We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
240
126
32
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
126
32
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater villasea turtlesfishmarine biologistour honeymoonlunch and dinnerblue skytawau airporthour tripsnorkeling tripmain buildinglow tideamazing experiencedive instructorkota kinabalusemporna jettyfour days
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in both the Water Villas and Beach Villas.

The water villas were as everyone else says, really great. No problem sunbathing au naturel if that's your thing and being able to go down the steps to meet the turtles was lovely! Only problem was that the nocturnal rain and wind made one unsure if you were about to be blown away as these were quite noisy. Or emotional perhaps.

The beach villas were great too, we were right down one end where the coral was good and swimming straight off the beach found several turtles on every trip.

The night time walk around the island to look for turtles revealed some guests doing an unguided version of the tour. Although they were reported to the marine police, I suspect that they were genuinely unaware that after dark the beach was out of bounds as there's no signs to remind anyone. Trouble is that signing the acknowledgment of eco-principles on check in was a bit of ablur when we checked in (jetlag etc) so although we were told that the management don't want to get too rulesy with signs, it would help.

Food was OK, nothing special, the staff were great when it was my daughter's 15th birthday, made a cake and did a special song and dance.

Wifi was a bonus given our location on the planet (it's worse here in leafy Winchester) and the manager was trying out various schemes to avoid all the staff and non-resident guests - whoever they are...the turtles?...using the internet as it slowed it down.

It seemed very quiet compared to Maldives resorts we've been to, no hard sell on excursions and everyone quite chilled.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spongthrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

During our six day stay, we were able to see the other resorts and their local dive sites through dive excursions. Pom Pom has the best of both - the island is clean and beautiful; the bungalows are spacious and clean; and the local dive sites are good (better than Mabul). The transfers were well organized and timely. A really great vacation.

Room Tip: We really loved the Kapung House.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jensp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It is really a wonderful experience in the pompom island resort, we enjoy the hospitably and considerate services and the excellent ecological there. We feel like stay in the heaven those days. We are especially fond of the balanced feeling between nature.

Room Tip: Beach Villa
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at Pom Pom for 3nts in mid-September. The island is beautiful and the villas fine. They are a bit dark but are spacious and comfortable except for the bed mattress which was either very old or, of inferior quality. We snorkelled from the beach and although there isn't much coral, work is in progress to culture a reef. There are some fantastic fish to be seen, especially near the jetty. We saw 6 angel fish, the largest we have ever seen, just hanging out together, they made for a beautiful sight. The turtles were the biggest thrill, to swim with them and be able to actually look into their eyes as they swam past is beyond anything we have done in the past. From our beach loungers we were able to count 5 turtles all at one time. There is good work being done with the turtle hatchery and the release of hatchling. We absolutely loved everything visual about Pom Pom and felt we could have stayed longer had the food not been so diabolical. It was the worst we have experienced anywhere. Having made this statement, it must be said that the bakery department is excellent. We existed entirely on some very basic salad (totally unimaginative), bread and cake. The breakfast was the best meal of the day. Have read that the manager speaks daily to the kitchen staff about providing a more balanced menu, they are not responding! The resort seems to cater entirely for Chinese guests but during our stay, there were many Western guests too. If the owner of the resort is happy to take the money off us Westerners then food should be provided for our palate too. Another comment on mealtimes was the Chinese children racing round the tables bumping into guests as they were carrying their plates. There seemed a total lack of parental control. Would we recommend this resort to friends? Yes, if they are prepared to tolerate all of the aforementioned, then the rest is glorious!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BritintheOrient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

After 4 days at the Borneo rainforest lodge it was nice to arrive for our second visit to Pom Pom. The transfers were once again highly organised and the chef had made us a late lunch.. We were pleased to see that the new resort manager, Stevae, had implemented a suggestion we made on our last visit; that all guests sign a form stating they understand the ecological undertaking of the Island and the punishments for ignoring these. In addition, it was also pointed out that parents should be responsible for their children at meal times.Whilst most guests accepted and adhered to these new ideas, there were still some (mainly mainland Chinese family groups) who obviously did not think it applied to them! However, the monkey's tea party that was the norm of meal times on our last visit was not as obvious.

Another pleasant change was the lack of hard sell for excursions, guests may choose at their leisure any trips without being pressured by staff. Also, as a marine biologist Stevae was always present during the hatching and release of baby turtles and he made it a very exciting,, informative and wondrous time for those present, thank you.

We appreciate that it is difficult to get food supplies to the island and in general there is a good variety of dishes to suit all tastes. Certainly Stevae has suggested new ideas to the chefs and some very tasty items appeared at meal times. Nevertheless, most dishes served are lukewarm or cold, and this is a shame. The chefs work hard to produce decent fair for high paying guests and perhaps it is a lack of good equipment in the kitchen and restaurant exemplified by the domestic toaster at breakfast,.Rather than investing in 19 new accommodation units, money may have been better spent on upgrading existing experiment, furnishings and décor to enhance and improve already existing facilities.The kitchen staff are going to have to produce more food without adequate equipment and this will be detrimental as a whole.

Although the resort could be much better considering the price, it has much to offer as a holiday destination. Turtle conservation is magnificent and the limited number of guests could also be a great selling point (if everyone would appreciate the ambience and eco-resort nature).

We would like to thank the staff for making our stay so enjoyable in particular Esa and his GPS, always having our beer on its way in the restaurant, and Rosa for her attention and kindness, We would also like to say thank you to the pastry chef for his wonderful bread, pastries and desserts.

Given the short time Stevae has been at Pom Pom, the changes he has made are only positive. Good job!It is to be hoped he will stay and continue the good work.

We look forward to seeing you again.
. . .
.

.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marciath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews