We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We saw it all - wonderful guide!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We saw it all - wonderful guide!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

A few days ago, my wife and I retuned from a 3D/2N safari and we had an amazing time! Our guide, Aljun, was very knowledgable and knew just where to take us. We were very lucky. We saw pygmy elephants and orangutans both days, as well as proboscis monkeys, langurs, macaques, crocodiles, multiple hornbill species and a ton of cool other critters. We even found a 3M+ python near the camp and I got to help the guides catch and relocate it. Loved it!

The place is great value for the price. The food is plentiful and tasty. I felt like there were lots of activities to keep you busy, but enough down time to relax. Never bored, always enthralled by the jungle and wildlife. The management was outstanding and the place ran like a well oiled machine. They obviously know what they are doing and do it extremely well.

We had the basic Civet fan cabin and it was great. The relatively cooler nights needed no AC.

All around great experience. The highlight of our time in Borneo. Choose them and you won't be disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Oconee-Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderYee, General Manager at Nature Lodge Kinabatangan, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your feed back

We will certainly pass on your feed back to Aljun. The wildlife along Kinabatangan river is quite something and we are glad you saw a lot during your trip.

We work hard to try and conserve the place and trustfully when you next come back again, u can still experience similar sighting ;)

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    115
    40
    12
    8
See reviews for
39
156
50
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This resort is basic, but completely functional... we paid for the deluxe chalet with air con and it was value for money. The food at the lodge is adequate, although always lacking in quantity, which they would always remedy if asked. We were very lucky to sight big herds of wild elephants when on our river cruise, which did however mean we couldn't do the night walk or day time trek, however safety of guests was quite rightly the priority. OUr guide on the boat was very responsible in terms of not getting too close to animals, especially elephants - however many of the operators got far too close and then scared the animals away.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderYee, General Manager at Nature Lodge Kinabatangan, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your feed back Nicky.

For someone who has contributed a lot to tripadvisor, we feel happy to have lived up to your expectation. And yes, the elephant is also a sight to see and we are glad that you crossed their path.

Do enjoy your onward travel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My friend and I stayed at Nature Lodge for the 3D2N package in a chalet with a fan. We both studied Zoology and my friend is now a Conservation Programme Manager / Guide on a Conservation Project in South Africa so we were very selective in our choices throughout Borneo to ensure they were all environmentally as friendly and unobtrusive as possible. Nature Lodge did not disappoint. Our guide Max was brilliant and very knowledgeable. We were incredibly lucky to see more than we dared hope for. Orang Utan, Proboscis Monkeys, Tarsier, Rhinoceros Hornbill and Crocodile being just the highlights. Unfortunately, it is hard to get away from the Palm Oil Plantations anywhere in Borneo but the ones near Nature Lodge are from before the forest in the area was protected so will hopefully not spread any further there. The food and facilities were great and they catered well for Vegetarians. All round we had a great time at Nature Lodge and would recommend it highly to other travellers.

Room Tip: A fan room is sufficient, no need to bother with the extra cash for air con. Adequate catering for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemsimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderYee, General Manager at Nature Lodge Kinabatangan, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your positive feed back.

It is always a pleasure to have a zoologist visiting as they can truly appreciate the beauty of that place. And we are glad you enjoyed your stay and saw the many animals.

Thank you also for helping us to pass the words around. Max our guide will expect to be even busier ;)

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We wanted to see wildlife on the river. This was a good place to stay and the river trips were well organised and I liked our guide - however the drawback for me was that the river was not isolated enough from Palm Oil Plantations. The Palm Oil Plantations have ruined the environment of the island, and most of the wildlife has been destroyed or displaced. It is sad - as the country has become dependent on Palm Oil as an export - and it has destroyed the habitat for numerous wildlife that depend on the rainforest habitat. There are hardly any Orangutans left along the river - and instead of experiencing an undisturbed rainforest as i had hoped - in many parts of the river the Palm Oil plantations come down to the rivers edge! We drove through 2 hours of Palm Oil plantations to get to the river crossing so I assumed we could avoid plantations once on the river.
Okay - for the good part; the accommodation was good, the food was good and meals were on time. The staff were sweet, informative and organised. We did see hundreds of monkeys and birds. We also saw 2 crocodiles. We did see one lone Orangutan one misty morning. We stayed 3 days and 2 nights. We had a great time. Take mosquito repellent & sunscreen. A great adventure!

Room Tip: Stay at the back of the camp - like number 10. Far more private and picturesque. Cabins on the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snstaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderYee, General Manager at Nature Lodge Kinabatangan, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your feed back..

You will be pleased to know that just last month, our State government finally pushed thru the Act for the protection of the riparan reserve along the Kinabatangan river. It means the area 60 feet from the edge of the river now can NOT be planted. This 'corridor" will allow the wild animal walk from one forest area to another.

There are certainly a lot more can be done. The operators along the river has in fact for KiTA (www.borneokita.org) working together to protect the area.

For your stay, we actually contributed RM10 towards the works of this Association.

Thank you once again for choosing us and do have a safe onward travel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

While this place was rustic it was a great place to get out a see nature. I did see lots of wild life. I did the 3D2N packet and the civet accommodations were adequate for the price. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. I saw varies monkey species, birds, and reptiles. The boat tours were when the most animals were seen. The day hike was enjoyable though not a lot was seen. The food was ok. Healthy food was not on the menu. Overall it was a good value.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cadams805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderYee, General Manager at Nature Lodge Kinabatangan, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your feed back..

I appreciated your stay with us and do have a safe onward travel

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

If you want to see lots of wildlife, I think the river safari on Kinabatangan River is one of the easiest way. I spent 3D2N in this lodge.
They picked me up at Sepilok, then headed to the lodge, we got there by about 3:30pm. We already started our activities soon after that with a boat cruise. Saw silver leaf monkeys, long tail macaquaqe, and the famous proboscis monkeys as well, not to mention a lot of hornbills, a king fisher and other birds. During the night walk we were lucky to see a tarsier! Though it was a bit comic and sad at the same time how people pursued the little fella, and took pictures like a hoard of paparazzi.
The next day we started early with a morning cruise, where we saw salt water crocodiles! It was very cool. The afternoon walk to the oxbow lake was my favourite, being in the jungle, with all those butterflies and stick insects (and leeches too, ouch!), it was a great experience.
The accomodation is OK (I was in civet wing), and food was also ok, fine for the 600 MYR, but if I paid for the Agamid wing (1250 MYR per person), I would have been pretty disappointed. The staffs attitude is usual Malaysian: not very nice, not very hospitable, and in general the service was lacking. They could learn a lot from Indonesia and Thailand!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zsolt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderYee, General Manager at Nature Lodge Kinabatangan, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Zsolt

Thank you for your feed back.

We are concerned that you didn't find our service up to your standard and that the staff are less warm as compare to the Indonesian and Thais.

We will continue to up the standard of our services. I guess for a start, smiling more will certainly make a difference.

Do have a safe onward travel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poortugaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The nature lodge is a nice place to stay on the riverside of the Kinabatangan river. We booked a 2days/1night package and that was enough for us. We did 2 rivercruises and a nightwalk. We saw crocodiles, a wild orang oetan and lots of other wildlife. The chalets are okay, we stayed in a deluxe one. The food is not that great.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderYee, General Manager at Nature Lodge Kinabatangan, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Monique

Thank you for your objective feed back.

We have since gave your suggestion to our chef and he will be looking into improving the food.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Kinabatangan.

Warm regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
31.3 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
24.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
31.2 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
5.4 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
31.7 mi away
Nature Lodge Sepilok
Nature Lodge Sepilok
#5 of 29 in Sandakan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge Kinabatangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge Kinabatangan

Property: Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Address: Kampung Bilit, Sandakan, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nature Lodge Kinabatangan 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic chalets and dormitory rooms set in Kampung Bilit Kinabatangan, be ready to watch abundance of wildlife from the comfort of boat rides. Transfers to and fro Nature Lodge Kinabatangan and meals are included in the tour prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nature Lodge Kinabatangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan Hotel Sandakan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing