We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TERRIBLE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hornbill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hornbill Resort
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Pulau Pangkor
Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

the only one of good comment i can said is the location for this resort is good. coz is just walk 3 min can reach beach!
but
the room is terrible, the aircon is noisy ! bed is uncomfortable ! bed sheet is dirty! towel dirty! Ceiling was dirt! when upstair people walking you can see the dirt drop from ceiling!! bathroom door is almost damage even cannot lock aso! the price is not worth for it!
i m strongly recommand to your boss! pls renovate it before the next custome book it!!
it really spoil holiday mood!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c0nstance89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izzat_Ibrahim, Manager at Hornbill Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear c0nstance89,

Greetings from Hornbill Bay Resort.

Thank you for your stay at Hornbill Bay Resort and sharing this review. While compliments and recognition are nice to receive; your constructive feed back will help us develop our products and services to match current and future guest needs and expectations.

Thanks to customers' feedback, we have started to replace old bed sheets and towels, and at the same time we will put extra efforts on our room cleanliness and maintenance. I can assure you that we will work hard in order to avoid in the future situations likes the one you encountered.

Thanks once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back for a more comfy guest experience.


Regards,

Izzat Ibrahim.
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    4
    3
    14
See reviews for
13
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My family and i were there over the weekend and we found it to be a nice place with easy access to the beach and walking distance to food outlets. The staff were friendly and suggested places to eat and were very helpful.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the sea as all the rooms have balcony to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arryan456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I was there last saturday with my family...it's actually a good place to stay n enjoy..u will feel like in your own house..Hornbill fronting beach and reminding us our old kampung house..the people in reception are so friendly and helpful.Room rates are affordable. Those are planning to go with their family members it's a great resort to spend your holidays.Moreover, I heard from the receptionist that they going to have a first Theme Park with swimming pool in pangkor island very soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nurfatihuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Bed is so bad n bed sheet so smelly. Toilet so dirty n cannot use n also cannot flush. The ceiling damage. Service very poor. Chalet looks scary n very creepy. Chalet is full of Mosquitos. Bad experience...........

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LangBuana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izzat_Ibrahim, Manager at Hornbill Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear LangBuana,

Greetings from Hornbill Bay Resort.

Thank you for your stay at Hornbill Bay Resort and sharing this review. We are sorry to hear you felt underwhelmed by our facilities. Rest assured remedial actions have been taken.

We value your feedback; both pros and cons, and strive to continuously improve our guest experience.

Thanks once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back for a more comfy guest experience.


Regards,

Izzat Ibrahim.
Resort Manager.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pulau Pangkor hotels

Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Hornbill will always be in our Heart, last visits June2013 the staff was great a young n pleasant man... offered us the rooms at affordable price compare to others at the peak school holidays there no rooms available in the island, However to my disbelief without any additional charges, he helped us to arrange room for my family that night. We are planning for a holiday in Dec again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geethz373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

For RM150 room for a four, it was great value with the superb locations and spacious and clean room.. Don't xpect the JW Marriot. But basic amenities with charming cottage feel is one nicest resorts to stay.. Dato 'M has done many changes to the hotel services before and now..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muhamadkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

bedsheet is so smelly n sandy.toilet is so dirty.cheap n thin towel also not clean.there is only one lamp can be use in your room n it is so dim.the small tv also cannot be use because the pic keep on going up n down.sewage is overflow n its juz beside the staircase that u gonna use to get to your roomand the management juz dont care.the staff also try to cheat by giving the hillview room although you paid for the seaview room and the reason is they dont have room.after you ask for your money back then they immediately have seaview room for you.they dont even have kettle or hot water for customer.dog is everywhere.the wall is so thin n you can even hear your neighbour snooring beside you.there is many mosquito in and out of your room. its juz a bad experience for me n family. please please please dont stay there. the price is not worth it for the customer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cysha31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izzat_Ibrahim, Manager at Hornbill Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2016
Dear cysha31,

Greetings from Hornbill Bay Resort.

Thank you for your stay at Hornbill Bay Resort and for taking the time to share your detailed review with others. First of all, please accept my sincere apology for your unpleasant experience.

I took serious note of the details mentioned in your review and will use those details and examples for our training purposes and see what can be done.

Since the last 2 years, a lot of things have been done to improve our guest experience.

1) All CRT TVs have been replaced with new LCD TVs in all rooms.

2) Newly renovated 56 rooms, pool view.

3) Currently, we are replacing old bed linen with the new one.

4) We are replacing the dim light inside the room with brighter LED lights.

5) Continuous staff training, which focuses on guest-resort relationship.

Again, please accept my apologies for your experience with us. I hope that I have another opportunity to provide you with the positive experience that we promise in the future.


Regards,

Izzat Ibrahim.
Resort Manager.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Pangkor hotels
0.0 mi away
Horizon Inn
Horizon Inn
#18 of 27 in Pangkor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.6 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Budget Beach Resort
Budget Beach Resort
#3 of 24 in Pulau Pangkor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Joe Fisherman Inn
Joe Fisherman Inn
#2 of 24 in Pulau Pangkor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hornbill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hornbill Resort

Property: Hornbill Resort
Address: Lot 4462 Teluk Nipah, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Pulau Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hornbill Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hornbill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing