We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely introduction to Borneo”
Review of Sepilok B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sepilok B&B
Ranked #1 of 22 Sandakan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Great location; a much better option than staying in Sandakan. We stayed here for 2 nights, which was perfect for spending a day at the wonderful Orang Utan centre (15 mins walk), and the following morning at the very worthwhile RDC (5 mins walk), before being picked up for our Jungle tour. Our room in the Hornbill lodge was massive and very comfortable thanks to the aircon. You might find the odd creepy crawlie, but that's hardly surprising - you're in the jungle!

Decent breakfast included, and the cafe also does reasonable lunch and dinner (plus the wi-fi's pretty good)- but wear insect repellent at night! Overall, excellent value.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CH132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Sepilok B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Would highly recommend Sepilok b&b. It is well located close to both the Rainforest Discovery Centre (5 minute walk) and the Orang Utan Sanctuary (15 minute walk). It is easily accessible from the main road, we just called and they picked us up in a car as it was dark. If not dark you could probably walk in about 20 minutes from where the busses drop you off.

The dorm accommodation we stayed in was basic with bunk beds and fans. The room was clean and decent bedding provided. The bathroom was OK - hot water fine.

Communal area outside the rooms was a nice place to chill with a beer, chat with other guests and unwind. Loads of cats around the place which didn't bother us but might others.

The breakfast and restaurant for evening meals was good. Food generally reasonably priced, though only available at certain times. There is a small corner shop very close that sells the essentials.

Friendly staff and overall a very nice place to stay in the wilderness - watch out for wildlife!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe-p-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

If you are going to Sandakan chances are high that you are going there because of Sepilok Orang utang centre, then you should stay here.
This is located 500 meters from the Rainforest discovery centre, which is Worth a day of Your time as well. The Orang utang Place is 20 minutes walk,but it is pretty easy.
The B&B is located in a Nice area in between the trees. The Food there was good, and the staff was friendly. A double room was only 68 ringitts, so not bad considering what a good location it has. Other nearby hotels are more expensive as well.
One advise; by Your beers from the local shop as they are much cheaper than in the restaurant.

There is not reason for anyone to stay in Sandakan, it is not a particularly interesting town.

Room Tip: Take room 103, it is nice
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stiigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

:-)Great location for visiting the RDC bird watching,the room was clean, nice and helpful staffs. The breakfast was good.
:-( But the waiting time for dinner was a bit long, better the prepare some snack for yourself if u can't withstand
hungry.And the pressure of the
shower was not strong enough.
Overall, worth to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie_scout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We arrived at 10 PM and the reception was closed, even although we emailed for a late check-in. So while it was raining we had to search for somebody of the staff. The first night we slept in a room with single beds and with a shared bathroom. The room wasn't very clean and there were some spots on the sheets. The other night we had a room wih a double bed and a private bathroom and it was much cleaner. The staff is very friendly and there is a large communal area to relax. The Sepilok Orang-Utan Rehabilation Centre is on a 50-20min walk and the Rainforest Discovery Center is on a 5 minute walk. We paid around 50RM for two persons including (a basic buffet) breakfast.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Maurits L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Friends who have gone to Sepilok in Sabah, East Malaysia, have all recommended me to stay at this place.

First, it's affordable - under Singapore $35 a night, with a simple buffet breakfast.

The room is large (stayed at the Hornbill wing). Good, large and firm bed. The floor is clean and one can walk around bare-footed. The airconditioning is quiet and one can manually control it. There are enough lamps in the room, a wooden writing table, coffee table, side table and a rattan chair. There is a clothes hanging rack and a couple of electrical socket points. There is a pantry in the lodge's common area where filtered water - hot and room temperature - is provided. Only two packets of green tea are given in the room. There is no TV anywhere in this B&B. You are required to commute with Nature, LOL.

The bathroom is clean, of adequate size but the shower's water power is not very strong. Only two small bars of soap are provided, so take along you other toiletteries. The two towels are of acceptable cleanliness.

All the windows have mesh netting to keep the insects out. This B&B sits at the edge of the marvellous Rainforest Discovery Centre, about 200m away.

There is a small fan-cooled restaurant with good views of the surrounding gardens. Cats and kittens lay about or play around your feet.

The staff speaks English and Malay. They are also helpful and accommodating. Food is halal and depending on the cook of the day, the food can be quite good. If you need to set out early, you can request for packed breakfast boxes of bread, a hard boiled egg and two small bananas.

Birds start to sing in the trees as early as 6 am and during the night you will be entertained by the calls of the gecko, cicada, frogs and other insects.

There is a mix of accommodations, from hostels to chalets.

Room Tip: Depending on your budget and expectation, any room is good, pay for one with an attached bathroom/to...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrotherDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in the Hornbill Lodge (air-con room). Nice big room with a hot water shower and balcony. Hot and cool water available from the lounge area in the hornbill lodge which was handy. Staff were friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast was simple but nice (toast,jams,noodles,bananas,tea and coffee). We had dinner at the B&B every night, food was good and reasonably priced. The B&B is a 5 min walk from the RDC and a 15-20 min walk from SORC.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return :)

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AdamandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
1.7 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
647 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
645 reviews
12.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
536 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
1.2 mi away
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok B&B

Address: Arboretum Road off Sepilok Rd Jalan Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Sandakan
Price Range: £23 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sepilok B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok B&B Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing