We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and worth to visit again.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sipadan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sipadan Water Village
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely place and worth to visit again.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The floating resort on stilts is very cozy and calm. The staff are friendly and it's very comfortable. I would definitely recommend diving and snorkeling there. A lovely place that I would wanna visit again some time in the future.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    68
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
22
71
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Definitely a must-visit place in the world !
Thumbs up to all the staff from the ground, resort and snorkel guides. A unique turn-down experience during dusk, where they turn on the mosquito repellent.
Go for a fullboard package that inclusive of snorkeling trip to Mabul & Kapalai.
The house pool and & reef at its best too.
The opportunity to is Sipadan beyond words, when you able to see Barracuda and Turtles right in front your eyes. weeeeeeeee

Room Tip: If you travelling with friends and family that require 2 rooms side by side, kindly request for M101...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DayerqHidayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the resort. The atmosphere was much better than at the waterbungalows. At the restaurant it was more lively and we had a swimmingpool. The food was good and snorkeling great especially Sipidan. The houses were great.

Room Tip: A room near the restaurant is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misterBigP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The only thing we like about this resort is the diving center and excellent staff there

The room, despite being very spacious and boasts an amazing view, seriously needs refurbishment, especially the bathroom. Water has some smell and salty taste i.e. not clean enough! My friend and I had rash during our stay and we suspected it's because of the water

All guests at hotel are on full-board basis and buffet-style meals are included. We find the food below average and there are not enough for everyone! If you get to the restaurant, say more than 1 hour after they start serving the meal, very little is left for you to choose.

Warning:
- terrorist attacks in Semporna area have been frequent in recent months. We were not aware about this before we booked. Only to find out during our stay when we heard gunshots on one night and saw the news online the next day that neighbor resort (Mabul Water Village) was attacked.
-As the result of recent attacks, self diving after 6pm is suspended

Room Tip: we stayed in room S112. The room isnear the end of the resort so it is quite far from the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bulega B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Sipadan Water village refuse to acknowledge an extraordinary terrorism situation with the attack on Mabul island last week.

Both Malaysian and international governments have issued travel advisorys to this island and the East coast of Sabah as a whole forcing fully paid up guests to have no choice but to cancel already paid for reservations.

Neither Suri or the manager Amy would acknowledge the extraordinary and very sad and dangerous situation facing tourists to their resort where they acknowledge they are unable to garantee the safety of their guests.

Nowhere in their "cancellation" policy is any mention made of terrorist events and they insist on charging 23% 'admin' fee on the cancellation of our booking (usd 4000 worth of accommodation).

We feel that at most a 5% admin fee is warranted however in these terrible circumstances anything more cannot be justified as many of the charges are for the use of transport and diving equipment, none of which we would have used.

Be aware of this resort and their complete lack of pragmatism with respect to cancelations during an extremely unsafe time for people visiting the island.

Malaysia is suffering from a terrible Image internationally, these types of experiences do little to help.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Trapperb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I came to Mabul Island knowing well that a 5 star PADI resort isn't 5 stars in the traditional sense. And this resort isn't. But for divers it's top notch.

The dive crew are awesome--a large team of dive masters, boatmen and support staff. They're excellent at finding things on the bottom and great to deal with. Aside from nearby Sipadan, the local diving around Mabul and Kapalai is also very good--including the house reefs. But Sipadan is in a league of its own--stunning coral, tons of sharks, turtles, and all sorts of fish. Interestingly we saw more cephalapods around Mabul itself!

The rooms are rather nice. We were in the second most expensive category so we had a large overwater bungalow--EVERYTHING here is over the water, none of the resort is on land--with a large private deck and bathroom with tub and shower (most only have showers; the super deluxe rooms have hot tubs but no a/c). We had a/c, but needed the ceiling fan as well. Rooms serviced daily, beds comfortable, small fridge in the room too.

The weak bit? The food, though it did improve over time. Lots of empty carbs, a mix of Chinese, Western and Malay. Staff tried to be responsive but for an 8 day stay it was at times tedious. The biggest issue was breakfast: staff sometimes rocked in at 630 (for a 6am start); sometimes there were eggs and sometimes not. Ditto dry cereal. When you need to be on a boat for 615 or 7 this just doesn't work. Wherever you stay on Mabul be aware: your accommodation is almost certainly you only choice for food. Wifi in the lobby isn't great at peak times: grab a MyMaxi or Celucom SIM for your phone or tablet--there's coverage in the lobby of the resort.

Would I come back? If it was easier to get to (flight to Kota Kinabalu, then another flight to Tawau, then an hour minibus, and 45 minute speedboat journey) perhaps. Diving is totally worth it.

Room Tip: Book a Sipadan room rather than a Mabul room. Mabul rooms overlook the poor village and are in the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JawnBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Relax, warm, snorkeling, eat & sleep, that's heavenly!!! You can dive or snorkeling anytime from 7am to 5pm at resort vicinity. Meal provided was buffet style, I think weekend's meal would be more variety. The instructors in resort are friendly and encouraging. A great place to just blank yourself and have a good re-charge time as well as temporary escape from work.

The resort is actually kinda old, lack of maintenance, low water pressure for bath. But still, I just love that place so much. The crystal clear water is already worth the visit!!! We also get chance to visit Pulau Sipadan for snorkeling. 3 giant sea turtles swim close enough for me to touch them!!! That's was not an ordinary stuff!!!

As a conclusion, this is a place that you must visit once in a lifetime.

Room Tip: Stay away from the dive center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KazuyaCheang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sipadan
28.7 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
397 reviews
16.0 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
265 reviews
14.6 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#8 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
75 reviews
14.2 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sipadan Water Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sipadan Water Village

Property: Sipadan Water Village
Address: Tawau, Pulau Sipadan 91031, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sipadan Water Village is a resort built entirely over the water on stilts. In its design, Sipadan Water Village has achieved near utopia in its layout, splendid water cottage accommodations with flowered sidewalks, wonderfully prepared Asian and Continental cuisine, and impeccable and personable service! The dive program is comparable to none as everyone at Sipadan Water Village has an attitude and passion for what the sea has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sipadan Water Village Hotel Pulau Sipadan
Sipadan Water Village Pulau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing