We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Seaventures Dive Rig(Pulau Sipadan)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
239
126
32
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
126
32
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater villasea turtlesfishmarine biologistour honeymoonlunch and dinnerblue skytawau airporthour tripsnorkeling tripmain buildinglow tideamazing experiencedive instructorkota kinabalusemporna jettyfour days
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

After 4 days at the Borneo rainforest lodge it was nice to arrive for our second visit to Pom Pom. The transfers were once again highly organised and the chef had made us a late lunch.. We were pleased to see that the new resort manager, Stevae, had implemented a suggestion we made on our last visit; that all guests sign a form stating they understand the ecological undertaking of the Island and the punishments for ignoring these. In addition, it was also pointed out that parents should be responsible for their children at meal times.Whilst most guests accepted and adhered to these new ideas, there were still some (mainly mainland Chinese family groups) who obviously did not think it applied to them! However, the monkey's tea party that was the norm of meal times on our last visit was not as obvious.

Another pleasant change was the lack of hard sell for excursions, guests may choose at their leisure any trips without being pressured by staff. Also, as a marine biologist Stevae was always present during the hatching and release of baby turtles and he made it a very exciting,, informative and wondrous time for those present, thank you.

We appreciate that it is difficult to get food supplies to the island and in general there is a good variety of dishes to suit all tastes. Certainly Stevae has suggested new ideas to the chefs and some very tasty items appeared at meal times. Nevertheless, most dishes served are lukewarm or cold, and this is a shame. The chefs work hard to produce decent fair for high paying guests and perhaps it is a lack of good equipment in the kitchen and restaurant exemplified by the domestic toaster at breakfast,.Rather than investing in 19 new accommodation units, money may have been better spent on upgrading existing experiment, furnishings and décor to enhance and improve already existing facilities.The kitchen staff are going to have to produce more food without adequate equipment and this will be detrimental as a whole.

Although the resort could be much better considering the price, it has much to offer as a holiday destination. Turtle conservation is magnificent and the limited number of guests could also be a great selling point (if everyone would appreciate the ambience and eco-resort nature).

We would like to thank the staff for making our stay so enjoyable in particular Esa and his GPS, always having our beer on its way in the restaurant, and Rosa for her attention and kindness, We would also like to say thank you to the pastry chef for his wonderful bread, pastries and desserts.

Given the short time Stevae has been at Pom Pom, the changes he has made are only positive. Good job!It is to be hoped he will stay and continue the good work.

We look forward to seeing you again.
. . .
.

.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marciath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Take the word "heaven" and turn it into reality: that's Pom Pom. I could even stop my review here: I really have no better words to describe this place.

The island needs no cheerleading: it's simply amazing, just have a look at the pictures, and trust me they have not been photoshopped...

Swimming around Pom Pom is a wonderful experience by itself. I had my first close encounter with a sea-turtle and a 2-meter long barracuda, and it was simply astonishing.

A part for the island and the sea, I believe that what makes staying at this place so special is the way it is run. Staff is friendly, polite, and helpful and management is very professional. The dive masters are really great (thanks to them we really enjoyed our snorkelling trip).

The rooms are clean and spacious. We stayed in one of the water-villas and well just staring at the sea from the balcony was amazing.

I read some reviewers complained about the food. Honestly, yes, it is not a Michelin-star. But i would still put in the top quartile of the food I tasted in my one-month trip to Borneo.

I could only recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salvo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The island, the beach, the sea.. it's absolutely beautiful! Clear blue water, white sand.
The turtles are swimming around the jetty and the snorkeling is very nice, but unfortunately the coral nearby the island, is mostly dead because so many people (especially Chinese people) step on the coral. So please if you go there, save our coral!!!

The dive center is absolutely amazing. The staff is very knowledgable and very friendly. I felt very comfortable. :) Thanks to Jessica and Virgilio!

We paid a lot of money... I mean a LOT of money. So we had expected the best of the best.
The villa was nice, but i didn't like the sleep comfort and it was quite a dark villa with less windows and not what we had expected for the money.

The most awful thing of our whole Pom Pom trip was the food.... We have read that they try to make a lot of different food, also Western.... But nothing at all... One evening we had pasta. It was very nice, though. But the rest of the food (breakfast, lunch,dinner) was almost all Chinese food. So we only ate bread with butter...
And also the taste was not what we've expected for the money. If you want to drink something you have to pay(!)...ridiculous.

We really liked our trip to Pom Pom Island, but because we spend so much money we were overall disappointed in the staff, the food and the villa.
But the dive centre is the best on the island!

Room Tip: Take a beach villa! :)
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noortje90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Amazing experience to disconnect and enjoy the beauty the island has to offer. We spent six days early Sept, weather was great and the diving was spectacular. We originally planned to do 2 days of diving but ended up diving for 4 days straight. The dive shop/staff was top notch and they did a wonderful job teaching you about the marine life and exploring the macro gems. Drifting with sea turtles was an experience of a lifetime! We stayed in water villa, for the price, exclusivity and privacy, we were happy with our stay. You can venture out to snorkel at your leisure. The villa could use some upgrade in the future but everything was perfectly fine for us and the stay was very comfortable. We took walks around the island and the beach villas were well situated with very good privacy and close proximity to the water and may consider staying there if we go back again. Food was good enough to get you through the day, but could use a bit more variety and local flavors (can't blame Pom Pom for accommodating westerners). The staff was very friendly, transportation was seamless to and from the island and we had no trouble settling in upon arrival. If you are looking for a relaxing experience to enjoy the sun, beach and water and can survive without the amenities of modern living (i.e. broadband, TV, room service), visit Pom Pom, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

OMG, I had such a wonderful holiday there! I can't help thinking of re-visiting, just to think of the sea, the sun, not much of the beach but a lovely strip, the turtle and coral! The small Pom Pom island is nicely located close to Sipadan, good for snokeling and diving. We luckily had a water house that is perched on the far end reaching into the sea. So when we sit on the balcony, there is nothing but the blue sea water before your eyes and you can simply walk into it... Service of staff is also quite ok, meal is different everyday, they gave out cocktail coupons too. The day we departed I got some postcards filled out, and they helped me send home to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garfieldliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews