We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Dives @ Borneo Divers with minor issues caused by other divers”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sipadan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borneo Divers Mabul Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed from March 17-20, 2014, as it's during the Easter holiday it was required to stayed 4 nights in order to guarantee 1 day @ Sipadan. The time of stay was quite close to the kidnapping that happened in Tawau earlier which my friends might find it disturbing that I was still willing to go. There is a police station next to the resort and staff sleeps near the front of the resort while our cottages are in the back. Honestly if there is something bad is to happen, I am sure that no one can stop it but then at least it's good to know that some sort of "security" is nearby.

Overall, there is really no issues with the DMs/diving there. The lower rating is simply the experience with the dive group from Diving Express Hong Kong (refer below of details). Wifi is extremely weak and we were unable to contact on the last 2 days we were there. Wifi is only available at the dinning area and not elsewhere within the island. Do note that it's an island you are staying so if you need anything special -- like medicine or snacks, you will have to bring those with you. BTW, when checking in at Sipadan, we saw that Borneo seems to be among the few that have the most permits to dive -- 17 permits per days vs some resorts only have few per day

The room itself is nothing to rave about. It was your basic beds, table, a bathroom, mainly 2 sides to each cottage. Walls are thin but you have sufficient hot water and despite the room is basic; I appreciate the cleanliness of it. Rooms were cleaned and towels changed everyday and they did at good job in tidy up the place. Floors were mopped everyday in my room so no stickiness from the salt water/sand.

Food @ the place is not as bad as what some have mentioned. They do have varieties everyday; however it might be quite similar to some guests as it's really mainly Asian food but I find it to be ok for all the days I was there. The only thing is that if you care for ice-cream at night after dinner, you will just have to buy it ahead of time at the gift shop and bring it to the dinning hall and asked them to store it for you; as the dinning hall doesn't sell ice-cream and gift shop closes at 8pm.

Snacks & basic drinks (tea, coffee, juice, water) provided at the sun deck which faces the Seadventure. However, you will need to bring your own towel if you need to use one there or use the same one that was given to you on boat. Make sure you remember where to put it when leaving the boat for your dives as we have problems mixing it with other divers.

The DMs were all excellent and very acknowledgeable. I get to dive with 2 different DMs during my time there. Obviously Sipadan is a place not to miss with excellent dive sites and lots to see. DM Sorian is young, quite new as a DM but extremely funny and energetic with lots of expressions even underwater! He is really good in pointing out the micro stuff and to allow you time to take pics. Brian on the other hand is very experienced. We definitely plan to go back again to dive with them.

The only thing during this trip will be:
(1) We got signed up for the 5:30am Sipadan dive while there was another group starting at 9:00am. When we asked the receptionist why at 5:30am; she only informed us that it was to "see some special fish". The choice of whether we want to see it wasn't even given to us. Simply because some group of divers want to see the fish, thus they have also put us in. We requested to change and ended up at the 9am group instead.
(2) We have requested to dive more than 1 day at Sipadan and was told that "yes, if slots free up". However, there was no waiting list visible; thus we have no idea how they decide which divers to allow the extra permits. At the end, we didn't end up diving there more than the scheduled 1 day
(3) Our stay was during Easter holidays and thus the place was quite crowded. There were various group of divers from Hong Kong but specifically some very bad experience with a group from Diving Express in HK. The divers are rude and cursed very loudly in Chinese at the dinning hall. As I do understand Chinese, I was quite shock at what they were saying so loudly about. And at the end of my stay, 1 diver was pouring water on his friend (who happened to be standing on of the stairs, smoking and feeding fish with bread. Seems like he have no issues about dropping the cigarette ash into the ocean) and happened to be very near us and have gotten us a little wet. So I have just warned them to not get us wet as we were in our plain clothes, sitting to wait for our boat to leave the island. This Hong Kong guy seemed pissed and immediately started cursing loudly and calling me names -- all of course in Chinese while his group of divers did not bother to say 1 word to stop him. The curses were very low-class which will related something like "motherfxxxxx". This continued for 15 mins until I stood up and started screaming back at him in English; it was only then that his friend pulled him away BUT his group which involves the DM from Diving Express continued to sit there and kept their mouth shut. So disappointed that Bureno Divers will allow such dive group in their hotels which simply have no respect for the ocean or other divers. I will NEVER recommend to dive there again if I know the same group from Hong Kong will be there. Of course, I have provided a written feedback to Borneo Divers but no reply from them on this incident.

Highly recommended diving with the DMs and staying at Borneo Divers if you get a chance. Sipadan is really not a place to miss!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

4th time staying/diving with Borneo Divers this April.

Dives. Still the top in the world. No question asked for the DMs, they know their stuffs and try to give their best to meet your expectation.
Some of the comments i read regarding going to the same sites. Come on, is the best site, you cant simply cover everything within that 45mins dive cos there are so much more to offer! Or you rather go different sites and see nothing? Then you will complain why you are brought to the site. right?

Food. Some commented that food are average. To be honest, Borneo Divers served quite a variety of food range from seafood to poultry and menu changes EVERYDAY. and the food is good, and they refilled whenever is running low. I LOVE THE FOOD.

Rooms. They are clean, but i do agreed that the toilet need much attention.

I'm in no relation with Borneo Divers at all and my comments are genuinely my own. But i do see some bad comments on food and limited dive sites which i think it doesnt justify.

Well, i am not being biased, but if you wanna think i am. Okie. Maybe i am but they totally deserved it. They will be the only operator i dive in Sipadan.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonnesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

After diving with another company on the island and that being a disaster it was refreshing to dive actual professional who know what the customer wants and needs, these guys were great the diving was the way it is supposed to be.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shebabaz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Wonderful experience overall. Dive guides were very friendly and knowledgeable. Sipadan was incredible to dive. We were there for the 4 nights / 3 days package which only includes one day at Sipadan, but we expressed interest in diving Sipadan more and we were able to dive there all three days. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a couple, make sure to request a queen size bed in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 42Chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We were there from 3/13-3/17. Everything was arranged when we booked the hotel on their official website. Basically all you need is to be there, you can rent the equipments in the resort, have three meals per day, really don't need any cash on hand. The last day, our boat for departure is at 11am, so they offer light lunch before we left. Everything there was perfect arranged and scheduled. We really enjoyed our vacation in Borneo resort. Our dive master was Sorian, he's a very delightful person, nothing in hurry always looking for something small but special, we did enjoy our every moment of diving. The foods in the resort were better than expected, staffs were also nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelynliu625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had 2 requirements when booking our dive holiday... With Serena from Asian dive vacations - Air conditioning & good diving! WE GOT BOTH!
Sipadan Island proved to have so much on offer!!! The visibility was great to view the abundance of amazing corals, fish, turtles & creature species with kaleidoscope of colours. Brilliant wall, swim, cavern & drift dives. "Barracuda Point" is renowned for its schools of fish and it was just like Grand Central Station.
We dived 3 days out of 5 at Sipadan as they are the original resort they have been allocated more dive time on the Island than the other resorts. Probably why it was a little more expensive.
The accomodation is average, bed & room very comfortable, but bathrooms are old & smell of bore water, not pleasant but we felt the incredible diving was worth putting up with a few odors....
The staff were wonderful & always keen to assist when asked for anything. Special mention to our Dive masters Willie & Lionel with Captains Juman & Sing.
We did 2 house dives, one by day & an awesome night dive. The area was teaming with curious critters, lovely corals, turtles & lots of species of fishes.
Slow down & enjoy The muck diving at Kapalai Island, some gorgeous macro photography to be had with an abundance of little critters also featuring massive Eric & Erica the resident Moral Eels.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Karla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Not worth the money. The rooms and food are average. The hotel staff is not very helpful. I also found the main office very challenging and unhelpful to deal with. When I was booking I had to send 3 e-mails. Just to get a reply after 5 days. Diving off the dock is one of the best tune up dives I have seen.I will give kudos to the dive masters who were knowledgeable and professional. The dive scheduling needs some work as you repeat the same muck dives. I did 11 muck dives but at only 6 different sites (5 of them off the dock). Which is disappointing. You can do far better for your money. My suggestion would be to book day trips to Sipadan out of Semporna instead of staying at the resort. The muck diving is great for one day but it gets old quick. Sipadan is where you want to be. Save your time and money and just go straight there.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank IronLynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sipadan
28.9 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
414 reviews
16.1 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
279 reviews
16.2 mi away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Sipadan Mangrove Resort
0.1 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#10 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
Spheredivers Scuba & Leisure
#11 of 11 in Pulau Mabul
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Divers Mabul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Divers Mabul Resort

Address: Mabul Island, Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the East Coast of Sabah, just off the coastline of Mabul Island, Borneo Divers Mabul Resort is passionate in showcasing the best of Borneo’s beautiful and lush marine life to the world. Mabul is arguably one of the richest single destinations for exotic small marine life anywhere in the world. The reef is on the edge of the continental shelf and the seabed surrounding the reef slopes out to a depth of 25 to 30m. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borneo Divers Mabul Island Hotel Pulau Sipadan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing