We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget & comfortable”
Review of Hotel City View

Hotel City View
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel City View
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Budget & comfortable”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stayed here for two nights while visiting the nearby Sepilok, the room are comfortable and nice for the price.
As cons: the “cable” TV have 5 channels all in Malaysian, one of them had subtitles but was showing Pokémon 24/7, I like cartoons …but the Pokémon
The toilet was leaking and the last day as I came back from the orang utan sanctuary in Sepilok….there was a little mouse waiting
The staffs is not too helpful

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paobaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here for a night in September. Comfortable stay. The room and the bathroom looked and felt old but clean and nice. However it's a bit cramped, not so spacious. Good location. Cheap price and I think it's ok. Didn't have a big issue with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MunaZaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

check in just for 5min & we decide to look for another hotel, the restaurant serve real good food,delicous,but the lift is smelly,& the room quite dirty.. the sheet seem to hv some stain on it,the door very hard to close,toilet / bathroom a little bit dirty,table & chair look like never being clean up,got lot of dirt on it. the only thing that good is the wifi,they got separated modem for each floor, well I will never think for another stay here

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtsy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandakan hotels

Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed here 2 nights. Used as transit for Sepilok. Good central location, easy to find your way around. When we stayed lift was broken and it was a difficult climb to the 4th floor. Windows only single pane, we were on side street and market sets up at 5.30am on Sunday morning - very, very noisy. Also noisy on other night with traffic. Reception tried to sell tours even before we had finished booking in! Would only suggest as a last resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papar, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I used to stay in the hotel during weekend. Don't expect too much because this is a budget hotel located in the city centre, you can get as low as RM60 or USD20 for a room per night. You can go almost anywhere from here, shopping & dining are nearby, there's also a restaurant inside the hotel that open up until 10pm, the room is comfortable & okay for the price, there's a free wifi available & also a computer in the lobby for a small fee. There's a small fridge, TV, hairdryer and sometimes kettle. Check the hot water if you really need it because there're rooms that the hot water got problem. The city parking is quite expensive if you parked your car few hours during the working days, and its not easy to find parking space in the city, better after 5pm and above.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AinaRahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

This is a very good hotel which located in the middle of the town of Sandakan. You can just walk to Harbour Mall from there or walk to the bus station. The price only USD33 for deluxe single room. The air con is cold. You can find refrigerator also the TV got 5 channels (including cable).

There's also a hairdryer. But one thing, before confirming the check-in, make sure to check the air con first and the hot water. Some rooms got problem with it. One thing for sure, room service only coming upon request if not, they may leave your bed and room messy.

Its easier for you to get foods because the hotel provides a restaurant at the lobby. This hotel is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aladeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

- 1st stay was July 2011 and 2nd stay was 31 Oct - 02 Nov but decided to extend another night as we didn't get to enjoy the room as much as we could and we were still tired after driving overland from KK. Definitely not luxurious but was good enough for us, comfy bed & good airconditioning was what we are aiming after that long drive. Some points for future hotel guests :-
- Hot shower was great when nobody flushed! haha but yeah, part & parcel of the RM60 room we paid for. We went there for the food so a good working toilet was most important as well.
- Tv was crap and cable is controlled by the staff so we learned to bring our own DVD player wherever we went.
- Had to ask for towels and bath mat >> p/s they don't know what is a bath mat, had to explain in Bahasa Malaysia what it was - Kain lap kaki i.e cloth to wipe your feet
- Kettles are not provided in the room but you can ask reception for hot water and they will send a thermos with hot water. You can refill it at the housekeeping floor, 3rd floor.
- Family room was big! 1 Double bed & 1 Single but the room was spacious for kids to sit/play around with toys etc
- Did not see any insects in the room but then again Sandakan is a nature city so best be prepared.
- Wifi on all floors but some rooms have stronger signal so be sure to ask at the reception.

All in all a great stay as we were well prepared. I'd definitely come back again and eat my way through Sandakan!

Room Tip: Lift is sometimes rickety and can only carry max 3 people so choose lower floors if you don't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCLai007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
4.8 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#11 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#28 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
5.7 mi away
Central Hotel Sandakan
Central Hotel Sandakan
#24 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sanbay Hotel
Sanbay Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
MJ Hotel
#17 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City View

Property: Hotel City View
Address: Lot 1 Block 23, 3rd Ave, Sandakan, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City View 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel City View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel City View Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing