We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kevin L

Spotlessly clean and well maintained.

Review of May Fair Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Aug 2018via mobile
Stayed in this popular all-timer for 3 days while hunting for seafood and ww2 relics . Staying in this centrally located hotel to escape from heat.

Don't be deferred by the aged outlook. The water pressure of hot shower was way better than another place I stayed.

The single room was spatious. Mr Lin, the owner lent me a number of 007 bond movies DVDs. Actually, there is not much nightlife there.

As a side note, the departing point for the mini bus for sukau is now right outside the may fair hotel. The street at the back of man hotel. Hope it helps.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£62
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £58
  • Vio.com
    £57
  • Expedia.com
    £67
0.7 miles from May Fair Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£36
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    £44
  • Agoda.com
    £33
  • Vio.com
    £35
2.8 miles from May Fair Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Superior Twin
£29
  • Priceline
    £23
  • Agoda.com
    £22
  • Expedia.com
    £28
0.1 miles from May Fair Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Main Photo
£23
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
    £21
  • Hotels.com
    £22
3.0 miles from May Fair Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£39
  • Priceline
    £30
  • Vio.com
    £29
  • Expedia.com
    £40
0.1 miles from May Fair Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Superior / Deluxe King
£27
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    £22
  • Trip.com
    £31
3.3 miles from May Fair Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£21
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £25
  • Agoda.com
    £19
  • StayForLong
3.3 miles from May Fair Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cafe
£11
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £13
  • Agoda.com
    £10
  • Trip.com
    £13
4.8 miles from May Fair Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£19
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
    £32
  • Trip.com
    £19
  • Agoda.com
    £19
2.6 miles from May Fair Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£17
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
    £22
  • Agoda.com
    £14
  • StayForLong
4.9 miles from May Fair Hotel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Sandakan
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
69
32
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
69
32
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mayfair hotel air con hot shower comfortable beds waterfront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Whatever review you've read from the past years have not changed one single bit. This place is kept immaculately sterile like a hospital and is perfectly placed in the middle of Sandakan. The self-service laundry is 5mins down the street, but if you want to DIY, there are laundry lines in the bathroom to hang your wet stuff. Drinking water is provided in an old school thermos flask and DVDs are a-plenty from the reception where you will find the lovely innkeeper permanently stationed. Despite having a good internet connection, the only problem with this place is that the innkeeper doesn't use it, so it means you either have to call up or walk in to book a room.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chrisngpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2018

My wife and I were in Sandakan for the weekend to attend a Christian assembly held at Four Points by Sheraton. We wanted to find somewhere nearby and affordable, so stayed at May Fair Hotel for 2 nights. As mentioned in other reviews, the room is RM55 per night, clean, lots of DVD, TV with some Astro channels, many power sockets, attached bathroom, and looks hospital-ish.

The owner is friendly and always ready for a conversation, you can learn a lot about Sandakan's history just by talking to him. He is at the reception area all the time, the TV there is always on and shows just keep on playing.

One thing we noticed about the bathroom, after the toilet is flushed, it takes a little while for the shower to work, as the tanks needs to be refilled. Not sure if this only happens to our room (203), or is the norm over there. But just for your information.

We enjoyed our stay there, and would do so again if we need to stay somewhere in Sandakan old town. Recommended.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank alshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this little eccentric boutique hotel in the heart of Sandakan- Everything you would want or need packed into the ultra clean room guarded by the Chinese Owner day and night - No better place in Sandakan

Date of stay: June 2016
Thank GrahamI355
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2017

The main asset of this hotel is its price and cleanliness. An absolutely gorgeous clean room and all its cost RM55 for 2 single beds room. When all's said and done, that's that Mayfair Hotel - and its worth coming to this hotel simply to enjoy the privacy and confirming the all the reviews in TA.

Key considerations:
- no lift or designated parking bays for guests.
- no praying mat or qiblah.
- no mini fridge or other utensils such as water heater but the owner refills water drinks on daily basis.
- each room has a pair of slipper.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanyALGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2016

They're not on email or the web, so I had to give the owner, Mr Lam (Lum) a call on +6089-219 855 for a booking. Really cheap but spotlessly clean. There is a laundromat about 150 meters up the road, modern and great. It's in the centre of Old Sandakan, so everything is right there. There is no safe in the room, but the owner lives in the reception area, sleeps as well there, so there is no chance of intruders. The owner has a lot of DVD's but I didn't watch any, just too busy exploring. If you have to catch a taxi, ask the owner to get one for you. Good rates as well, he knows so much about the area. Sunday there are local markets right outside the hotel. Great colour

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb5t0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews