We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sipadan Kapalai Dive Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$554
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Seaventures Dive Rig(Pulau Sipadan)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
367
143
32
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
143
32
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive resortfishsea breezemarine lifeno air conartificial islandchinese touristswatched turtlesprivate terraceplace is beautifulmilitary presencebuffet stylefull capacitylunch and dinnersea snakeskota kinabaluan aquarium
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2008

We stayed at Kapalai for 7 days, 6 nights and really have had a great time. The food was very good, diving was of course great. I would for certain recommend this resort to other people.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Milus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2008

Amazing place the welcome and hospitality was second to none and the diving best ever so far for me. a must for anyone wanting to experience quality diving must say again amazing

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
1  Thank redchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2008

Spent two weeks diving in Sipadan area, Did not want to spend all the time at one resort so did a week at Kapalai & a week at Sipadan Water Village.
Kapalai beat SWV for:-

1) Food, plenty of it, always fresh & a good selection.
2) Dive master’s tended to be slightly better at finding the smaller stuff.
3) Hotel better laid out & was a lot shorter walk from room – dining room- dive centre than SWV. Important cos it can get hot around lunchtimes.
4) Rooms were excellent, no air con, but again you don’t need it. Very comfortable.
5) Plenty of hot water, never seemed to run short, but have seen comments on here about it.
6) The place is immaculately clean & credit to all the staff who always seem to be cleaning & getting rid of rubbish by recycling / sending it to the mainland.
7) The majority of dive sites away from Sipadan are around Kapalai so it is only a short 5 -10 minute boat ride away. The other resorts tend to come over to this area for diving, so a good recommendation.


Now for the bad stuff
1) the internet can get expensive if you need to check emails on a daily basis.
2) Tried to watch a DVD one night relaxing, but had to call on receptionists help as they did not have enough leads to connect TV – DVD – Sat system. Also had to borrow batteries to get the remotes to work. Small stuff I know, but annoying.
3) There are no happy hours, so even a couple of drinks can start to get expensive.
4) Can’t buy single shots of alcohol, fancied a Whisky one night & was told I had to buy a bottle.
5) Boats tended to be full 11-12 divers, with 1 dive master, however we were stopping to take photos & the rest just tended to swim off. After the first day, we were paired with other photography divers & the boat was a lot less crowded. Again only cos we complained.
6) During the welcome briefing told that all our dive equipment would be looked after. Went back to it, for our afternoon dive to find it was exactly where we had left it.
7) Wetsuits left out to dry after the last dive were just thrown in a heap on the floor. Everybody fighting to find their own suit in the morning. We complained about the way the staff looked after the gear & the manager did go down. It did improve for the last few days. SWV are very well organized in this department with lockers & wet suit hangers all marked
8) Staff never smiled until the last day, could be that they were glad to see the back of us though.

If Kapalai ran the dive side of the operation like SWV then it would be the best by far.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LukChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2008

Its a fantastic little dive resort. Amazing how it just appears in the middle of the Celebes Sea. There is no shore - literally everthing is on wooden stilts.

The facilities/amenities are good enough. No air conditioning but you dont need it. When the wind/tropical thunderstorm comes, you can hear all the wooden shutters rattling. But great experience!

Food is inconsistent (the only downside). Sometimes good, sometimes not. If you are planning to go, advise to bring some biscuits/crisps if you get munchy at night.

Not a place for children. Dangerous if they fall over the wooden railings and right into the sea! Great for honeymooners and couples looking to spend quality time together. There's no TV in the room (but theres a TV room). There's WIFI so bring your laptop if you must. Cellphone and blackberry reception is great for a place in the middle of nowhere.

Absolutly beautiful! would def go back.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BruneiBabyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

Kapalai is one of the most beautiful places on earth and I feel so lucky to have spent time there.

It has all been said by previous reviewers , the over water bungalows are beautifully appointed and designed. The bathrooms hav viewing platforms so cleaning your teeth watching ( or being watched by) sting rays is pretty amazing.
Turtles were frquent visitors to the resort at night.

I don't dive (yet) but had an amazing time snorkelling .There were scores of turtles and reef sharks all incredibly relaxed with people.

Some previous reviewers commented about the food and felt that it was not so good. I really disagree and feel that it could not have been bettered ! The very best use was made of fab local ingredients , fresh veggies lightly steamed or stir fried , a couple of salad dishes and a couple of great fish dishes for lunch or dinner.

Kapalai is unmissable. I skipped going back to a resort in KK and flew straight back to London from here. Was so pleased to have done so .

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews