We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly and helpful staff”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sipadan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borneo Divers Mabul Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We just stayed there for 4 nights and have 3 full day dive with their arrangement.

Everyday they got different food variety and all is delicious. Infinite drinks and cookies and bread are good for hungry divers too.

Diving equipments are in good condition for rental and they have good dive masters. We followed dive master Emily and Gene for total 11 dives. Underwater video taking service makes the diving trip memorable to us and the video is our best souvenir of the trip.

Overall all the staff are very friendly and feel touching when everybody say goodbye when we got on the boat leaving.

Room Tip: Book direct with them and get Sipadan License with them is much more valuable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kotzekai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Great room, decent food, lovely beach and jetty.
diving around Mabul is pretty good, although not remarkable. Sipidan is amazing and Mabul offers a great base. it's a little pricey but it is a great location so probably understandable.

Room Tip: ask EVERYDAY for spare Sipidan passes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stay here 6 days 5 nights and have 4 days divings. We love the resort's arrangement for everything. Before departure I get lots of negative comments here and feel we made wrong design, but don't they are true anymore from the first day. Yes its shower is terrible, but I've ever seen much worse in some island in Palau, all is because everything needed supplied from main island, so I think it's ok. Food is good and changed everyday, fruit, coffee, cookies, all are enough for your diving and resting time. There is even BBQ one night. Unless you don't like half of dishes are Chinese style, or you are unfriendly to some country people, I can't image any reason you don't like this resort, especially after you walk through other region like Scuba Junkie beside.
住在這邊很滿意,沙灘維護地比周遭好,3夜以上就保証有一個西巴丹島許可証,比其他飯店多,潛水器材維護地不錯,自備器材的情形也會幫你注意,不必擔心失竊。中餐多適合華人的胃口。

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank court0043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Borneo divers resort could be great, but it is not. They have a nicer beach location than the other resorts in the area, their rooms are big, and the buildings for the bar, restaurant and dive center also have great potential. Unfortunately it doesn't seem the place has a management. Our bathroom was in terrible condition (stained floor, bad smell, not even a shower curtain so each shower turned the bathroom into a swimming pool), it looked very simple to fix if someone cared to do it. Same goes to many other aspects of the hotel, food was acceptable but many dishes were served already cold, how hard is it to correct that problem?
The diving in Sipadan (and Mabul) was great as we expected, the dive masters and boat captains did their best for a great experience. But for me the boats were missing a proper place for cameras (water tank), again something simple to provide if management cared to do it. I also need to mention that a piece of my wife's equipment (a nice dive bandana she got in Palau) went missing during the night, so their storage facility is not safe.
We would not stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms look the same from the outside and when we complained of the condition (smell) of our bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PauloK1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights, had a great time, would recommend to others.
The dive guides were great and knew their sites.
Had a diver with suspected DCS. The support was very professional with the injured diver being evacuated to the mainland. They provided 24/7 support for him during his stay in hospital.
Beach bar is the place to be at night, with a fantastic band playing on the last night.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WannerooPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We spent only three days at the Borneo Divers Mabul Island Resort and were really happy to leave the place. The room was clean but not worth the money. The bathroom looked more like that of a cheap hostel. The staff doesn't have to care much about their customers because demand for Sipadan dives is big. We asked to change the date to go to Sipadan for personal reasons but management said no without even trying to make a phone call or shift people to other days. So we missed Sipadan. Jetty riff is ok, but other riffs are really disappointing. Safety is a concern. We went diving with Barry as divemaster and while we weren't that fast in going down he just disappeared with another diver - leaving four divers including myself somewhere under water. The briefing was so bad that my husband and I just followed the reef for 20 minutes, turned back and finished the dive after 30 minutes. The two other divers that were with us had to interrupt and waited for the boat for 20 minutes. Then the food was the worst part... Cold after 10 minutes. Moreover cooking practice does seem to follow basic rules of hygiene. My husband and I both got upset stomachs and had to live on plain rice for several food after our trip to Borneo. So overall a very disappointing experience, wouldn't recommend the resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I took a group of 24 to this resort in July this year. The booking process was smooth-many thanks to Yong in the KK office for your patience and understanding.

During our stay we were well looked after by Ramesh, LJ and others. The food was good and plentiful and the staff went out of their way to help us. One of our party became ill during the trip (no fault of the resort) and the resort quickly arranged his transfer to hospital in Semporna. Not only this they arranged for a member of staff to run errands for him and help out whilst he spent two days in hospital. They also arranged hotel accomommodationn for him when he was released. Nothing was too much for them.

The diving was excellent and everything was professionally managed from equipment rental to camera charging stations and wash facilities. If you wanted a longer dive it was possible. I did several dives in excess of an hour. Yes there may be some rubbish around the beaches, this is no different in remote places such as Lembeh in Indonesia. This is not the fault of the resort it is a whole island issue.

Overall our group were extremely happy with our stay and we will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urbanrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sipadan
28.9 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
414 reviews
16.1 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
279 reviews
0 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
76 reviews
16.2 mi away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#10 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Divers Mabul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Divers Mabul Resort

Address: Mabul Island, Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Price Range: £174 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the East Coast of Sabah, just off the coastline of Mabul Island, Borneo Divers Mabul Resort is passionate in showcasing the best of Borneo’s beautiful and lush marine life to the world. Mabul is arguably one of the richest single destinations for exotic small marine life anywhere in the world. The reef is on the edge of the continental shelf and the seabed surrounding the reef slopes out to a depth of 25 to 30m. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borneo Divers Mabul Island Hotel Pulau Sipadan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing