We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and great meal”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sipadan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sipadan Water Village
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great buffet meal with variety of choice - B/L/D, sometimes with a night performance.
Nice snorkeling trip with friendly guidance, overall is very clean.
However, room is without aircond, only ceiling fan, very hot at night.

Room Tip: room far away from restaurant...more privacy & quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susangmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Sipadan Water Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

have been to SWV 3 times now. it's a sanctuary i return to almost every year but the last time i visited, i noticed that the place is getting older. some maintenance would probably do them some good. water pressure was getting lower and there was some funky smell in the bathroom. of course the view and the ambiance is still something i look forward to every year.

diving was good. we spend 6 days 5 nights there and we got 2 days diving in Sipadan. i personally love diving Mabul and the house reef in front of SWV never fails to impress me. diving crew were very fun yet professional. they made the diving experience more memorable.

oh and the after diving chill out at the bar area is just priceless! :) when you are there, you truly eat, dive, drink, sleep. :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lisC_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Allister from Aquatastic handled all my inquiries professionally and assured my dive holiday at Sipadan Water Village to be seamless. Transfers from the airport to the resort was smooth. Room looks a little tired and needs a face lift. Meals was not great but good enough to fill my growling stomach after many hours in the water. Staffs were friendly and accommodating and always have the dining table reserved for my group every meal. Views from every corner were breathtaking. Wifi was slow but good enough to upload a pic or two to make my friends envy.

The Dive Center is a PADI 5 Star Dive Resort. It caters to divers of all levels and experience and offers various PADI certifications and training. Staffs, boat crews, dive masters and instructors are all professional and courteous. Andyryan who guided us for most of our dives was fun, laid back and knowledgeable in the marine ecology of that area. Unlimited house dives (Paradise 1 and Paradise 2) are located just right by the Dive Center. Dive equipment are well maintained and everything is pretty much organized. Lockers, showers, toilets and rest area with complimentary snacks, hot coffee and tea are provided. The dive sites at Sipadan has been renowned throughout the world and doesn't need to be mentioned here again.

Room Tip: Get a junior/standard semi-d chalet if you want to be near the dive center.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenixSokYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We booked two water village rooms- one ocean view the other mainland. The ocean view well worth it! Paid extra for air conditioning- so we were further from dive shop. The dive staff was very attentive and equipment rental well run. The last day of diving we got our permit for Sipadan-it was Amazing!! We also did a night dive with Ramil, i would highly recommend it. Christmas Eve dinner and staff dancing made the day extra special. The turkey, roast beef and seafood Christmas dinner was a Feast. Other meals you can ask the chef to cook you catch of the day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This is my second visit to swv after 4 years. The transport arrangements were efficient. In fact too efficient, that my request to detour to a local supermarket to get some essentials for my group of 6 in the van could not be entertained. The excuse given was there was no time (maybe the couple in the other van did not but we did and we arrived at the airport really early)

Overall, I felt that the standards had dropped a fair bit since my last visit in 2009. We were welcomed by the staff who were at the jetty but that was the end of the welcome. Admin and check in procedures were a mess and instead of gathering the few groups who were there for an update, it started off with a rude bout of attendance taking by name without even first introducing herself and explaining what was happening.

Before the admin procedures were complete, Felix the dive master introduced himself, all eager to conduct our check out dive for us as check our dives was scheduled to be at 11 am. But our rooms were not even ready and we were herded to the dive centre to prepare for dive admin without the proper assurance of where we could leave the rest of our luggage safely.

Food was a horror. The staff were very friendly and always obliged our requests. Other than that, there was always almost no food left when we walked into the restaurant after our dives, usually half an hour or an hour after meal times start. The food also tasted horrible. This is a stark difference from my experience 4 years ago. Minimally, I think restaurant should put in some effort to ensure that the buffet spread is well stocked sufficiently for the number of people staying there to prevent people from "rushing to get food" and poor guests like us who only got to pick from leftovers. It was definitely a bad experience that repeated every meal time in my 4 days stay.

Rooms were ok, I took the non air con room and appreciate that there was an additional fan. Beds were also clean. It was within my expectations except that I wished that for the type of resort swv is, daily mineral water should be provided free of charge instead.

The dive masters at the dive centre did a good job tho. Special thanks to Felix, Andyrian, Valentine and Allister, our friendly videographer.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank dinnosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Went with a group of 10 divers. It was booked for a week as an all inclusive. This included 3 dives a day. The price I thought was comparable to other week long dive resorts. The village is out over the water with wonderful views. It is an older resort which I found part of the charm. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The dive masters were attentive and all PADI certified to my knowledge. They also did provide resort course dive certification. We went to several different sites including Mabul, Kapalai and Sipadan islands. The types of megafauna included large hawksbill and green turtles, Reef and Whitetiped sharks, ray, etc. All in abundance as well an a multitude of fish species. Large schools of big eyed jacks, barracuda, and most exciting to me were the huge bumphead parrotfish. Many different nudibranchs, blind black shrimp and gobies, eels, etc. Most of the coral appeared relatively healthy in comparison to the Caribbean.
I liked most of the food and we enjoyed several off regular menu items for a minimal extra fee, such as stone fish, grouper, prawns, etc. There were plenty of vegetarian items, Asian and Western foods seasoned accordingly.
Wine is expensive as in all of Malaysia. However alcohol was available at additional cost.
In general I had a very good experience there. Also noted that there was an enclosed snorkeling area that was safe, interesting and accessible for those who do not dive also free wifi in the lounge.

Room Tip: Depends if you want to be close to the dive shop or diningroom and bar.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andi150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

At the Dive Centre, there is a big board read "5 Star PADI Dive Resort". I utterly disagree with the signage given that the resort layout, service level, food, and staffs for the matter are terribly disappointing given that it should be a 5 star resort. Me and my friends were allocated the last chalet, which is very far away from the dining area, dive centre and snorkling centre. Understand that that pretty much depending on luck but the layout is terrible. Food variety hardly varies throughout the 5 days 4 nights stays, the staffs blocked off the entrance to the dining area when the area should be opened for meal for their preperation, eventhough the meal time had started, with no urgency noted. Staffs are obviously not trained to be a 5 star resort staff, communication between staffs were seen shouting accross bridges. Staffs were hardly seen with a smile. The day my group went diving in Sipadan, after the 1st dive we waited for half an hour for breakfast to arrive. No lunch were catered to the island, unlike how other resort practice, divers were brought back to resort for lunch at 2:30pm, with 3 small plates of dishes reserved for 8 very hungry divers, together with 9 plates of rice. When approached staff, she gave a cold look and replied "that's all that's left". Until further complaints were made, then only another 2 hot dishes were cooked and served to the group of divers. Overall experience with the resort was terrible, will never consider going back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dareal Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sipadan
28.7 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
409 reviews
16.0 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
274 reviews
14.6 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#9 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seahorse Sipadan Scuba Lodge
14.2 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sipadan Water Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sipadan Water Village

Address: Tawau, Pulau Sipadan 91031, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Price Range: £274 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sipadan Water Village is a resort built entirely over the water on stilts. In its design, Sipadan Water Village has achieved near utopia in its layout, splendid water cottage accommodations with flowered sidewalks, wonderfully prepared Asian and Continental cuisine, and impeccable and personable service! The dive program is comparable to none as everyone at Sipadan Water Village has an attitude and passion for what the sea has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sipadan Water Village Hotel Pulau Sipadan
Sipadan Water Village Pulau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing