We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Borneo Seaview Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$14
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$44
US$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$44
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$30
US$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NAK Hotel(Sandakan)
US$50
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sanbay Hotel(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$24
US$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sandakan(Sandakan)
US$39
US$25
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$38
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
78
49
16
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
49
16
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewbudget hostelprivate roombackpackersdormborneojamjungle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hostel for a few nights and it was a great experience. We received a warm welcome from the owner and she told us all we needed to know about the area and excursions. We went on a river and firefly tour and it was beautiful to see the landscape and animals during sunset. The food and lemongrass curry at the hostel was very tastefull. Thank you and greetings from dany and Josh from Holland.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danyandjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was travelling with 3 friends, and we only needed a place for one night so we booked the sea view. I was surprised at how good the place was for the price. Seaview was fine, conveniently located and easy to find (just look for the four seasons next door). All of the staff were really friendly. The receptionist gave us some ideas on what to do for the afternoon. The breakfast pancakes were good. We shared a quad room (one double bed and two single beds, bunk style). Air con worked well. Wifi was up and down, but worked well most of the time. We had a shared bathroom, and the hot shower was ok. The beds were comfy and we all slept well. A little bit of dust here and there in the room, but nothing to worry about. This was great value for the price paid. The hotel was able to arrange transfers to the airport with some sightseeing along the way, also priced very reasonably. We'd stay here again next time we are in Sandakan, even if it was for more than one night.

Room Tip: We got a room with a window and it was nice to watch the goings on at the market across the road.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spikeyspikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Sea view must be the best place to stay for backpackers in Sandakan! Nabistol the manager makes sure your stay is full of options, no hassle and with a warm heart. Her knowledge and advice is also key. She runs her own adapted tours which are like no others: we did the Fireflies and river cruise the second day. About 4 hours which was amazing, to see Fishermans village then loads of proboscis monkeys and fireflies in one visit was amazing. She also comes along to give you advice . We all even got fed her local dish when back the hostel as part of the package, delicious too!
We will be booking the 3 day rive cruise to Kinabatangan .
Make sure you stay here! Her food is also the best we have are in Malaysia, her pumpkin curry is to die for.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RichGill31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Awesome river cruise and tasteful local homemade potato plus the pumpkin curry for dinner is so delicious. Staff are very nice and helpful. Fast n free Wifi. Worthwhile unforgettable experience to spend my time & as present for my coming birthday hehe..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodeyagut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Nabustal and her team were amazing hosts. The food and healthy options tasted great. We only stayed one night as stop over before kinabatagan river tour. They helped us check out sepilok before heading to the tour. All for reasonable prices.
Rooms are clean and comfortable.
No bed bugs.
If we had more time we would have organised our excursions through them.
Shower pressure...amazing! Hot and cold.

Thanks again.

Marc and Vanessa

Malta

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Caso26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews