting his investigations. All necessary improvements will be made once he has completed his investigations as we aim to make the stay of all our guests as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
We have 6 room categories each catering to guests with different disposal income. At the most basic, we have less than 20 beds at our Standard Lodge. Each single sized bed costs USD 12.60 per night including breakfast. There are 4 beds in each Standard Lodge Room and each room is airconditioned with ensuite hot water showers and toilet. Next category up is the Standard Chalets which sleep 4 adults comfortably. Appointed with 1 Queen sized double bed and 2 singles, each airconditioned chalet has an ensuite hot water shower room and toilet. The Superior Sea Facing rooms are the next category up from the Standard Chalets. These sleep 3 adults with one adult having to sleep on a pull out single sofa bed. There is a Queen sized double bed which sleeps two comfortably. Again, these airconditioned rooms come with ensuite hot water showers and toilets. The Superior Beach Front rooms are airconditioned and each come with ensuite hotwater showers and toilet. Each Superior Beach Front room is located right at the edge of the beach and is appointed with two queen sized double beds which sleep 4 adults comfortably. Next up are the Deluxe Chalets. Again located right at the edge of the beach, these are a favourite with families. The fullly airconditioned chalets come with one master bedroom with ensuite open air shower and toilet. The master bedroom has a European King sized double bed sleeping two adults very comfortably. This is also good for couples with a young child who is used to cohabitate with parents during sleeping times. There is a single pull out sofa bed in the hall which leads to the balcony which gives a wonderful view of the sea. There is a bath room with bath and toilet attached to the hall. This area can sleep one adult only. There is also a cozy attic bedroom which sleeps two adults comfortably on a queen sized double bed. The deluxe chalets sleeps 5 adults comfortably. The fully airconditioned Deluxe Suites are most luxuriously appointed with an open air hot water shower, hot water jacuzzi and toilet attached to the master bedroom. All these open air jacuzzi and showers allow a wonderful view of the ocean. The master bedroom again is appointed with another balcony which gives a wonderful view of the forest and Mount Kajang. There is a European King sized double bed which sleeps two adults very comfortably. This is also good for couples with a young child who is used to cohabitate with parents during sleeping times. The hall is appointed with a single sofa pull out bed and a queen sized sofa bed which sleeps 3 adults comfortably. There is a separate ensuite hot water shower and toilet to the Hall of the Deluxe Suite. The Deluxe Chalets and Suites come with a mini fridge. If guests of other room catergories wish to have a mini fridge in the room, a charge of USD 8 per day. Deluxe Suites and Deluxe Chalets come with complimentary bottled water which are replaced daily.
Except for the standard lodge, all our rooms come with a TV with 4 channels available namely, Discovery, ESPN, HBO and CNN. All rooms except for the Standard Lodge come with complimentary coffee and tea making facilities and set. All rooms including the standard lodge come with mini pantry with hot water kettle. We urge all our guests to boil their water before drinking for hygiene reasons as that is just plain common sense. There is a movie room where we show a complementary movie for our guests. We have free WIFI available for our guests at our food outlets. If you are in a group, you may have complimentary use of our multipurpose room (subject to availability) but a charge for Coffee and Tea on a per head basis is payable. Minimum number is 40 persons.
All Rooms are serviced everyday and we will provide fresh towels and linen during the service. If you feel that you want to do your part in helping the environment, we applaud and encourage your thoughtful and considerate intentions. You may inform us that you do not wish for your linen or towels to be replaced. We will however still service your room. Our linen and towels are no more than 6 months old and we replace them regularly. Strict hygiene is observed and all the linen and towels are washed in antibacterial solution after they are soaked in dilute chlorine for at least 15 minutes. All linen and towels are then machine dried at with the temperature set at 75 degrees Celsius. Your bath rooms and toilets are washed with antibacterial solution and when there is a change in guests, all the toilets, wash basins, WC, Showers, baths and Jacuzzi are treated with chlorine to prevent cross infections between guests.
The well sized swimming pool in our resort is controlled by an automatic chlorinizer. In addition to that , the pool is serviced everyday. The chlorine reservoir is checked and the water condition for pH, residual chlorine is analysed each day. Part of the servicing includes clearing the water of debris through vacuuming. Our water is not green but blue. The pool deck is serviced and cleaned each day. Our pool is not an Olympic (50 meters) sized swimming pool with 8 lanes across. It is not meant for competitive swimming training hence the lack of need for such a pool. We do not hold any professional or amatuer swimming competitions at our pool. Most of our guests do not come to this Tropical Island Resort for competitive swimming training. The swimming pool is meant for our guests to get familiarized with the snorkeling equipment and for our Scuba Diving Centre to conduct PADI accredited Scuba Diving Courses in a safe confined water environment where the students are able to stand up with their heads above the water should they be uncomfortable at any time during the Snorkeling or Scuba Diving Lessons. Our Activity Guides are all Life Guard certified and trained and our Scuba Diving Centre has PADI certified and licensed Scuba Diving Instructors and Dive Masters. A large olympic sized swimming pool would be a misallocation of land and resources resulting in inefficient pricing of services and rooms for our guests. Professional cost benefit analysis has led to intelligent and efficient allocation of our resources. This is how we have arrived at a a pool of this size for our number of guests and for the intended purpose. For guests who would like to lie at the poolside, we suggest you use our greatest asset - the beach and enjoy the sun, ocean air at these beautiful natural surroundings. Our guests take the trouble to come to an exclusive Tropical Island Resort not the lie by the pool side which can be done anywhere in the cities or towns. Logically most of our guests come to enjoy the sea and beach. While there are some lounges at the pool deck, we cater more of those who would lounge on the beach. Beach Towels are available for rent from our Activity Centre.
We thank you indeed for your review and for the opportunity to inform our guests of the facilities available for them. You may follow the latest events and get a good feel of the culture of Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort on our Facebook page.
Our objective is to make ourselves not only a value for money 3 Star Beach Resort, we aim to make our hospitality experience affordable to as many as possible so that we can share the blessings of nature that we have been endowed with.
Rental for snorkeling equipment are priced at value for money and affordable rates. Our masks and snorkels are for rent at USD 2.20 per day, Life Jackets at USD 2.55 per day and flippers at USD 2.20 per day with each day defined to be the period between 8am and 8pm on the same calendar day.
Our waters are warm, ranging between 26-29 degrees Celsius, turbidity low with currents manageable (do check with our Activity Desk Guides for local and actual information on the day you snorkel). Tioman Island is a granite island. We never want to interfere with nature and hence our beach is home to many beautiful and interesting wildlife which can been seen during low tide. Due to a flattish seabed, the tidal range is quite large so you would not find coral life for the first 50metres from the beach. Beautiful and colourful coral thrive after that and are found from the rock structure right in front of the resort and to the island (Tomok Island) on the right of the resort. The Rocky structure right in front of the resort is home to a family of black tip reef sharks who are accustomed to visits from our many guests. We have put up pictures of beautiful colourful fishes and corals in Tripadvisor for guests to view. Hawkbill turtles, Lizard Fish, Trumpet fish, Damsel fish, Wrasse, Parrot Fishes are aplenty and if one is quiet and respectful of nature, available in full visual splendor for our guests. There are Butterfly Fish, Batfish, Fairy Basslets, and the occasional moray eels. Blue spotted rays and even eagle rays are sometimes seen in the area between the rock feature in front of our Deluxe Chalets and Tomok Island. Anemone Clown Fish are the delight of many of our younger guests. There is a platform which we have put up for our guests to rest while snorkeling. In the vicinity of that platform, Shovelnose Rays or Raysharks have been photographed. Sea snakes like , Sea Crates, Banded Sea snakes, Coral snakes are sometimes spotted too.
The Tropical Rainforest neighbouring our resort is home to many animals that are endemic to Pulau Tioman like the Tioman Blind Walking Catfish. Macaque Monkeys, Bats, Flying Squirrels, Monitor Lizards, are all native and found in the Tropical Rainforest. Beautiful Birds of Paradise, Sunbirds, Water Hens, Hummingbirds, Ospreys, King Fishes, White bellied Sea Eagles and many beautiful butterflies like Common Blue Butterflies, Swallowtail Butterflies are abundantly available for visual splendor. Snakes like the Reticulated Python, Sunbeam Snake, Grass snakes, Palm Vipers, Paradise Tree Snakes, Cobras, Vine Snakes, Oriental Whip snakes and Dog fish Water Snakes are some species of snakes that may be spotted for the keen eyed.
Beautiful trees like the Banyan Tree, Willow Tree, many species of palm trees like the Giant Palm, Natural fruit trees like the Custard Apple Tree, Durian Tree and Mango tree are all abundantly available for those who are keen naturalist. Different species of ferns like the Jungle Fern, Peacock Fern, Dragon Scale Fern, Leather Fern and many different fungi with prominent meristems are found in the Tropical Rainforest right at the edge of the resort. Herbs and plants like the Tapioca plant, Ginger Plant, Chilli plant, Curry plant and Pigeon
Orchids are found in this beautiful Rainforest.
. There is a movie room where we show a complementary movie for our guests. We have free WIFI available for our guests at our food outlets. If you are in a group, you may have complimentary use of our multipurpose room (subject to availability) but a charge for Coffee and Tea on a per head basis is payable. Minimum number is 40 persons. Complimentary Indoor Board games like scrabble, Uno etc are also available for our guests. Beach mats are available for rent as these are so much more comfortable instead of using your bath towel on the sand. Ball games like volleyball are also complimentary.
Kindly contact our life guard certified guides for tours to view these blessings of nature found in and around Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort. You may follow the latest events and get a good feel of the culture of Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort on our Facebook page. We thank you very much indeed for your review as you have provided us the opportunity to inform all readers and guests of the wonderful wildlife and beach we have been blessed with.

For the sake of the Traipdvisor reviewer and reader, we have a fully licenced SPA. Combining the art of natural healing with the warm hospitality of the islands, Paya Tropical Holistic Spa offers a tranquil place of rest and renewal. Our philiosphy is one of prevention; moving away from a curative approach to promoting a lifestyle where beauty and good health come naturally. There are various spa treatments available including :


Paya Classic Massage
1 hour | RM128
A soothing aromatherapy massage to relieve stress, tension and fatigue. It improves blood circulation and flexibility while removing toxins, repairs worn tissues and stimulates the body's nerve endings.

Six types of essential oils used to create the signature Paya aromatherapy blend. They are Lavender, Rose, Sandalwood, Lemongrass, Clove and Peppermint.


Paya Four Hand Massage
1 hour | RM268
Experience a luxurious massage by two of our most experienced therapists. A synchronised performance over your whole body balanced with our signature Paya aromatherapy blend. Highly recommended.


Warm Stone Massage
1.5 hrs | RM168
The treatment begins with an aromatherapy massage that culminates in having warm river stones placed over your body’s acupressure points to release retained heat from your body, leaving skin visibly smooth. A final massage completes the session, revitalising you.


Traditional Herbal Heat Massage
1.5 hrs | RM188
This age-old treatment begins with an hour-long session aromatherapy massage. A steamed poulitce of fresh Kaffir lime leaves, turmeric, ginger and lemongrass cleanses the body of excess gas and eases sore muscules, bruises, inflammation and back pain by opening pores and providing medicinal heat to induce relaxation.


Maternity Massage
1 hour | RM155
A special massage appropriate for any stage of pregnancy. Recommended to improve blood circulation, reduce hip and back pain, and help relieve leg cramps, swollen ankles and headaches.

Olive oil is an available substitute for those who may have sensitivity to our aromatherapy blend. Please inform us about any health problems, so we may customize the treatment to your needs.


Diver's Divine Massage
40 mins | RM100
A forty-minute sports massage using therapeutic massage oil and specially designed for divers. Improves flexibility and promotes relaxation and tranquility before or after a day of diving.


Classical Massage Class
3 hrs per day for 3 days | RM999
Learn the art of the healing touch in a three-day class conducted by our most experienced trainers. You'll receive step-by-step instruction in ancient techniques to augment health, beauty and youth as well as insights into the origins of this ancient art that lives on today.

Kindly contact us to schedule a course to your convenience.


Bamboo Massage
1 hr | RM150
For centuries, bamboo was used as a remedy to help ease tired muscles after a long day's work and signified good luck, long life, friendship and harmony. This invigorating massage helps loosen tight muscles and reduce tension, stress and anxiety. It also stimulates blood circulation to increase oxygen flow and promote vitality.


Neck, Back & Shoulder Massage
30 mins | RM78
A soothing massage that focuses on releasing the tension from the neck and shoulders. Perfect for easing the stress from working long hours and relaxing the muscles to ease stiffness and promote good posture.


Foot Massage
30 mins | RM68
A luxuriously relaxing massage using oils and gentle gliding strokes to ease tired foot muscles leaving your feet feeling fresh and rejuvenated.


Eye Area Massage & Mask
30 mins | RM66
A rejuvenating treatment to relieve and alleviate dark circles, fine lines and puffiness around the eyes. The result is visibly younger, smoother and vibrant-looking skin. Highly recommended.


Naturopathy Facial
1 hour | RM100
A revitalising treatment using natural products and herbs to deep cleanse and exfoliate the face. A selection of masks are offered to match your skin complexion and texture including Mud, Yogurt, Cucumber, Aloe Vera and Soya Bean.


Herbal Body Scrub, Wrap & Bath
1.5 hrs | RM188
Paya Holistic Spa's exclusive body treatment exfoliates dead skin cells, reduces cellulite and tones your skin. Using only the freshest herbs and organic products, a body-polishing wrap leaves your skin moisturised and feeling silky-soft.


Foot Pampering
30 mins | RM66
Pamper your feet with an invigorating cleaning and softening treatment using natural loofahs and sea salt followed by a special foot mask made from mung bean paste to moisturise and leave your feet refreshed and revitalised.


Ayurvedic Scalp Massage & Hair Treatment
1 hour | RM100
Give your hair that sleek, shiny texture Asian women are renowned for. A luxuriously relaxing scalp massage using aromatic coconut oils followed by a natural hair mask breathes new life to your hair, rejuvenating every strand from root to tip.



For the sake of the Tripadvisor reader, we also have a PADI Resort Dive Centre. Paya Diver’s Cove With our large range of equipment, we offer both shore and boat dives to some of Tioman’s best dive sites. An abundant growth of corals along with turtles, reef sharks, large moray eels, school of jacks and barracudas can be found everywhere. Dive courses are also available for the first timers to the pros.
Our Dive Centre offers a range of PADI Dive Courses. To provide information to the Tripadvisor reader, we have the following :




Dive Programmes
(include equipment rental) Bubblemaker RM 100
Discover Scuba RM 100
Discover Scuba Diving RM 150
Refresher Programme RM 140
Dive Courses Open Water Diver (Basic) RM 800*
Advance Open Water Diver (exclude equipment rental of RM100) RM 600*
Emergency First Aid Response RM 350*
Rescue Diver (exclude equipment rental of RM100) RM 700**
Divemaster Upon Request
Leisure Dives
(exclude equipment rental) Single Boat Dive RM 75
Single Boat Night Dive RM 105
Shore Shore Dive RM 40
Shore Shore Night Dive RM 75
Leisure Dives Packages Two Boat Dives (include equipment rental) RM 200
Equipment Rental
(per day) Buoyancy Compensator RM 35
Regulator RM 35
Wetsuit RM 25
Mask & Snorkel RM 8
Fins RM 7
Torchlight (Small) RM 25
Torchlight (Medium) RM 30
Dive Computer RM 40
Equipment Package rental (BCD & Regulator & Wetsuit) RM 80
*additional RM220 required for the purchase of PADI Course materials
**additional RM240 required for the purchase of PADI Course materials

Our Dive Centre is the only Dive Operator that is allowed to use our pool for novice scuba divers who are undergoing PADI Scuba Dive Courses. It is a safety requirement of PADI that any student Scuba Diver be allowed to experience breathing underwater using Scuba Diving Equipment and learn Scuba Diving Safety Skills in a safe confined water environment not subjected to currents, wave surges and allows the student to stand up with the head above water during the course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

My bf and I wanted some where affordable yet fun. Initially, we have decided to go to Langkawi until my sister recommended me Paya Beach, Tioman.

We have upgraded our room to Superior + additional SGD $35 for meals and snorkeling included. Total of SGD $200/head.

From Singapore's coach, estimated time given was 4 hours but it only took us 2 hours, close to 3 hours to reach Mersing, as the traffic was light. (Please note, that's a compulsory RM $5/head to pay) As for the ferry ride, it took us close to or an hour to reach.

My bf and I were quite skeptical before reaching, but once we have reached, we no longer have such worries about not being able to enjoy ourselves. The sea is deep blue, long stretch of white sands and lovely looking huts. After we have checked in and settled down, we learn that snorkeling will only take place the next day. The lunch in the resort is rather expensive as its nothing fantastic, RM 25 for a plate of chicken chop and RM 8 for fried rice. (I would recommend you to have your meals outside of the resort, local food, about 5mins walk)

During the day 1, there's a diving hut. We realize that even as pure beginner, we are able to experience diving. The instructor was very friendly and he agreed to give us a crash course at pool and diving at the day itself. (Each RM $150)

The instructor told us he would bring us to the sea where sharks and sea turtle could be found. At this point of time, I must admit I am not a very strong swimmer and I have doubts in diving. However, it was a wonderful experience. The instructor really took care of me and my bf, frequently checking on us. We went down the lowest of about 6m, saw a sea turtle, lots of fishes and a about 1 to 2m long shark swimming by. The water was clear. Est. time: 45mins.

Buffet Dinner was alright. If you love bbq food, there's a stall selling bbq food! Spicy and fresh!

DAY 2:

We did not went to the snorkeling trip included in our SGD $35 package. Instead, we rented the goggles from the nearby stalls for RM 4/head. (Full day: RM 8/each)

We had tried the Ramly burgers outside of Paya Resort too, but sadly, nothing fantastic either.

----

As for the rooms we stayed, other than it lack of a bath tub, others have been pretty okay. Its good enough for the amount we paid. The services given was average and also, the first night we went, there was a number of time, most part of the resort blackout during our dinner. It was pretty disturbing but it stop before we went to bed.

---

Also, as a tip... You can find waterproof camera(disposable or for rent) in the stalls outside of the resorts. Most of the stuff could be found, eg. Aloe Vera, basic essentials, bikinis, clothings and etc. And, it is also safer for you to double confirm the ferry timing the day before you're leaving as the ferry timing changes without prior notice.

Overall, I love this place. Do try the diving! :)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yijuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We decided to try Paya Beach Resort again after our memorable trip last year. The check-in (02/04/2010) was fast. We were excited to experience the new Deluxe Suite which was newly built at the new Sri Kajang Wing. The room was superb and ideally for honeymooners or couple celebrating their wedding anniversary. You have big L-shaped sofa, jacuzzi, balcony overseeing the beautiful beach and many more that you can get from 4 star resorts.

Everything was okay until an hour later where we were welcomed by the electricity disruption at the whole resort. There was no phone in all the rooms. So we have to walk down to the resort's reception and enquire of what had happened. We were told that there are problems with the Tenaga Nasional power supply in the whole island of Tioman. Meaning to say that those resorts with no standby generators will be in total darkness. In total, we had many disruptions of electricity during our stay. Some will last for 3 hours. Worse part, not even one resort staff update us on the situation.

Paying about RM$1500 for 3 days 2 nights full board package thru the website, we felt that it was a waste of money staying there and the best part was that my wife wanted to leave the resort the very next day. But I convinced her that it will be fine the next day... Can you imagine bathing and suddenly there was total darkness and no water supply. I have to wash myself with water from mineral bottle supplied by the resort.

There was no compensation by the resort for the glitch which they have known even weeks before we arrive and I was quite surprised that not even one staff apologise for the inconvenience caused.

So I can tell you that most of the time we just hang around near the beach bar as it is lighted up by the standby generators. I think that Paya Beach Resort reputation will be badly affected after this incidents even it was not their fault as they have failed to make up for the unpleasant moments for all visitors during that period (02/04 - 04/04/2010). We were even told resort staff that it is common when during peak period especially the weekends.

If they have done at least minimum damage control, I would not be so critical in my comments. This is a warning to all holiday makers who plan to stay at Paya Beach Resort, PLS MAKE INTENSIVE INQUIRY ON THE SITUATION AT TIOMAN ISLAND BEFORE YOU BOOK YOUR STAY THERE. You might not want to experience sleepless night, hot stuffy room, bathing in ice cold shower, using mineral bottled water to finish your bath and many unpleasant experiences... Too many to complain...

On the last day of our stay, we decided to escape the "hardship" that we had for past 2 days by taking back the 1st ferry out of Tioman Island back to Mersing... Just glad that we did that....

I just hope all these helps....So BEWARE......

I will still recommend this resort but still, check again on the electricity situation at Tioman Island or any other "unwanted mishaps".

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IMKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

I was in Tioman over the Easter Weekend. It wasn't as crowded as i expected. Still there are families with noisy kids around.

Check-in was quick and fast. Staff are friendly.

I had a Beachfront superior room, which was great for the price i paid. Rooms are clean and well-maintained. Probably because it is a newer wing at the resort. Some construction going on at the back but didnt bother me. As i was out most days Scuba diving. Downside was the blackout at the first nite but it got fixed by Day 2.

Paya Diver's cove was awesome. Funny and Grace were great instructors. Me and my partner got our cert within 2 days.

Beach right out front of my room was fun. You can just snorkel right out there. No need for boat trips out to sea.

Restaurant at the resort had decent food. Seafood is great! as usual. Some are a tad bit overprice. Alcohol is good and cheap.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiggerlovesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

I loved my stay at the resort. The staff were friendly and put me at ease, service was great and so was the food, especially the shrimp satay with ginger sauce. One staff member invited me to join her for a jungle walk-- for which I was very thankful, as I did not want to go on trails alone. The snorkeling was wonderful --the water really is crystal clear, and there are plenty of beautiful fish right in front of the hotel. I also liked that there are no cars on this part of the island.

The only downside was loud music at night coming from the village, so next time I will choose a room in the back where it is quieter instead of on the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vancouverite1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

I went there with three other girl friends and it was good fun! We stayed there for 3days and 2 nights at the Standard room and it was a bargain. In total, I spent about S$454. This money included lodging, transport, insurance and spending money and I still have some RM left! The package I got included 2 dinners, 2 breakfasts and 1 lunch.
The staff at the reception were friendly and spoke well enough .Next to the reception area is a little glass room that offered internet services for 10rm per hour or if you have a lap top, 20rm for wireless connection for the whole day.
In terms of the rooms, the room was basic, with a clean bathroom, A/c and television. The floors were recently mopped just as we checked in and one part of the parquet had chipped off near the bathroom. There was no fridge but towels, 2 glasses, 2 coffee cups, a little pitcher and a boiler were provided. If you are particular, you might want to bring your own towels because the resort doesn't provide more than a towel per person. We managed to beg for one more when we went swimming but that was it. We used the towels for swimming, snorkeling and showering so it was pretty disgusting after a while. Luckily we brought our own and there is a laundry line right outside your front door which we used to air dry our towels in between uses. The towels were clean but worn out.

The beds were comfy and the room was cosy for 4. My blanket had cigarette burns in them but otherwise the bed and sheets were very clean. I would not recommend bringing a laptop if you are paranoid about safety for there are no safety deposit boxes in the room. There is a safety deposit box at the reception to hold important documents such as passports which we did use.

Noise levels were acceptable. We had neighbours who came in a group of 8 so they were not very noisy. You couldn't hear the music from the restaurant area so that was good. However, we could hear it when our neighbours moved furniture about so I guess the rooms aren't very soundproofed at all.

What is impressive about the resort is the cleanliness. I was surprised to find no ants or bugs around our chalet or in the chalet for that matter. We were constantly munching on sugary snacks and leaving them out in the open.To our surprise, we had no visitors of the ant kind. The staff at the resort make the effort to hose down the food decks and wash out the serving trays quite thoroughly after every meal which really made it so much more reassuring to eat there.
The food provided by the resort was varied and delicious. It was mostly local fare that was cooked well. The cocktails however were hits and misses. Try their B52s, Pina Coladas and Gin Slings! Beer is dirt cheap and they have beers like Hoegarden so its really a good watering hole.
There is also the Islander Club next to the resort's restaurant and they have a little sun deck where you can tan and drink at the same time .Unfortunately I never got to try their food so I can't comment.

A little walk away from the resort brings you to this Sunrise cafe where they serve one of the most delicious Ramly Burgers ever! I had the chicken and cheese one and it was so delicious. The buns were fluffy, buttery and crispy and the patties were not dry. For 3.50Rm, its a bargain!

In terms of shopping. this little stretch of Tioman offers 2 duty free shops and 2 other gift shops. My friends and I bought some nice beach dresses and gifts for friends and family. There is one particular shop that sells everything from beer to sunblock to medicine such as Clairinase and tonnes of funky clothes and jewelery!

The snorkeling was a little hit and miss. Our package included either a full day of snorkeling or a half day jungle trek and snorkeling after. We took the full day of snorkeling and it was very enjoyable. Being virgin to this whole experience, I would say that their approach was quite good. The first place we had to snorkel at was the marine park, which we were told had no coral but plenty of fish. It was good because it allowed first timers like me to get used to the whole process of snorkeling in a restricted small area. It gave me the confidence to try the open water snorkeling at Ringgis Island.

We saw plenty of fish and dead coral. Some of the coral were still alive and it was still a treat to see, especially if you have never done it before. The guide offered to show us some white tipped sharks and sea turtles nearby but I missed the opportunity as the water was getting choppier and choppier and I was fast losing confidence in my swimming ability. The guide was really friendly and spoke well. The boat that took us out was small and old but well maintained.

The beach at Paya was nice enough, where the waters were blue and mostly clear. We took a little walk down the beach and had a lovely time, There were sand flies but they left us alone. Luckily none of us got bitten. It could be the excessive sunblock we used! The sunsets seem to last forever and the scenery is truly breathtaking.

Perhaps the two things that marred the holiday was the number of families with NOISY children at the resort and the lack of a night life. We wanted to take a dip in the pool but it was constantly filled with screaming children. We couldn't sunbathe in peace by the pool either. Next, when nighttime came, we struggled to find something to do. After all, the resort and the club had no live entertainment ( Our trip was from Monday to Wednesday) and could only offer good drinks and food. We spent our nights mixing cocktails outside our room and chatting the night away.

So I would say it was a good holiday. I would go there again to try their kayaking, jungle trekking and snorkeling. However, I would probably bring some dvds and a dvd player just in case. Or great company. :)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eneres_Nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
5.6 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
2.9 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
524 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
2.3 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
5.8 mi away
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
#9 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort

Address: Kampong Paya | Tioman Island, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#6 Spa Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range: £36 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to one of the world’s oldest mangrove swamps and the Tropical Rain Forest, this Beach Front Resort also boasts having a spectacular House Coral reef. Paya Beach Spa & Dive Resort is the perfect getaway on the Tioman Island, the infamous volcanic island covered in rainforest, white sands, turquoise water, and unforgettable experiences. Paya Beach Spa & Dive Resort is ideal for visitors who seek to enjoy the nature’s gift, nestled in a secluded beach with rooms overlooking South China Sea. The wide range of facilities at the hotel includes spa, outdoor pool, beach bar, Grill, conference and meeting rooms, restaurant, and PADI Dive Centre. Moreover, fishing, Snorkeling and Ecological trekking tours of the Mangrove Swamp and the Rain Forest can be arranged at the Activities Centre. Restaurant and Grill is driven by a passionate Executive Chef with the team who create the works of gastronomic art in the only open kitchen in Tioman Island. Paya Beach Spa & Dive Resort invites all visitors to come and experience the unforgettable experience of picturesque view of the sea from our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Beach Hotel Pulau Tioman
Paya Beach Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing