We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget clean and comfortable hotel”
Review of Hotel Seafront

Hotel Seafront
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Seafront
Ranked #15 of 21 Sandakan B&B and Inns
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great budget clean and comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 23 December 2009

Stayed here for one night, good value with complimentary breakfast. Rooms are standard, clean and comfortable. Would definitely go back again, staff are ery helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xwennix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

A very basic place with no frills. They have free wifi but the connection was not good. Laundry ervice a plus. Staff helpful in general. Breakfast was not good.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank-Mozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandakan hotels

Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

The place looked generally clean however our room was infested with cockroaches, to the point that they were even in our backpacks. Fortunately we moved rooms and the other was better although it still wasn't all that clean. Not usually that fussy about places, but not a fan of this place! The location is not very good, not much around and at all! We were booked in for 3 nights but left after 1 and moved to the Sabah hotel which was more expensive but worth it for the pool and other activities. We should have listened to the other reviews about sandakan - there is nothing to do in this town! It is not a nice place to wonder around and the few attractions can be done in less than a day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

After much searching for a nice, clean, budget hotel in Sandakan which there seem to be a lack of! I came across this little gem recommended on a forum. Its a fairly new modern hotel about a block back from the sea front. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable with TV and aircon and double glazed windows to keep out street noise. Breakfast is included and their is Internet and I think WI-FI. We booked a standard Queen for two nights and were traveling with friends. Our friends were given a corner room with a sea view and they asked us if we wanted to be on the same floor which was the first floor. We were given a room with street view which had a locked connecting door through to the next room, I guess for families. Later in the evening I asked to be moved as when we got neighbors in the next room you could hear them too clearly through the connecting room door. The staff were very accommodating and moved us to the 3rd floor which was quieter. Our new room was a corner room with a sea view and it was a much nicer room with a bigger bathroom, also it was a much quieter floor. So my advice is unless your traveling as a family and want two rooms next to each other! ask for a corner room with a sea view preferably not on the first floor as this floor can be noisy as this floor fills up first and has through traffic. The higher the floor the quieter it is but the downside is there is no lift, only stairs! The staff are very friendly and helpful and your room is cleaned every day. The location is excellent, close to the bus station, shops and sea front where there are plenty of nice restaurants and cafe's.

So advantages, nice, clean, modern, comfortable, helpful friendly staff, great location, Internet, free breakfast and great price!

Disadvantages - no lift only stairs although there are not many steps between floors. No safety deposit box at front desk or in your room even though it says there is on website!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skippyedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.1 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
39 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
635 reviews
24.8 mi away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#8 of 28 in Sandakan
351 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seafront

Property: Hotel Seafront
Address: Lot 1, Hotel Seafront Jalan Leila, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Seafront 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Seafront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seafront Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing