We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a well organized place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Certificate of Excellence
Weert, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a well organized place to stay”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed at the kinabatang Nature lodge for 2 nights. I slept in a dorm for 4 people. The dorms are not mixed.
The dorm, cheets, towels, toilets en shower were very clean. They cleaned the place every day.
They served breakfast, teabreak, lunch en dinner everything well organizes again. Nice food en every day different things.
They have a well arranged schedule zo that there is enough time to enjoy all there is to do.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reizigerWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    115
    40
    12
    8
See reviews for
39
156
50
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked a 3d/2n package directly by phone and stayed in a dorm room with two other guys. The room was simple but with plenty of space. The toilets/showers are in a separate block and make sure you find the one shower with hot water (especially if the weather is cooler). We arrived in the pouring rain and got completely soaked on our first boat tour. In the evening we waded through the mud on the night trek which was kind of amusing but not helpful for seeing wildlife. There were elephants right behind the resort so that was the end of night walk and of all forest trekking for the next couple of days (better safe than sorry). On the boat tours we saw elephants, orang utans, proboscis monkeys, all kind of birds, lizards, snakes, etc. - amazing! The food was really good and there was plenty of it. They also sell beer and wine and other soft drinks (and ponchos). We were traveling on to Semporna and they booked our bus ticket and made sure we got the express bus from the main road - great service. All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronaele_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejer de la Frontera, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I am as ever happy when I am in a National park or just viewing nature.
This place didn't disappoint (although the weather did). It rained A LOT. However it is the rainy season in a rainforest, so be expected.
It was too muddy for a lot of the walks for me. i wear UK size 11 shoes, so no way could I fit into the wellies provided (largest size continental 43). For one night walk, the guide tied plastic bags around my legs and i wore leech ssocks over my trainers beneath the plastic.
Anyway no probs, the highlights were the boat trips, saw everything we wanted to see (orang utans, proboscis monkeys, 3 more monkey species) and as a bonus crocs, apython, another snake and pygmy elephants as well as 5 species of hornbills.
The guides were GREAT- pleasee give them a tip at the end, a small amount to us is a big help to them.
Food was good, and coke was I think 3 Euros a can, water about the same, and beer was 7 or 8 ringits for a 330 ml can.
If you want to stay an extra day, we paid 95 ringits per person in the basic huts.It would be cheaper in a dorm and represents fantastic value. You get 2 boat trips, a night walk, day walk, all food and accomodation for about 30$. AMAZING VALUE

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunlunboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in an AC Amagid chalet. The AC wasn't a must but I highly recommend the Amagid chalets if within your budget. The schedule was great with 4 boat trips, 2 night hikes and a day hike. Our guide was amazing and we saw orangutans, proboscis monkeys, macqaues, hornbills, snakes, crocs, monitor lizards and more. The only reason I didn't give it five stars was the food. It lacked variety and flavour but fine for 2 nights. Highly recommend for the price.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseaCasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

accommodation was fine, fairly comfortable dorm room, with a fan. Food was excellent and endless. Value for money was great 335 ringet booked from Harbourside backpackers in Sandakan (cheapest I found for 3D/2N). Boat rides were amazing, saw lizards, birds, eagles, orangutans, elephants, macaques, proboscis monkeys, crocs the lot! Night walks were interesting, saw scorpions, snakes, monkeys, birds. Day trek was mainly just pure sweat, with little wildlife! The guides were great, knowledgeable, great English, and amazing spotting skills! Highly recommend this trip.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BiscuitWheelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderYee, General Manager at Nature Lodge Kinabatangan, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your positive feed back.

We are glad you have enjoyed your trip and do help us to pass the words around.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Excellent, very unusual accommodation, worth the trip to get here. Lots and lots of nature, within the accommodation, even more amazing when you get on the river. We stayed an extra night here, it seems a lot itineraries suggest you travel further down river for one night, but it's not worth it, you have everything at this lodge, and more important more time to enjoy it. Food excellent and chalets excellent. Beautiful flowers everywhere, and wonderful breakfast in the jungle. Well worth a visit, and away from the regular style of hotels, and back to nature.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

I did the 3 day 2 night trip and really enjoyed it. You really get back to the nature and the facilities are basic but what do you expect you are in the jungle! We saw lots of stuff over the three days, pygmy elephants wild
orangutans, crocodile, monkeys and lots of birds. We had two guides and one in particular was amazing. The food is delicious. This trip wouldn't be for everyone because the facilities are quite
basic, the accommodation is rustic but remember you are in a jungle. You can get leeches on you
during walks but that just adds to the fun! A couple of things I think they could improve is that they need to offer more food and greater variety. Whilst it was delicious we had the same meal on the two nights that we were there. Additionally I don't think
they should charge for the rubber boots to wear them as you really can't do the walks without them. Also please note that it isn't really a three day trip, the first day you are not picked up until midday and
the last day you leave at 10 AM, they should make this clear in the joining instructions.
Otherwise I highly recommend this trip.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riss2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
24.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
31.2 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
614 reviews
5.4 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
31.7 mi away
Nature Lodge Sepilok
Nature Lodge Sepilok
#5 of 29 in Sandakan
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge Kinabatangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge Kinabatangan

Property: Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Address: Kampung Bilit, Sandakan, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nature Lodge Kinabatangan 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic chalets and dormitory rooms set in Kampung Bilit Kinabatangan, be ready to watch abundance of wildlife from the comfort of boat rides. Transfers to and fro Nature Lodge Kinabatangan and meals are included in the tour prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nature Lodge Kinabatangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan Hotel Sandakan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing