We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An experience well worth trying” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaventures Dive Rig

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sipadan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaventures Dive Rig
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An experience well worth trying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Had a fabulous 6day 5night dive package, 2 days sipadan permits and an amazing experience. picked up from our hotel no problem, boat transfer to the rig and the adventure began. We did upto 5 dives a day, all the staff were brilliant and were so helpful anytime of day or night, food was lovely (Buffet style) and our double room was clean and bed comfortable, with a/c. Definitely worth a visit, a unique experience. A big thank you to Lynda for putting up with my endless emails and booking our trip, thank you Jacky and Titta for being our dive guides..everything is possible, nothing is guaranteed :-) Seaventures you have wonderful staff on that Rig, always ready to help, always smiling.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    119
    24
    3
    8
See reviews for
23
125
92
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sommelsdijk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed on the rig four nights/five days after we stayed two nights on Mabul Beach Resort from Scuba Junkie. We did not dive with Scuba Junkie, so I can not comment on that, but the atmosphere and the food on the dive rig were much, much better. We where picked up right on time at mabul island and brougt to the rig wit a fast boat with 2x200pk outboard motors! The room on the rig was small, but bigger than I expected and absolutly big enough, with nice aircon and private bathroom and toilet. Showerwater is kind of salty, but nice and warm.

The divingcrew is an oiled machine and they make everything as easy as possible for you, so you only have to make sure you got your fins, mask and weightbelt and they do the rest!! The divemasters we had were great. Miji has the best eyes to spot all the big stuff before you see it and he finds the tiniest little critters like the pygmy seahorse which you would never find yourself. Titta did everything she could to fix the sore feet of my wife from the fins so my wife could dive without pain again. Most important is they make you feel safe and secure under water and they know the divesites like the back of their hand. Big thanks to both of them!

The barcrew was really nice too and the food was excellent and very well varied. Beer wine and are not to expensive and nice and cold.

The communication with headquarters for booking and some changes were very good too. Sandy was quick with responding and solving my reguests, thanks a lot.

All in all a great diving location, nice housereef, right below the rig and we went to Sipadan twice! Recommended to everyone who wants to do lots of diving in a great atmosphere and does not require Hilton-like accomadation.

Room Tip: In some rooms on deck 4 you can hear the generators pretty good. Lower decks no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MauriceJolanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santorini, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We loved every moment of being on Seaventures Dive Rig. The staff were brilliant, My wife rated her dive experience in Sipadan as one of the best dives she has done. The brilliant thing was how they took care of our son and introduced him to diving by doing a bubble maker course. For him it was one the best things he has every done in his life.

Being an ex oil rig the experience is different and special. The rooms are basic but clean and well presented. Remember you are here more for one of the world unique dive experiences more than hanging in a typical hotel room

Whether you dive, snorkel or plan to learn with one of the friendly and skilled dive instructors, you will the enjoy friendly atmosphere of this unique hotel where a passionate chef prepares wonderful buffet meals with some pastries,cakes and desserts clearly one of his fortes too.

We didn't want the dream to end.

Room Tip: Go for the larger room with self contained bathroom of you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyFamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placencia, Belize
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Being from Central America I thought I was going to feel out of place. The crew was really nice, know where to find all the different marine life if you are doing photo or video. Great place for macro photography. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel this is not the place for you, they are very organized you just have to worry about taking your fins, mask, wet suit and weights and they take care of the rest. We stayed in one of the VIP rooms and they are really spacious.

AT THE AIRPORT: We didn't expect nobody to pick us up at the airport and they were right there waiting for us and took us to the hotel, where we spent the night. In the morning they picked us up at the hotel in time and did the transfer to their office. There are stores close to their office in case you would like to buy anything before going to the rig. Their boat pick you up and take you to the rig.

ONCE YOU GET TO THE RIG: One of the crew members is waiting for you with a nice welcome drink and another crew member will give you the boat briefing and make you sign the PADI forms. They take you around to have an idea where everything is located and then they walk you to the room and get ready to go diving under the rig for a site recognition and also make sure of your diving level.

DIVES: Sipadan dives depart early in the morning (6AM) for 3 dives and you usually have the choice of doing 2 more dives in Sipadan in the afternoon. The regular dives are at 8AM, 10:30AM and 2:30PM ... don't get discourage because of the sand dives and artificial reefs during regular dives, if you are a photographer or videographer you will have your hands full on where to takes pictures. Bring a micro lens if you are a photographer.

WHAT EQUIPMENT TO BRING: Try to bring at least your own fins and mask, for the type of currents at Sipadan you will need some good fins. BCD, Regulators and Wet suits what they have is OK ... make sure to check your tanks before the dives, they remain you to do it so just make sure you do that before each dive. Try to get long wet suit for Sipadan dives as you will be spending the day at the Island and you night get cold (specially ladies). Also bring a DRY BAG and a rain coat for the Sipadan trips.

GRATUITIES: They will have a tip box for the non-dive crew and you tip direct the dive crew. As we didn't know we were not able to tip all the guides we dove with, which was unfortunate as I know the gratuities help their income for the week.

MEALS: They have good variety every day, chicken, sea food, vegetarian, Asian, etc. I was ready to eat cereal everyday, but they had a good variety.

Things to do other than diving: They have a boat going to the Mabul Island every day at 5PM and they pick you up at 6:30AM, we had TV in our room (VIP), brings your music, computer or tablet, they have a game room or just relax.

GUIDES: I dove with Helmy and Mando they are a great combination,really knowledgeable and fun. But all of them (Miji, Cat, Jacky, Titta and Craig) are also nice ... Titta is by the book and really safety conscious!

In general a really good experience AND GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY!

Room Tip: The VIP rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SplashBelizePR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I was expecting a lot as it was expensive and i was not disapointed. What you get for your money is worth it.
This place is amazing , a really cool experience being on a rig. Food was amazing , staff lovely and friendly yet professional. My buddy was a dive instructor with his own business and really couldn't fault a thing.
We got extra dives on Sipidan because there were extra permits one day and they were the best dives of my life.
You can dive under the rig and there is lots to see there also. The safely is good and the dive masters/instructors are great and made me feel safe on dives as I don't get to dive that often.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdangounchained
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Diving Sipadan is expensive, but well worth it. Staying at Seaventures blew our budget out of the water, but we're so glad we did it. Living on the dive rig was unreal, with views and rig/dive crew to match. The food was great; everything happened right on time; and the place ran like clockwork. Even though we stayed in dorms to save money, our room was cleaned daily and the shared bathrooms/showers were top notch, with any issues (like hot water not working) fixed immediately.

Seaventures really is a well-oiled machine (pun intended), and you'll have an absolute blast diving and living here for four days. Full trip report with info on what we saw underwater here: http://erohisms.com/borneo-highlight-diving-at-sipadan-and-staying-at-seaventures/

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rob and Lina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

The diving here is fantastic but unfortunately this place has forgotten its guests are also on holiday. After a great day of diving with the staff unfortunately the tv is then the main focus for all the staff including the Rig Boss.
I understand the place is an old oil rig but the place could be a lot cleaner including the shower water which was brown.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thenorage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sipadan
25.1 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
8.6 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#9 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
7.4 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaventures Dive Rig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaventures Dive Rig

Property: Seaventures Dive Rig
Address: | off Mabul Island, Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaventures Dive Rig is a scuba diving platform located within Mabul Island, some 30 minutes boat ride to Sipadan Malaysia. Sipadan Island is known as the world's scuba diving mecca. This rustic dive resort package includes diving around Mabul island, Kapalai and Sipadan Island. All rooms are fully air conditioned, Wi-FI is available at free of charge and food are served buffet-style. The unlimited diving on the Rig's house-reef is popular as it is home to some diverse underwater life. Seaventures Dive Rig is a PADI 5-Star Dive Centre offering Scuba Diving courses for beginners to professional. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaventures Dive Hotel Pulau Sipadan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing