We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation served with a smile” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bagus Place Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bagus Place Retreat
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxation served with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

Bagus place is the perfect place to get away for some rest and relaxation, a real jem of place. The resort is set in a beautiful location and has the luxury of its own beach. I had just finished an extremely busy three months at work and the environment of Bagus was a marvellous place to wind down and forget about the worries of the world.

We spent seven wonderful days chilling on the beach, enjoying sundowners from the extensive range of cocktails at the jetty bar and sampling a variety of regional dishes at dinner.

The staff are extremely friendly, especially the hosts Jen and Conrad who went out of their way to help us enjoy our time at Bagus. I would definitely go back and have recommended Bagus to a number of friends.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woollyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    52
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
86
187
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
asia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

We just returned from a week at Bagus Place with our 2 pre-teen children. We all had high expectations based on the reviews from Trip Advisor and from the UK based owners. Its location is absolutely stunning. We were offered cocktails upon arrival and advised to refer to the welcome package waiting in our "house". At first glance, the boat house just screams fun and adventure. But its limitations soon were obvious when our host accidentally locked us in. The outside door is either latched from the inside or out, so someone is always locked in or out. It is far too small for 4 people, and because the outside door must be left open most of the time, privacy is really compromised. Plus, the door cannot be locked. Despite the fact that we requested this accommodation, based on the photos and descriptions provided on the website, the owners never cautioned us against our choice. It is suitable for 2 people, maximum.
Almost none of the activities or excursions mentioned in the welcome pack were available during our visit.
Snorkeling off the jetty at high tide is fine for strong swimmers. Novice snorkelers and children will be challenged by the currents. It is really difficult to organise a trip to Renggis Island, or anywhere else. If you really want to see Tioman Island then don't stay at Bagus Place. Transportation is not easily organised. However for divers, Minang Cove Resort is right next door.
Most of the food on offer was tinned or frozen. Fresh fruit juices were not available.The best meals were the few dinners prepared by the local staff. Morning coffee was generally instant.
The bar was great. Lots of selection available. The expat managers were really fun and welcoming to all guests.
To be fair, our kids loved the place and had a wonderful time. It would be a great place to rest, read a book and lounge about. But, if you are after a Malaysian experience and want to visit other parts of the island, then you might be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krabi2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagus_Place, Owner at Bagus Place Retreat, responded to this review, 30 March 2009
Boat House is indeed the smallest chalet of the five at Bagus Place Retreat. Many families do enjoy it for the 'novelty' value of sleeping in a boat, but others may prefer the spaciousness of our family chalets Big Chief and Eagle View.

We recognise the problem with the door lock and will provide an alternative mechanism as soon as possible.

All trips are subject to good weather conditions and the availability of one of our boats. The weather conditions were not ideal at this time, which would have meant that fewer trips were available than at other times. This might also explain the difficulty with swimming in the sea, though this is not something we have experienced before.

We are located on the more exposed south-western side of Tioman Island, and are more affected by weather conditions than the more developed east and north east of Tioman.

We were disappointed to read that the food did not meet expectations. We have had the same chef for three years now and other TripAdvisor reviewers have complimented her food wholeheartedly!

We will however pass on this feedback and make improvements wherever we can. We are pleased that overall, this family (especially the kids) did enjoy their Bagus Place stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

We had the most unbelieveable and fantastic weekend at the glorious Bagus Place, Tioman! It was indeed a tranquil yet alluring paradise. The Tree House chalet we stayed in has the most breathtaking view of the sea, sunset, long private beach front and nature! It was definitely five-star accommodation at very affordable rates. The Bagus Place staff were friendly and attentive – like being with family. Totally recommend Bagus Place for families and frens who are looking for a paradise to enjoy time together! Well done The Bagus Place Tioman!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlewkwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, Herts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2008

My husband and I came to Bagus Place for our honeymoon. We spent 14 nights at the resort and prior to our arrival we did start to worry that we might go a bit stir crazy being in one small place with not much to do, however, we quickly settled into Tioman Time and it turned out to be the most relaxing two weeks ever - perfect after all the hectic stress of planning a wedding!

Everything about Bagus Place was perfect - the spectacular setting, the weather,the wildlife, the accommodation, the food, the cocktails, the snorkelling, the company of the other guests and the fantastic service provided by our hosts Lucy, Berne and co-owner, Yono.

There are only five chalets at Bagus, so there were only a small number of guests staying at any one time which was perfect. We could spend most of the day feeling as if we were the only people on a deserted island and then meet up with the other guests in the evenings for dinner and drinks in the bar on the jetty. We sampled three of the chalets, our favourite being the Rock House with it's spacious rooms, verandah and fabulous view of the jetty, sea and neighbouring islands.

Bagus Place really is a tropical island paradise and we will never forget going to sleep and waking up to the sounds of the sea, beachcombing and exploring the rockpools, finally plucking up the courage to snorkel (which was amazing in spite of the baby sharks and stingrays), swimming in the waterfall and even being invited to a wedding feast in the next village.

Bagus is a magical place and we definitely made the right choice for our honeymoon.

  • Liked — Rockhouse - spacious and fantastic views
  • Disliked — Hard pillows
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StellaandPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

The only way to sum up our stay at Bagus Place is to say that it is the most beautiful place that we have ever visited and we intend to go back. We had high expectations when we arrived and they were exceeded in every way. I think we were blown away from the moment we stepped foot on the jetty.

There was a new experience every day. We were entertained by the monkeys at breakfast, spent our afternoons relaxing on the beautiful beach, snorkelling or diving (PADI centre is the next door resort) and taking in the sights of turtles, reef sharks, beautiful coral and we even saw a whale shark (friendly variety) at one of the dive sites which is a really rare experience and we were so lucky to see. The evenings were also special... a romantic setting for dinner and the most fabulous food ever. The beach bbq was particulary good and is one of the highlights of our stay. The staff were amazing and we would now consider them friends.

Bagus Place will always hold a special place in our hearts as we got engaged there... it was the most perfect setting. Someone else has commented that Bagus Place is good for the soul and we couldn't agree more. It is a magical part of the island and we feel very lucky to have found it.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank emandmattLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

We stayed at Bagus Place for a week at the end of August and all had a fabulous time (me, my wife plus two children aged 13 & 8).

The setting is magical and the welcome is genuine.

Often these places don't look as good as the brochure - this was better.

This is not a 5 star luxury resort (and doesn't pretend to be) but, as my wife said, it is good for the soul.

The beach right by the resort is rocky when the tide goes out but it fantastic for exploring and if you walk up to the old stone jetty (100yds or so) the beach is much more sandy. My youngest played there happily for ages.

We saw loads of wildlife, really enjoyed the snorkelling trips, loved the bonfire on the beach and generally had a great time just chilling.

Many, many thanks to Janna, Lucy, Yono plus all the other guests we met staying there for making it such a memorable holiday.

  • Liked — So relaxing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank T0ny_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2008

What an amazing place! I have only recently returned and want to be back on the island..

My girl friend and I stayed in the Tree house which was fantastic. Being so close to the beach and surrounded by so much nature was simply amazing. On our first day we came across monkeys larking about and a small black tipped shark when snorkelling.

So much interesting stuff to do or you can simply relax on the beach and drink Pina colada cocktails (come highly recommended, better than the ones in our 5 star hotel in KL!).

If you want to become one with nature and have a relaxing holiday Bagus Place is for you.

As one guest said when we were there "Bagus Place is good for the soul"

Thank you Bagus Place and the other guests for one truly amazing holiday...

  • Liked — Being so close to the sea... Great chalets
  • Disliked — Creepy crawlies coming to visit
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank burlistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
2.9 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
4.7 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
6.3 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
0.2 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagus Place Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagus Place Retreat

Property: Bagus Place Retreat
Address: | No 1C, Pasir Sarang, Kg Mukut, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bagus Place Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only ALL-INCLUSIVE RESORT in Tioman Island Bagus Place Retreat is nestled quietly on one of the most beautiful islands in the world called Tioman.A peaceful sanctuary of breathtaking natural beauty we invite you to rejuvenate body and mind and be enchanted by the sights and sounds of nature. Our guests will find luscious and unspoiled paradise. Clear waters and lush jungles provide plenty of opportunities for outdoor activities such as jungle trekking, snorkeling, kayaking and diving, and beach ball games. Outdoor activities not your thing? Pick up a book from our library try out our sun-loungers on the long secluded beach. Our activities are child friendly so your little ones will be occupied at all times. Our long wooden jetty provides for exciting walks and a fascinating look at coral fish and turtles. Snorkellers will be rewarded with views of the living tropics reefs of Tioman Island. Bagus Place aim to work in harmony with the environment and local community, offering a unique holiday experience to our guests. The only ALL-INCLUSIVE RESORT in Tioman Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bagus Place Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagus Place Retreat Hotel Pulau Tioman
Bagus Place Retreat Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing