We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
S'kan Styles Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
May Fair Hotel(Sandakan)
View Hotel
Hotel City Star(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Samila(Sandakan)
View Hotel
Hotel Lagenda(Sandakan)
View Hotel
NAK Hotel(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel London(Sandakan)
View Hotel
Hotel Sandakan(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel New Sabah(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
28
63
42
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
63
42
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbour mallnasibasic hotelbreakfast providedsimple breakfastsandakan townroom ratewet marketcentral locationper nightbuffet styleibiswifireceptionisttoilet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Riganda_Tagotorop, General Manager at S'kan Styles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Hotel located right in the city centre. We stayed 2 nights at 1st floor, with ocean view blocked by palm tree and smelly carpet along the walkway/corridor.

Though the hotel was re-branded under Ibis Style, somehow the toiletries label remains "Hotel Sandakan Waterfront". No slippers provided, toilet smells bad, and looks rather old.

Breakfast is simple, liked the fried rice.

In conclusion, it was a disappointing pricey stay. With the price paid, we would get a more comfortable stay at other business friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeeHung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riganda, General Manager at S'kan Styles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi Ms. Mee Hung,

Warmest greetings from ibis Styles Hotel, the nature city of Sandakan.

First of all, sincere apology on your disappointment stay with us. However, your comment is highly important for us to improve our service.

For your information, slipplers is upon request at Ibis Styles Hotel worldwide. Indeed, level 1 is not yet refurbish during your stay. However, we are in the midst of completing of our room renovation including changing the brand new carpet, new amenities and new room condition. Therefore, we are pleased to welcome you back for the next stay and experience the differences of our Hotel new look.

Please let us know for your future reservation with us.

Again, thank you.


Best Regards,

Riganda Tagotorop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Ibis Styles Sandakan rooms are smallish, lower floor rooms can be noisy and there is no parking. However, the staff are helpful and the waterfront location is great. Breakfast is simple and the rate competitive. All in all, basic, clean and a decent hotel to stay a night or two.

Room Tip: Waterfront views are more expensive and lower level rooms can be noisy when the streets below are busy.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riganda, Manajer at S'kan Styles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear TCK K

Warmest greeting from Sandakan, the Nature City of Sabah

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience during your stay with us.

we are glad that you finds our hotel staff and our location was pleased you. For your information, we do have other category of room such as family room and suite rooms as other options. you can log in to our website;www.ibisstyles.com or accorhotels.com.

in regards to the parking space, indeed we do not have parking space but we do provide a free jockey service to all our in house guest and guests who come for dining or functions. The cars will be parked by the jockey service in the mall located in front of our hotel.

For your information , we have just rebranded as Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront as of June 2014. As part of the ibis Family, ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront is a premium economy hotel brand under Accor hotels – the leading hotel operator in the world. It offers comfort, full facilities and family-friendly services in a colorful, bright and energetic ambience. We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Thank you

Best Regards

Riganda TOGATOROP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just having a tea break couple of days before, really have a pleasant afternoon. Love the latte, love the attentive young active guys called zamrin. Will be back to this restaurant again one day. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank IntanNuratyrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riganda, Manajer at S'kan Styles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear IntanNuratyrah,

Thank you very much for staying with us and glad to know that you enjoy our newly renovated sTREATs restaurant and your compliment to one of our staff, Jamri. We have informed him of your compliment that he pleased it.

Our sTREATs Restaurant serving up local favorites alongside Asian and international cuisines in a vibrant and friendly atmosphere – all day long. It is located at the ground floor with fantastic sea view and the guests will be stirred by every wind with the lightest breeze. Enjoy their homemade pizza while indulging in the local delicacies.

Thank you

Riganda TOGATOROP
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We only stayed here for 1 night and was pleasantly surprised that travel agencies and massage shops are just next door to the hotel. So it was convenient for us to book tours to the wildlife centres outside of Sandakan as soon as we have checked into the hotel. Later on at night, we went for a foot massage 2 doors away from the hotel which cost us only RM38 for 1 hour massage - cheap and very good massage! The hotel is currently going through renovation and a new management by the Accor Group. The deluxe seafront room we stayed in (amazing view) was still old though comfortable. Hence, I'm hoping once the renovation is completed and the hotel has settled down with new management, the hotel would have a better ambience, a modern look and feel to it. Despite some shortcomings, the hotel is centrally located in Sandakan town, convenient and definitely value for money.

Room Tip: Request for a waterfront view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riganda, Manajer at S'kan Styles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Kathleen,

Greeting from Sandakan, the Nature City

We are pleased to hear your comment and hope to welcome you back soon to our hotel to experience our new room, new lobby and restaurant. Indeed we have rebranded now as Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront as of june 2014.

Thank you

Best Regards

Riganda TOGATOROP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews