We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique way to dive!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sipadan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaventures Dive Rig
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Certificate of Excellence
Chaghcharan, Ghowr, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A unique way to dive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

If diving is your #1 priority on your vacation, then this is the place for you. Mornings and afternoons are spent diving and diving and diving some more and the evenings you can social with your fellow divers. I spent 6 days on the rig and did my Open Water Certification. I went from having no idea what the hell I was doing to being perfectly comfortable in the water within just 3 days. The dive masters and staff are all really friendly and helpful--and patient with those of us who couldn't figure out how to sink/float properly in the beginning. Diving on the rig is a unique experience that any diver is sure to love! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Autumn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    122
    24
    3
    8
See reviews for
23
128
92
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I get to know Seaventures from friend and the review from her was great. Diving is relatively new to me, not to mention that I just got my diving license few months back. I was a "little" worry especially I didn't have any dive buddies traveled with me and reading some review about how strong the current can get in Sipadan worry me more. Thanks so much that Seaventures has amazing and super helpful dive masters to "rescue" me from all my worries. My 5 days/4 nights stay at Seaventures was super and I have learned so much from my dive master, "Cat" and Titta. All the staffs were friendly and food was nice. While for the accommodation, I wouldn't say is perfect but it was fine, after all we were there for diving and enjoy the nature. For a resort in the middle of ocean, I think they are doing great. It's definitely a dive resort highly recommended to all divers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My brother and I went to Seaventures for a 6 day/5 night stay in July. We had excellent service from the get go from the office staff when making our booking inquiries, and the staff on board were a pleasure to engage with. We had a small hiccough with our room (condensation was dripping from the window onto an outlet - sizzle and all), which staff promptly did their best to fix late at night on discovery, then Sham had us moved to an upgraded room. As per the other reviews, this is not a 5 star place - but the beds are comfortable, the food tasty, and the diving spectacular. We managed to get in 3 days on Sipadan and were thrilled to have seen turtles galore, sharks, schools of barracuda, moray eels, and even a devil ray and an octopus. Titta was our instructor for our Advanced OW and she was an absolute joy to work with - she has a great sense of humour and made our coursework really enjoyable, and exudes warmth and laughter even at 5 am! She also patiently calmed my jitters for my first night dive, and she is incredibly multilingual and has a really fascinating background in addition to her excellent diving instruction skills. Helmi was a lovely dive master who could spot the tiniest creatures, and Miji is a kind and funny dive master. We were so pleased with our experience - 17/19 dives in 5 days - and I would certainly rank the trip as one of the best I've taken. The circumstances of the rig also meant we got to know many of the other divers - including those from Greece, Netherlands, Malaysia, Australia, UK, etc. and it was lovely to be able to make friends with people from all over the world. Definitely worth a visit to Seaventures!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Diving T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I had the pleasure of spending a total of eight days staying at Seaventures Dive Rig in early August 2013. Spending that much time there I did experience both the good and bad at this dive rig and experienced dives with a lot of different Divemasters as well as doing a PADI Cavern Diving Course there as well.

To start off, first I must say that if you are NOT a scuba diver, please don't come to stay here. This place is not suitable for families and little kids. In fact it's downright dangerous for little kids as the stairs/steps can be pretty narrow and slippery. It is however absolutely perfect for scuba divers. I bought the package from them during a Dive Exhibition earlier in the year so I manage to get a bit of discount as well. They guaranteed me a minimum of two days of Sipadan permits for my package and added one more day since I was doing the PADI Cavern Course inside the Turtle Tomb at Sipadan. In the end, they managed to get for me a total of four days of Sipadan permits which was really really good and from the reviews I have heard of other nearby dive shops, Seaventures is definitely one of the best at getting more Sipadan permits.

They respond to emails quickly and can confirm things which makes it a pleasure to deal with them. I booked the VIP 1 room so it was much larger in size than the other rooms. The queen sized bed was nice and new and clean and there was a nice large flat screen TV with HBO which was a nice addition. The bathroom however was really dated and the shower not very strong and the hot water was even spoiled one day but they repaired it quickly. The VIP rooms are however on the highest floor so there's a bit of stair climbing everyday but that's not too much of a hassle. They have a functional game room as well to which we played ping pong and billiards regularly.

The food was actually pretty decent. They have a Malay chef and a Chinese chef there on duty so day in day out the food is cooked by them. It's pretty good but can be a bit repetitious if you stay a long while. We personally found the food good and the seafood very fresh but it was definitely more suited to Asian taste buds. The bar is a pretty popular hangout every nite and they have some staff playing music as well which makes things lively.

The biggest qualm for me was that the famous "diving elevator" was spoilt the entire time we were there and will continue to be out of service for another month or so. This obviously made things much more inconvenient as we had to climb down to the bottom of the rig everyday. However this was a technical malfunction which I guess is not really in their control and full credit to their staff for doing their absolute best to make sure the guests weren't too inconvenienced.

On to the diving aspect of things, as I mentioned before Seaventures can genuinely be trusted to get you more Sipadan permits and I was really happy with them for this. Everything else is pretty standard though do take note that they do charge quite a bit for extra boat dives to which the cost will be lower if you have a larger group taking the boat out. Staying and diving there for a full week naturally exposed us to almost all of the Divemasters there and just like everything in life, there were mixed experiences. Some Divemasters are of course more hardworking and friendlier whilst some were more lacksaidical. Some of the Divemasters who I personally had a great time with was Cat, Jacky, Miji and Titta who were very friendly and helpful and more importantly really helped us find for underwater creatures and experiences.

We also took the PADI Cavern Diver course and we got Craig to be our Instructor during the course. Being a former British Navy soldier, naturally he was very strict with the course and really made sure we mastered the skills and techniques which is actually extremely important as Cave Diving can be very dangerous as you penetrate deeper and deeper so you don't really want a half past six instructor just looking to pass the time and make his money. Thanks to him, we managed to pass through our course and for our final trip he took us deep into the Turtle Tomb itself which was seriously a completely mind blowing experience as we saw humongous turtle skeletons (and even one rotting carcass) and even a dolphin and marlin skeleton. It was definitely our best dive experience ever!!

Conclusion: 100% recommendation for serious scuba divers looking to really experience Sipadan, Mabul and Kapalai.

Room Tip: VIP rooms are worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NaysanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We chose Seaventures because we thought "when are we ever going to have the chance to stay on an oil rig again?" And we are very glad that we chose it. Starting from the first inquiry, my emails were responded to very quickly and effeciently, pick-up in Tawau and check in was very well organized, and we were met with welcome drinks on the rig. The rooms are basic, but has everything you need. We were there to dive, so as long as we had a shower and comfy bed, that was great.
Staff are awesome! We dove with several divemasters over our 5 days there, and they were all great, pointing out the macro stuff and always very professional and safe.
Food was plentiful and delicious, and we even got freshmade donuts and deep friend bananas for snacks!
Although the weather wasn't great while we were there, dive staff were always happy and positive and we were still able to have some amazing dives at Sipadan. We got 2 days at Sipadan, and saw huge schools of jacks, bumphead parrotfish and barracudas. An awesome experience.
We also did a few dives on our own under the rig, which was fun and super easy to do, just grab your gear and ask staff to lower you down on the elevator.
The last night, there was a bunch of us leaving, and we had a big party with the live band (made up of some great staff) playing, it was a great send-off!
Overall, really good value, unique location, great staff and new friends~! We couldn't have chosen a better spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vancouvergirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Describing Seaventures is not the easiest thing to do. Arriving at the huge steel rig, you might think "Where the hell am I?", but as soon as the crew have welcomed you, you get in to a really layed back atmosfere. The rooms are of a reasonable hostel-quality, the food is quite good and served in buffet-style and the overall place is clean, but those are not the reasons to stay here; diving is. The diving is quite simply amazing. I did my open water course here, and even though most divers that come here are more advanced, the divemasters took great care of me and my course. It's really obvious that the divecrew goes for nothing less than the best, and really want to teach. Throughout my (one on one!) course, and afterwards during the group-dives the divemasters were patient, and did their best to give the best diving experience. They have a lot of knowledge about the areas they dive in, so were able to show many things. The rig crew is not to be forgotten, and absolutely did their best to make my stay as wonderfull as can be.

When at Seaventures you can dive at Mabul/Kapalai, and of course at Sipadan. There are 3 dives planned per day, but if you have a buddy (or buddy up with another guest) you can grab your gear and dive right under the rig (artificial reef) whenever you want, or request extra dives. After the dives you can relax at the bar of gamesroom. There's a boat everyday to nearby Mabul if you want to discover that island. Having done that, I can honestly say that Seaventures looked like the absolute best place to stay, when compared to the resorts at Mabul.

Simply put, it was an amazing experience and I hope to go back there soon.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Mer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongens Lyngby, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

There are some resorts based on Mabul or Kapalai Island, and hotels in Semporna, which might have bigger or prettier rooms, by why bother when you can stay on Seaventures dive rig? If you are a scuba diver, and have travelled here to dive, Seaventures is the right place for you. We stayed 3D/4N in a double room with ensuite bathroom and A/C, and that was perfect for us. The meals are buffet style with 3 courses, and there was a BBQ while we where there - it's nothing fancy, but it is good, and you'll get what you need. There will be served afternoon snacks as well.
The best thing is the atmosphere. The divemasters and instructors are very friendly, helpfull and passionate divers, who want to give you the best possible experience, so will the rig crew. All guests here are divers, so in between dives, the deck will be buzzing with talk about your recent dive, showing pictures and flipping books, telling stories. And the diving is great, the artificial reef under then rig is nice with a lot of life. And then there is Sipadan a short boatride away!
We would stay here again, and I would recommend it to any diver I know.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Trine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sipadan
28.4 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
15.6 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
14.3 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#8 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
13.8 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
0.6 mi away
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
#10 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaventures Dive Rig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaventures Dive Rig

Property: Seaventures Dive Rig
Address: | off Mabul Island, Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaventures Dive Rig is a scuba diving platform located within Mabul Island, some 30 minutes boat ride to Sipadan Malaysia. Sipadan Island is known as the world's scuba diving mecca. This rustic dive resort package includes diving around Mabul island, Kapalai and Sipadan Island. All rooms are fully air conditioned, Wi-FI is available at free of charge and food are served buffet-style. The unlimited diving on the Rig's house-reef is popular as it is home to some diverse underwater life. Seaventures Dive Rig is a PADI 5-Star Dive Centre offering Scuba Diving courses for beginners to professional. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaventures Dive Hotel Pulau Sipadan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing