We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DON'T go there! Rooms are dirty, staff is stealing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winho Lodge

Winho Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Winho Lodge
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DON'T go there! Rooms are dirty, staff is stealing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Even though I've already travelled and experienced a lot and I'm not very picky with hostels, this was without doubt the worst travelling experience ever...
First everything seemed to be very nice there- the staff was very friendly and even offered us a cheaper price (I think they were also really desperated to get some guests) for a double room. But during the check-in though the first weird thing happened. They let me sign a sheet of paper saying that they are not responsible for any lost/stolen goods in the hostel. It just seemed kind of odd to me as I never had to sign something like that before. The guy even asked me twice if I understood this point. Well, I signed...

The next morning I understood why I had to sign this sheet of paper- When we came back from breakfast (included in the price) my mobile phone which I left in the locked room was gone. I know for sure that it was there before because by coincidence we took a picture of the room just before we left for breakfast and you could see the mobile on the bed. Obviously some of the staff broke in and took it (they have an extra set of keys at the reception).
Of course they claimed not to know anything...

Apart from that: The sheets in the room had stains and it was not very clean (but acceptable). But then we saw a big fat cockroach under our bed!!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank anna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Squat toilets, sink and shower share same area...so dirty looking I didn't care to shower. Room looked liked it used to be a bathroom...had small tiles everywhere. Nothing felt clean. Old building that's surrounded by old buildings. Make sure there is more than one working key for your room, just a hint if u stay here. Close to everything and friendly staff. For the same price, 25MR, or maybe a few MR more you can easily find other accomm close by that's very clean, friendly staff and also newly opened!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Born1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandakan hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel should be taken off from the Lonely Planet at this moment to keep LP's own trustworthy and reputation. Bed room and toilet totally are in run-down condition. Towel is not clean and has blood-like stained on cloth. Free PC and internet corner is available but all out of order. Not recommend at all!!

Room Tip: try to refrain from this hotel for a while until refurbishment and renovation take place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

For what you pay it is great value for money! You get everything you need such as your own bathroom and ac and tv, the staff were more than helpful. You can get to sepilok orang-utans and the proboscis monkey sanctuary no problem. DO NOT go through travel agents it's so much cheaper to do it your self and also sooo easy!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank therams_1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

The rooms are basic and dated, but very clean and with air conditioning. The walls are pretty thin though! Toast, tea and coffee are included in the price and there's unlimited free filtered water. We enjoyed our stay here - the owners were lovely and very helpful and we felt safe!

Room Tip: ask for private with aircon - we had four beds for the two of us and a private bathroom at no extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imogencook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night during a 4 month round the world trip and are confident travellers. For RM55 (£11 at the time) we had a double room with a private bathroom here in November 2010. The room was very basic and painted a dark colour but it was very clean and all we needed for one night.

The room had a large comfy double bed, TV and air con. The hostel offers free breakfast (toast and tea) and free internet use.

It is in a central location in Sandakan around the shops and close to a KFC! There is a restaurant opposite called Hawaii which was very tasty :-)

You must visit the Sepilok Orang-utan Sanctuary if you come here!! We took a bus here for £1.60 each. The sanctuary itself was lovely, very lush and green and very peaceful. It cost £14 for 2 of us to enter and you have to pay a little extra to take your camera in, which is a must! Lots of monkeys here, be careful as some are aggressive and we were lucky enough to see 5 orang-utans, one with a baby!

Only down side is there are a lot of stray dogs around here heavily pregnant or very skinny which wasn't nice to see. And we were woken very early in the morning on the Sunday by the market setting up outside!!

Watch out for taxi drivers...they drive like maniacs! Have fun, Borneo is lush!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smalls1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

We spent 2 nights at the Winho Lodge at 55 RM per night. This included a toast and coffee/tea breakfast - which was the standard hostel offering in Malaysia it seemed. The room had a double bed and a set of bunk beds. There was a tv with some English channels even. They had free internet which was only sometimes lined up. The toilet was acting up in our room though.

We looked around at a lot of places in Sandakan and this was the best quality for the lowest price in our opinion. It's right in the centre of the town area so you can walk to lots of eateries. However, the dining options in Sandakan are dismal. There were a couple places that did decent local dishes but even then, nothing really wowed us about Sandakan. The town is quiet by about 9pm and the streets are empty. It feels kind of eerie at night.

The staff at the Winho were quite nice though.

We took a day tour from the Winho to the Kinabatangan River cruise and the Gomantong Caves. The tour turned out to be great because we saw elephants but I think if we hadn't seen elephants or the wild orangutans we saw at the caves, the day would have been disappointing because it takes a long time to get there and back in a very uncomfortable vehicle.

I don't really recommend Sandakan but if you want to stop there, the Winho is a decent option. If you catch a bus in, the bus station is out of town but lots of local buses run along the street in front of the station. On the way back to the bus station, I think it was only 1.50 RM for one person's bus fare where a taxi was about 12 RM.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teamBCtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.1 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#10 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel
0.1 mi away
Harbourside Backpackers
Harbourside Backpackers
#9 of 30 in Sandakan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winho Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winho Lodge

Property: Winho Lodge
Address: Lot 8 & 9 2nd Floor Block 19, 1st | Jalan Dua, Sandakan 90702, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Winho Lodge Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing