We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat, Sleep in Sandakan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel City View

Hotel City View
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel City View
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
“Eat, Sleep in Sandakan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

- 1st stay was July 2011 and 2nd stay was 31 Oct - 02 Nov but decided to extend another night as we didn't get to enjoy the room as much as we could and we were still tired after driving overland from KK. Definitely not luxurious but was good enough for us, comfy bed & good airconditioning was what we are aiming after that long drive. Some points for future hotel guests :-
- Hot shower was great when nobody flushed! haha but yeah, part & parcel of the RM60 room we paid for. We went there for the food so a good working toilet was most important as well.
- Tv was crap and cable is controlled by the staff so we learned to bring our own DVD player wherever we went.
- Had to ask for towels and bath mat >> p/s they don't know what is a bath mat, had to explain in Bahasa Malaysia what it was - Kain lap kaki i.e cloth to wipe your feet
- Kettles are not provided in the room but you can ask reception for hot water and they will send a thermos with hot water. You can refill it at the housekeeping floor, 3rd floor.
- Family room was big! 1 Double bed & 1 Single but the room was spacious for kids to sit/play around with toys etc
- Did not see any insects in the room but then again Sandakan is a nature city so best be prepared.
- Wifi on all floors but some rooms have stronger signal so be sure to ask at the reception.

All in all a great stay as we were well prepared. I'd definitely come back again and eat my way through Sandakan!

Room Tip: Lift is sometimes rickety and can only carry max 3 people so choose lower floors if you don't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCLai007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
KL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Was here last week 21st july 2012 to 24 July 2012:

As what we see on budget hotel, Sandakan City VIew Hotel, This hotel is good where it located in the centre of the City where all the Restaurant, Shopping Mall, Place of Interest is just near by.

Room is good, just that room is smell of smoke..... The lift really sucks... Maxs 3 person...
Overall is good...

Funny thing that the reception told us:
C: May i know how to on the FAN?
R: Sorry the fan only WORKS when the Power is OUT
C: ??????? Har? POWER OUT, FAN ONLY ON???
R: YES
C: THANK YOU.

Nice le... hahahaha

Room Tip: This hotel is good, when u need budget hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelvinng86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

The reviews for this hotel were very good when I booked it. My friend and I had separate rooms. There were ants in her room so asked for the room to be fumigated, when she got back there was a huge cockroach (dead) in the room. We decided to spend the night in my room. Whilst sitting on the bed we saw another bug, not totally sure what it was but we decided to leave and booked a room for another newer hotel. Also didn't feel safe in the area outside the hotel. The service was fairly good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandakan hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We arrived in our room to find the aircon broken and leaking all over. We were able to change rooms to one on the other side of the building which was just as noisy as the first. Very depressing setting, we only stayed as a sleep over yet it was still unappealing. Beware: I think I got bed bugs from here too! But what do you want for $20 - plus it's in the centre of Sandakan city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

The hotel is in a good location, is cheap and comfortable and the breakfast is nice.

Room Tip: The lift can take a while. Get a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

The rooms are brilliant, clean, large and very comfortable. I think we had some of best nights sleep staying here on our holiday around Borneo. My friend and I were traveling around Borneo and this place was excellent value for money compared to other places we stayed in. We paid 60RM for a twin bedroom with AC, private bathroom, 2 bottles of water and free internet. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were very clean. We found the staff helpful here, they were happy for my friend to have a package delivered here and to help arrange transport to places etc. They offer a laundry service and the clothes come back VERY clean! The location is very good, only a few blocks back from the water front just across the road from the Sandakan Hotel. We only ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it was really good. It is a basic hotel but it is great value for money and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penm80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We initially planned to book Hotel Sandakan but we decided to walk in to ask for a quote since this hotel is directly across the street. Only RM68 a night for a double room with AC, we could careless if the lobby is 5 times smaller than Hotel Sandakan. Besides, this hotel comes with free access to PC with internet connection! Overall, the room we had was clean however we were given a smoking room (and we were too lazy to change). The location is right nearby the Central Market and bus terminal. The staffs are extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for non-smoking if that's your preferece
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelneat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
11.8 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#9 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#28 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
11.9 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Ramai
#13 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Sanbay Hotel
Sanbay Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
12.7 mi away
Central Hotel Sandakan
Central Hotel Sandakan
#24 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
#22 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City View

Property: Hotel City View
Address: Lot 1 Block 23, 3rd Ave, Sandakan, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City View 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Expedia so you can book your Hotel City View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel City View Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing