We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the mind, body and soul!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for the mind, body and soul!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed in this hostel a month or two ago - after staying for one night booked another one immediately. The food was the highlight, with Nabastul's lemongrass, coconut and pumpkin curry being the best thing we ate on our trip. Good vibes all round!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    48
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
10
46
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights in April 2014 in a double ensuite room. The room was ok but probably could do with a refurb because it was quite dated. We woke up in the middle of the night to the aircon dripping on our faces we informed the staff and they sent someone to have a look at it and offered for us to change rooms etc Breakfast is really tasty and you can buy more pancakes at a minimum cost if you are still hungry (which we did)

The pumpkin curry with lemongrass infusion is very tasty and we enjoyed sitting in the restaurant playing some of the free board games and drinking the iced lemongrass tea.

We booked the firefly trip with Nabistul and saw probiscus monkeys, fireflies and the ocean was glowing with bioluminescent phytoplankton. Only downside of this tour is that no information is provided about the bugs/animals. It's not really a tour, in a sense you are just getting a lift with the hostel owner and seeing things. That being said you are seeing amazing things!

I would agree with other reviewers in saying Nabistul can be a little pushy with tours etc.. However she is very helpful and a friendly personable woman.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel89893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Nabistul who runs this budget hotel makes the whole experience. She can help you find whatever you are looking for. She knows her way around the area and she really wants you to like your trip to Sandakan. We followed her on the trip to water willage and she has her own little twist on it compered to others. The rooms are simple but it is often how you are tratef that counts. And this place is more lkke a home away from home then an overnight stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maajja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sablayan, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Me and my brother stayed here for a few days and it was really comfy, easy and relaxed. Staff was friendly and helped us book a trip to Kinabatangan River. They have a really nice place on the top floor where you can hang out and read and drink some coffee or eat their secret recipe pancakes

Recommended!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linapacan, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our stay here started off with a very warm welcome from its owner, who likes to chat with guests in the lobby and make sure everything is perfect. The guitar hanging on the lobby wall was put to great use numerous times and made us feel just right at home!

Room Tip: We took the ensuite dorm with own toilet and were quite satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Staff are friendly - though the owner can be a bit pushy with her tours. Wifi was up and down. TV didn't really have any reception.

We had a private ensuite room and it was really disappointing - mostly because it was filthy. The drainage grill in the bathroom was full of hairs, there were 2 used (and I mean very used) soaps on the side, the toilet was still stained from where the last person had used it; and around, above and below the bed were heavy cobwebs. The aircon was thick with grime. There is no top sheet on the bed to sleep under, only an old smelly blanket that needs incinerating. I'd love to know the last time that was washed.
Generally as you walk around the place it feels quite dirty, apart from in the restaurant which is the only part that feels clean. Because of this we did have the included breakfast (we weren't going to given the filth everywhere else) - a very tasty pancake with syrup though it's a bit measly to only serve one. Better off either not serving a free breakfast or sticking an extra one in, it probably only costs them about 5 sen to make.
We left after one night and moved 3 doors down the road to the Marine Bay - exactly the same price (though admittedly no breakfast) for a modern, super clean room with kettle, coffee, drinking water and fresh, unused toiletries replaced every day. If you are looking for a dorm I can understand why you'd pick the Sea View but when it comes to a private room it needs to up its game.. and invest in some bleach.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NabistulMislia, Manager at Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Our Valued Guests,

It was rather unfortunate that you both did not enjoy your stay at Sea View Hostel.

We thank you for the feedback and we have acted accordingly. .
We had a small problem with our contract cleaners and we have now found a new company to undertake the contract. If you had come to us and reported your problems, we could have rectified the problems and possibly compensated you with an upgrade.
Again I apologise that you were not one hundred percent satisfied with your stay at Seaview. All the best on your future travels, Nabistul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

First of all, we had one of the best experience of our lives at this hostel. But i am not going to mention it het but i am gooing to give you all the tings you need to know.

The place :

Situated in the center of town
For a budget the place is verry clean especially for Sandakan norms.

The food :

The manager is foodie, and she loves good food and talks a lot about it! So expect to eat some good food.

The prices are allso good.

Tours and info :

Borneo is mostly about the tours and its hard to do something without it. But this place is the only one who gives you the option to rent a motorbike so you can travel on your own, or even rent a car.

Allso we booked a tour from the manager herself who allso whent allong herself to make sure everything was in order and it was amazing verry good and usually we DONT like tours. The prices are allso a lot more cheap then other places....


So in the end you can expect an honoust treatment from the heart, good food, bikerental ( only place) and overall cheap prices.

Ty for our stay and treatment from the manager and allso ty a lot Hamidi for the help and being such a wonderful man and bringing joy to our lives

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrbievers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
1.4 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Sandakan
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sandakan
Hotel Sandakan
#11 of 32 in Sandakan
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel

Property: Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel
Address: Lot 126 Harbour Square 14 Jalan Dua | opposite Sandakan Central Market, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia (Formerly Sunset Harbour Botik Hostel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm and views of Sulu Sea can be enjoyed at Sea View Sandakan Budget and Backpackers Hotel. Upon arrival, guests are welcomed with traditional banana fritters and a drink. Perfectly located in the heart of Sandakan Town, Sea View is on the waterfront opposite the Central Market and within walking distance of banks, ATMs, currency exchange booths, tourist attractions, convenience stores, malls and local transportation. The second largest city in Sabah, Sandakan is known as a seafood haven and a gateway to many tourist attractions. Tour packages to Sepilok Orang-utan Rehabilitation Centre, Labuk Bay Proboscis Monkey Sanctuary, Stilt House Water Village, Selingan Turtle Island Park, Kinabatangan River Cruise and Goamantong Cave can be organised through our onsite tour operator. We can also provide advice on local attractions. We have FREE WiFi, FREE traditional pancake breakfast, FREE welcome drink with traditional banana fritters, FREE towels, FREE travel and tour information, FREE lockers, book exchange, showers and a common room. Guest Facilities: For a small charge we can provide Malaysian cooking lessons using traditional family recipes (subject to chef’s availability), laundry service, foot & arm reflexology, tea & coffee making, kitchen use, printing/scanning, luggage storage and we also have a motorcycle. We can provide room service on request from our onsite restaurant which specialises in traditional family pancakes but also serves local cuisine, fresh seafood dishes and both vegetarian and non-vegetarian meals are available. Late breakfast is available and the kitchen can provide packed lunches upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing