We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Last Frontier Boutique Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$14
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sanbay Hotel(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$21
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NAK Hotel(Sandakan)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$30
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$33
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$45
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$41
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
263
30
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
30
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverjungle trekgreat cookproboscis monkeysfantastic hostswild boarbonbonsunique lodgememorable staynasi gorengyour luggagenight packagewe loved our staymonth tripmonitor lizardsbuilding materialswildlife spotting
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. This was the highlight of our holiday. We were welcomed by Gert at our hotel in Sepilok and had a great journey chatting all the way to the steps. The steps aren't that bad, and by having the resort up there it allows for amazing views and utter seclusion. The rooms are great, comfortable and cool. The bathrooms (we had a mix of interesting bathrooms in Malaysia) were the best ones we had during our whole holiday- HOT SHOWERS! The food is to die for- there is so much of it and it is delicious! Th restaurant is completely open which allows for cool air, and amazing views- people have mentioned bugs and insects in their reviews- yes there are bugs and insects you are in the jungle, it adds to the experience! The jungle trek was great- the views were worth all that sweat! The river cruises were great, and of course the wildlife was brilliant too. The staff can't guarantee wildlife, as it is WILD but that is the beauty of it, when you do see something it feels very special. The staff at the last frontier make you feel relaxed and are very friendly. Our guide for our whole stay was great, and did everything in his power to make our stay special (speeding through waters to find those elephants was very enjoyable!) Gert opened our eyes to palm oil plantations- this stay has changed our diet completely! It is so sad what the palm oil plantations are doing, and we are both keen to try and make others aware in the UK. Please stay at the last frontier resort- you will not regret it! So Gert and Jason- when can we book for next year?!

Room Tip: 4 rooms only- all rooms amazing.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HarrietCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

From the welcoming smile to the big stair climb, this experience was phenomenal. Orangutans come right up to the dining hall!! Boars also find their way to the lodge to give us all a glimpse of life in the jungle. The food was amazing and made me forget I was actually in the jungle: I thought it was a 5 star hotel. Nights are quiet and cool and offer plenty of great sleep. Jason and his crew did a fabulous job of taking care of all the little things. This is not only a vacation, but a chance to alter your life forever with an eco experience that will help you further appreciate the diversity of life. Go back? Not a matter of "if", but "when." Thanks to you all!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank solobolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

What can I say other than the owners are both pleasant, discreet, and so interesting! My husband who doesnt like to rough it loved it, and our 9 yrs old enjoyed the animals, the river cruise and the hike! The lodge and the location are amazing, the quality of the service and the activities are definitely worth the price...saw Pygmy elephants, orangutans, exotic birds, etc...the only sad thing are the palm oil plantations which are shocking and such a devastation for this country! Don't buy anything to do with palm oil...please boycot! Thanks for your warm welcome, hospitality and great food Jason, and your kindness Gert! Wish you much deserved success!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joelle111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My son and I stayed here 3 nights during our Borneo adventures on the Kinabatangan river. We were not disappointed. Jason Tan is the perfect host. The room was beautiful. An incredible place when you think it is built on a hilltop and everything is carried up 550 steps! The view from the top is stunning. The walk up and down the steps is a challenge if you are not fit but ok if taking your time. The food is very good although we found the portions are a bit on the small side and there were no second helpings. Jason apologised for this but that comment does not detract from the quality and general atmosphere. Wine and beer is available but suggested to Jason a slightly wider variety of wine would be very welcome and perhaps spirits. It is the right atmosphere for drinks after a tough day in the jungle or on the river.

The tariff included boat trips and again we were not disappointed. We got to see it all - monkey's, orangatangs, crocodiles, snakes and pigmy elephants. The only negative and not about LFL but about Sabah is the horrific extent of jungle destruction and replacement with sterile palm oil plantations as far as the eye can see. It was enough to make you cry for the animals. Do not use anything with palm oil. You are helping destroy the jungle and the animals.

This is a magic place to stay with perfect hosts. Just be patient communicating with Jason. Internet is poor. SMS works better. Thanks Jason and the crew for a very memorable stay and for the great conversations

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FairEnough54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

This place is a true gem if you can handle the 500 steps. Jason and the staff are amazing. Food fantastic. We saw Orangutans within 5 minutes of arriving and the next day while having lunch.
River cruises were great as we saw elephants and loads more.
The other great thing about this resort is how passionate Jason & his team are about helping the locals and keeping the resort as eco friendly as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenorage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews