We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely resort, better accommodation than most on Tioman.”
Review of Minang Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Minang Cove Resort
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A lovely resort, better accommodation than most on Tioman.”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Tioman, whilst a beautiful island with amazing diving and snorkeling, is not known for its fantastic accommodation and both my partner and I have had bad experiences in the past at other resorts. HOWEVER, after not expecting much, and going only to complete our open water diver certification, we were pleasantly surprised at the great standard accommodation at this resort. We stayed in a beach front delux room which couldn't be closer to the ocean, was extremely spacious with a beautiful vaulted ceiling, great comfy bed, excellent aircon, safe etc.

The accommodation was certainly not cheap, and far more expensive than you would need to spend in Thailand/Vietnam to get a similar or better standard but it is an island and considering everything must be imported you can understand why they must charge higher. I would certainly rather pay more then stay at some of the other substandard places on Tioman.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was good and plentiful (ironically the Asian themed night was the worst food by far but the other nights were great!). Nick is a great host and even bought us a beer to congratulate us on passing!

The beach is a lovely small cove which I imagine would be perfect if you have small children as very safe and not far for them to run to!

As I said, I completed the open water dive course with Seamus, an English instructor who was fantastic. There were only two of us with him and he completely put us at ease, explained everything very clearly. He is very experienced and I would recommend him thoroughly to all.

There is not a huge amount to do apart from water sports and lying on the beach reading but that was perfect for us and many others I would think! It did rain a bit whilst we were there but as we had the diving to focus on we were kept busy, otherwise we may have gotten a bit bored after a few days if the weather stayed bad. During the summer however although there can be rain it usually doesn't last so don't let this put you off. With no TV and wifi there are few places left where you can really cut yourself off from the outside world but this is one of them!

Overall, had a fantastic 4 nights here and would definately recommend for those going to Tioman.

Room Tip: Go for a beach front delux if you can - not sure how good the others were compared to this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    66
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
87
136
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights as part of our 3 week honeymoon in Malaysia & Borneo. From the moment you step off the (small) plane you realize that you have truly been transported. What better way to begin a beach vacation then by being met at the airport by your tax - a speed boat? From there, it just got better. The resort is pretty secluded, as you can't really see other resorts or people anywhere in sight.

The resort only has 16 rooms, so it can't get too crowded. The beach in front of the resort is great for snorkeling - especially by the dock. We loved being able to snorkel a few feet from our beach chairs! There really isn't much to do here - no internet signals, 1 tv at the resort and it's at the bar - but that's why it's so great! We went on a hike one day through a traditional village to a water fall, which was a nice excursion (be sure to bring plenty of water).

The staff at Minang Cove was wonderful and really added to our experience. Everyone was friendly, warm, and engaging. The Chef takes some food to the end of the dock after dinner and everyone crowds around to see him feed the fish - and sharks (don't worry, they are small and apparently the 'nice' kind of sharks). Chef Steve even went so far as presenting my husband and I with a wedding cake our last night there (there was only 1 other couple staying there that night).

My one grip was that we paid extra for a room towards the top of the small hill for the view. The view was spectacular - except for the electric wire that dangled in front of our deck! I would suggest a lower room - the views seemed to me just as good and no electrical wire will block your view!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dba9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Just spent a great long weekend in Minang Cove Resort.

As we got off the ferry at Genting we got greeted by a speedboat that took us a leisurely trip south to our private resort. Our little cove had a cute beach, amazing snorkelling (on one day we probably had 10-15m visibility seeing a variety of colourful fishes, sea urchins etc.) We even saw black tip reef sharks when they did the evening "feeding" of the fishes!

Our room had a lovely terrace overlooking the jetty & sea, which was awesome to just hang out and read our books when it was too hot to sunbathe, or to chill out after dinner.

Really pleasant, clean & large rooms.

We were overfed by the staff given we were staying on half board basis (breakfast, afternoon tea & dinner). And I can tell you we were looking forward to the teatime bell being rung to enjoy that afternoon's delight.

Nicholas the manager and the rest of the staff took extremely great care of us.

What I loved is that internet & phone reception was pretty much non-existant, which meant we were really able to switch off, which is so hard to do these days.

Room Tip: choose the beachfront rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorganeSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a cabin with queen bed, bunk bed and extra mattress on the floor for our youngest. Space enough and you do not stay much time in the cabin anyway. The beach is lovely. The kids enjoyed jumping down from the jetty and the beautiful snorkling. We even saw a turtle close to the beach. Even with low tide you can still snorkle and due to the long jetty, speedboats sail futher out, so it is quite save to snorkle as boats will not come close to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvR2-expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

.. this is the perfect place. No mobile signal, no TV (only at the bar), private, secluded, exclusive at an affordable price and great hospitality. You can just be lost in nature there - the jungle or the corals are just an arm reach. No need for a special trip to the marine park, the jetty and the beach will welcome you with breathtaking coral view. A bit unfortunate for us as we were hit with storm on our 2nd day. Luckily we manage to snorkel on the 1st day. Do join the fish feeding at night, you'll see some sharks basking in the limelight. The staffs are super duper friendly. Thumbs up to Nicholas, Kimi, the other guy at the restaurant and the rest of the staffs. Superb excellent service! Will definitely make a return trip and spend extra days there. 3 days 2 nights are just not enough for you to soak up the nature and be pampered. Don not hesitate to take the seaview room. You will not be disappointed. Shortfalls -> the ferry service. You can never predict the timing. Better start early from Mersing jetty & add on 1 hr delay for ferry trip. It is unavoidable. Other than that, this resort is a little heaven on earth. Did i mention their food is awesome?? We had BBQ and malay cuisine dinner during our stay there and the food are just awesome. Thanks Minang Cove!

Room Tip: Seaview Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melisamuhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Great location, friendly staff, cozy, private. Although they have set menus and set times for meals, the staff bent over backwards to feed our children at odd times. Lovely beach, our children didn't want to go anywhere, you can snorkel right there. We are definitely going again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoretteHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

A jewel of a resort, a wonderful location, peace and quiet. My wife & I and two children (13 & 16) stayed for 3 nights and 4 days in April 2013. We have visited very many islands off Thailand & Malaysia and we enjoyed this resort hugely.

Would certainly suggest to fly instead of taking the ferry. From the greeting at the airport to the sad farewells at the airport drop off we had a brilliant time.

The staff are very polite and helpful - especially Tony the owner and manager. The spa delivers a relaxing atmosphere and the two Thai ladies provide authentic massages & treatments.

We walked to the local village and saw plenty of wildlife - monitor lizards, birds, snake, monkeys, large squirrel, butterflies, etc. However the highlight and the main attraction is the snorkelling and diving. The snorkelling off the beach is excellent with clear water and a great variety of coral and sea life, including, turtles, sharks (don't worry - only black tip reef sharks), bat fish, moray eels, cuttlefish, barracuda, etc.

The rooms were perfectly clean and well maintained.

The food was plentiful and tasty - however it could have been more spicy for our taste - perhaps provide chopped chilli or sambal for those wishing to spice it up a bit.

Lovely cocktails watching the sunset.

A perfect place for a relaxing - get away from it all holiday !

Well done to Tony and all the staff - we will certainly be back for many stays.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TinyTimandBing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
0.8 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
3.2 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
507 reviews
4.9 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
72 reviews
6.5 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
0.2 mi away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#5 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minang Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minang Cove Resort

Property: Minang Cove Resort
Address: P.O. Box 74, Pulau Tioman 86807, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#3 Spa Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minang Cove Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Minang Cove Resort & Spa, a tropical island paradise. Located in the south of the beautiful island of Tioman, a truly stunning location. Off our private beach you will enjoy the warm crystal clear waters, of the South China Sea. Where you can snorkel or scuba dive with the abundant marine life, living in and around our live reef. Including Turtles. Those who are looking for small friendly resort, surrounded by nature, with glimpses of local wild life and unspoilt rainforest. Look no further !! To access the resort, you can take a ferry from the Mersing ferry terminal. Then getting off at the 1st stop, at Genting Village. There our resort speedboat will transfer you to the resort. The second way is to fly, on Berjaya Air from Singapore or Kuala Lumpur. Again our speedboat will transfer you to the resort. One of the resort representatives will meet you on your arrival at the airport. ( For flight and ferry transfers you need to inform us in advance to arrange this transfer.)We have 18 rooms at the resort, which are perfectly clean, well maintained and all with incredible views. We serve authentic local food for evening dinner, changing its theme every night. Lunches are ala-carte and a mix of local and western.You will also enjoy a variety of cool beverages served at our restaurant and beach Bar. Watch the sunset with a tasty cocktail or have a glass of wine over dinner. Our room rates included half board, which is breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner.Some of the activities offered at the resort are, snorkelling, scuba diving, jungle tracking, fish feeding, fishing and island tours.The facilities which are available are, The Minang Spa, private jetty & beach, sun deck with loungers, sun shades, a library, fully equipped dive centre (with resident instructor) , laundry service and baby sitting. Room as well as beach towels provided.The overall atmosphere is very chilled and relaxed. Helpful, friendly staff providing an unforgettable experience, in your Island Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Minang Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minang Cove Hotel Pulau Tioman
Minang Cove Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing