We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lodge with great "safaris" at a reasonable price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We had an excellent time at the nature lodge kinabatangan. We were warmly welcome by the staff on our arrival and they explained everything we needed to know about our stay.
The organization was very good, there were many activities throughout the day, but still leaving some time for relaxation.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, the food was good, our nature guide helped us spot all the animals we wanted to see.
The bungalow (agamid chalet) was nice, quite spacious. The only small reproach i would have is the bedsheets and towels looked dirty with many stains (altough they were clean), maybe they should change their laundry brand ;-) or maybe it's an eco-friendly product thats not so efficient... anyway it was only a detail and we would definitely recommend this place which offers much better value for money than most of the others around (we paid 550RM per person for 3D/2N + 30RM per way per person for the transfers from and to the places we wanted which was very convenient)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chtitedelph83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

I recently stayed 2N 3D in the Amagid wing with a friend. The accommodation was good value for money and we got what we expected. As there are lot of activities during the stay and you're likely to be quite tired after the trip to the lodge and the early morning boat trips, you only really are in the room to sleep. We both slept very well, so no complaints from our side, Beds were comfy and the bathroom was good as well. Good water pressure in the shower.

Other people we spoke to stayed in the dorm or Civit wing, they also seemed very happy and there weren't any complaints. Only small issue was that the mosquito screens at the windows can have some small holes, so mosquitos can get through (but I think this is not a problem specific to the Kinabatangan Nature Lodge, but something I experienced in other hotels and places in Asia as well).

The food was very good. And of course, the main thing was the nature. Our guide, Muhammed, was amazing. Very friendly and he seemed genuinely pleased when he spotted some wildlife for us. Although our group felt that we were especially lucky to have him as our guide, I think you will enjoy the tour whichever guide you're allocated to. Whenever a guide spots something and another boat is relatively close by, they make signs and point to each other, to make sure all tourists get to see the wildlife.

The boat trips were the best part of the trip. The night walks were also great, the number of animals we spotted was maybe relatively small, but even spotting 3-4 animals (frogs, birds, snakes, civet cat) during the roughly 1 hour walk was great and definitely worth going. The day walk was also nice, but more to have some excercise rather than spotting wildlife. We were made aware fo this in advance, and although it was mainly good to walk a bit, we also were happy to see some interesting plants, insects, butterflies.

Although I am 100% happy with our trip, the only thing to point out is that we were lucky to not be in the high season. During our first day only few boats were on the river. On the 2nd day, the number already doubled. Especially when you're seeing the elephants, this can seem a bit much, with more tourists than elephants. But the animals don't seem disturbed (of roughly 25 elephants, only 1 seemed a bit annoyed with us - but he was a young male so I think it had to do with him being generally in a bit of an annoyed 'teenager' mood- the elephant mothers with babies were calm, so I don't think the tourists are any harm to the elephants).
As long as you are aware of you not being the only tourists, I think you will be fine with this.

I was amazed how close you can get to the wildlife - I think it is still not well known just how much wildlife you can seen in Borneo and especially the Kinabatangan river area - I don't think there are many places were you can get so close to so many exciting animals.

On the way to the resort you might be a bit shocked to drive through miles of palm oil plantations- it was quite shocking to see just how much rain forest was destroyed. I think this makes it even more important to go to the Kinabatangan river area, to make sure this area gets saved for tourism (and therefore for the animals)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trpadv2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderYee, General Manager at Nature Lodge Kinabatangan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Thank you for your positive feed back.

We have since high lighted to our maintenance department to look into patching up the holes on the mosquito screens.

And yes, with unique place like Kinabatangan, its a real challenge for us to balance tourism and conservation. As one of the leading tour operators along this mighty river, we are part of an association (ie. www.kita.org) and work hard towards the conservation of that area. Moreover, you will be pleased to know that we actually set aside RM10 for every guests who stayed with us and pass this RM10 to KiTA with their wonderful work.

Have a safe onward travel and do help us to pass the words around. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We pre booked the 3D2N package. Although this was ever so slightly more expensive than some of the other packages on offer from other lodges, we had noticed that there was a much better itinery in terms of the number of tours and we were not disappointed. The customer service having made the booking was great in terms of organising the transfers and getting back to us with clear and timely answers.

The rooms although basic were as per the pictures on their website and nice and clean which was all we needed. The food which is included in the price was also plentiful and very good. All the staff at the Nature Lodge were very friendly and happy to help throughout.

Regarding the itinery, we had been warned by a friend that had been previously that there are other lodges near by so you would see other boats on the tour. Although this was the case, I felt our Guide did a good job by venturing off on our own where possible. Our guide helped us spot all sorts- we saw several Orangutans, crocodiles, the elephants, many types of monkies and birds to cite a few which was amazing.

The Guide Mohammed underlined that the night time walks and walk to the lake did not guarantee seeing anything as it depended on the weather and of course luck. We went with no expectations and on the first night trek saw several sleeping birds and several types of bugs. The lake walk was enjoyable and Mohammed stopped to discuss different types of plants and their uses in the tribes which was really interesting. He also pointed out butterflies, small creatures etc. The final night walk was very different and we saw scorpians, spiders, and several Tarzia monkies which was brilliant.

In summary, we would really recommend this place. I would also recommend that you stay for the longer package- as the Lodge mentions, it is a lot about luck on the day as to what you see and throughout the trip we saw everything but we definately noticed some days just birds were out, and other days were Orangutans. This is great value for money and a great experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Amagid wing and were given a great chalet over looking the river. There were only 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GemmaK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed at the agamid wing for 2D1N. As we are two adults and two children, they told that the price is the same if we squeeze in one room or book two rooms. So we booked two rooms. Also, I verifyed through email that though the room has A/C, we have to pay extra after reaching there (and they will give the remote) as their web-site only allow to book the fan rate. We checked and they quoted 50 RM per head (mmm. there is no A/c per head rather per room). Having a spent a large money (too large as compared to Sepilok), we thought that this is a way to extract money. They seems to be purposefully jamming the mobile signal so that the can get more money if you want to call. (My mobile was dead during the stay but alive when we went into the river cruise). At the reception, all i can see is price boards. Call / Internet ..

For the jungle walk we want to inquire if my kids can join as we are not sure about the difficulties. But, there is absolutely no help there from the so-called guide and they don't bother if i have any concern with the kids going to jungle walk and eventually none of us go at all.

In one of the rooms, there was blocker below the door but not in the other room. So, lizards and insects were freely running within the room and i have to chase a few lizards away and use other means to block the opening below the door.

The food was quite good though and we had a good variety of vegetarian food.

So, except for the two river boat trips, this is a normal hotel stay in a forest with huge bill. Campared to this a stay in Sepilok is much more fulfilling and value.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with young kids, please enquire things upfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nslax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderYee, General Manager at Nature Lodge Kinabatangan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Dear Lax

Thank you for your feed back.

We have since taken steps in our sales department to ensure that info about rooms with a/c and fan options are clearly spelled out.

We can also assure you that we didnt "jammed up the phone lines" as claimed in order to get more money from our valued guests. The telephone disc that we lease from the telecom cost us about RM750 per month and being in a forested area, the reception is still un reliable.

We wish you a safe on wards travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I really loved Nature Lodge Kinabatangan. It is like camping in the jungle with very basic facilities provided for you. The reward is that you are constantly surrounded by an insane variety and abundance of wildlife in an idyllic natural setting.
I stayed in a "chalet" in the civet wing. It is more accurately described as a wooden shack, with 2 cots, a cold water shower, sink, and barely functional toilet. The Agamid wing is quite a bit nicer, but I really didn't mind where I was, because the rustic charm added to the experience. The room was clean and I did not see a single insect.
The food is also very basic but more than enough to fill up.
The river cruises give the opportunity to see beautiful bird life, monkeys, orangutans, and elephants. We didn't get to go on hiking out of the lodge, on the days I was there though, because a herd of elephants was hanging nearby. So, the staff took guests out on even more river cruises, and there was always something different to see. The guide was great and very knowledgeable.
I was extra lucky when I visited: the elephant herd was on the riverbank right next to the jetty, during one of the cruises, and the day after, an orangutan was hanging out in a tree no more than 20 feet from the dining hall. Amazing.
Don't come if you want luxury. Come if you want an adventure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdmontonGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We had a wonderful time at the nature lodge, the accommodation was great. The food was varied and they had a vegetarian option. The guides were ok.

thanks,

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderYee, General Manager at Nature Lodge Kinabatangan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you for your feed back.

We are glad our service have prompted you to write back as we realised that our guests can be busy when they are travelling.

We trust you will help to pass the words around for us. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed in Nature lodge for three nights and really enjoyed our time there. The dorms and bathroom are really basic but it's all you need out there. The food was very nice and gives you a lot of choices so even vegitarians should be fine with the buffet. We had an extraordinary great guide named Helson. He had eagle eyes and spotted the animals from far away. We saw Crocodiles, Elefants, Orang Utas, Hornbills, Monitor Lizzards, Longtail Macaques, Pig tailed Macaques, Silver Langurs, Probocis Monkeys, slow lorries, Kingfisher Birds, Fly catcher Birds, a Mangosnake, a Walking stick and many other animals. The only thing I can complain about was the initial group size for the night walks. At the first night we were more than 15 people and it was not so much fun as you constantly have sb giggeling or catching a leech. On the other hand we hand we had a private walk the last night as we were the only remaining people from our group. This was great.
Bring enough Mosquito repellant and long sleeved clothes for the night walks as well as sun protection for the boat trips. Overall my stay at nature lodge was the greatest experience of my trip!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteffiB_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderYee, General Manager at Nature Lodge Kinabatangan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Steffi

Thank you for your positive feed back.

We will take note of our staff to guests ratio as far as the guides are concerned. Sometime, guests decided to join another group (with their friends) or one of our guides (which was the case when you were there) go on leave and the group can get slighty bigger.

We are glad you had an overall pleasant trip.

Take care while traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
24.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
31.2 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
654 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#7 of 29 in Sandakan
194 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
0.5 mi away
Bilit Adventure Lodge
Bilit Adventure Lodge
#10 of 29 in Sandakan
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge Kinabatangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge Kinabatangan

Address: Kampung Bilit, Sandakan, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range: £67 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nature Lodge Kinabatangan 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic chalets and dormitory rooms set in Kampung Bilit Kinabatangan, be ready to watch abundance of wildlife from the comfort of boat rides. Transfers to and fro Nature Lodge Kinabatangan and meals are included in the tour prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nature Lodge Kinabatangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan Hotel Sandakan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing