We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel & Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel & Excellent Value”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel after arriving in Sandakan late at night and prior to leaving early the next morning for a trip to the jungle. As many other reviewers have noted, the location is not ideal - kind of within an industrial area and away from the main city centre of Sandakan. In saying that, the hotel was perfect for our purposes. It is fairly new so the room and furnishings were great and very clean. We didn't try the restaurant so I can't comment on that but there was someone playing live music at one of the restaurants when we arrived. The breakfast was nice and the staff were extremely friendly. For the price I don't think you can go wrong at all. The Sandakan city centre is nothing to rave about so if you don't need to be located there I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great option.

Room Tip: The booking site stated that all rooms had a private balcony but as far as I could see none do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegsyMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    16
    10
    11
    7
See reviews for
4
24
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hotel seems very new, have big a comfortable bed, refrigerator, free-wifi, a multimedia TV, big and clean bath room (but no bath tube)

The services are very good, nice welcome drinks, the staff willing provide food separably even for a "breakfast late comer" like us.

However, the location is not good, only few restaurants around the area. Need wait and call taxi (MYR15 each way) to the city, better if the hotel could provide scheduled free shuttle (esp in dinner time).

Room Tip: Only few restaurant and shops around, if you like to have late supper, better prepare some drinks an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melb
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Had a great stay here for one night (before departing Sandakan).
Location: not in the heart of town but Sandakan isn't exactly a happening place so it was nice to have a clean place away from the crowds.
Room: Large room, big bed, relatively fast internet (wifi), bathroom large with rainshower (however, the drain was clogged so we couldn't use the rainshower as we would have flooded the room...
Staff: efficient and friendly
Restaurants: there are a couple of restaurants attached to the hotel as well as some satellite roti places. We avoided the hotel restaurant and found a great little roti place nearby. I'm sorry I can't remember the name of it but it was very tasty. Only one staff spoke English and he was extremely helpful and friendly. The roti was very good there.

Conclusion: great when you have a flight the next day and need a clean, reliable business hotel to freshen up in and catch up on emails after a few weeks of rainforest and/or scuba diving.

Room Tip: Maybe test the drain in the shower first to make sure it isn't clogged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lost-in-Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed in a deluxe room which includes a sitting area as well as bedroom with a flat screen TV which swivels between both. New hotel but located in a new industrial area containing service companies, mini markets and local restaurants. Most of the industial units are unoccupied and a taxi or hotel shuttle(RM12 per person each way) is required to get to town. Our review would be better except for a couple of annoying issues. Cons: The internet which operated via a wireless keyboard on the TV was almost useless. Three attempts by staff to fix were unsuccessful and due to frustration, we gave up. Breakfast first day was limited and juice was in fact, cordial. Second day arrived to find no breakfast set up and on enquiry, were told to order in the restaurant. Given a menu but then told we could only have cereal, toast and coffee, this despite paying for a full breakfast. Enquired when Tour Desk would be occupied and was told he would contact them which resulted in him putting them on the phone. A later call to obtain their phone number resulted the same. I was subsequently charged for both calls despite not asking for the calls. I refused to pay and eventually the charges were deleted.Shower drainage inadequate resulting in flooding unless carefully monitored. Pros: New hotel with very courteous staff for a reasonable rate. An independent restaurant located at the end of the hotel building was very busy with locals and the food ridiculously cheap and very tasty, cooked to order unlike the others nearby. Perhaps things will improve in time, but teething problems should have been sorted by now.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, request ground floor as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woolly-Bully63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This hotel was not great, but from what I can gather it is one of the nicer hotels in the area.
The hotel is new but my room had a really bad smell to it and it was not the cleanest as there were hairs and dirt in the shower. The couch and tv area was fine but the bed was very hard.
The area around the hotel is not very nice either and we were nervouse about leaving the car parked at the hotel as we slept but we had no problems (not really a tourist friendly area).
The staff was helpfull and nice at the front desk and the restaurant staff was nice as well (breakfast was included wich was nice but it was cold).
The food at the restaurant was not the best but it was ok, there are not many food options around the hotel we did find a few places nearby that were better eating.
I don't know that this is an area that I would return to again and it was the least favorite area in South East Asia that I visited but it was worth the one time effort to see the probisic monkeys and to visit the rainforest park at sepilok. We were not part part of a tour and self drove and man did we get stared at around town, I gess we stood out!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Paying RM183 for Deluxe Room is worth for money. Upon check in, the welcome drink was served. No hussle during the check in process since everything was ready when I previously booked thru a call. Baggage will bring by the hotek staff to your room. Suprisingly, the room was beyond my expectation. Way far excellent compares to the 4 star hotel in Sandakan. There is a so called a living room with a couch and a leather sofa. A partition separated the small living area and the king sized bed. The closet was in the small room separated by the bed with attached with the bathroom. Overall, the specification of the room layout was superb, comparable to the 5 star hotels's room. There was a iron board, mini bar, coffee maker facility and the entertaiment facilty in the room was beyond the expectation again. All in one system that allowef you to watch TV, movie, play game, anything that you looking of entertainment in one device. You even can check your bill from the TV. Internet is great. You have 3 options, surfing thru TV, Wifi and ask for the network cable. My 2 nights stay was excellent. The rain shower, the toilet bidet, and ambience in the bathroom makes me dont wanna leave the room after shower. Its a great new hotel. Location perhaps should be considered but for me, all the goodness of the hotel covered the issues of the location. If I have to come to Sandakan again, this hotel would be my choice.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in the deluxe king size bed room.

Pro

1) It's clean because the hotel is rather new.

2) Tactful staff

Cons

1) Find it a bit pricey as the room is quite simple even though it's spacious.

2) Door not very secure, no double lock from within

3) Air con was not working in the midnight. The reception advised me to take out key & insert again. Quite weird air con system.

4) American breakfast too simple for the price paid for the room.

Overall, pay less for superior room to make your stay worthy.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shironuhiubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
11.0 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#20 of 32 in Sandakan
65 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Pavilion Hotel
The Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 32 in Sandakan
24 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#11 of 32 in Sandakan
39 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Sandakan
Hotel Sandakan
#10 of 32 in Sandakan
120 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sanbay Hotel
Sanbay Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan

Property: Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Address: Lot E-1-G, Bandar Letat Jaya, Mile 4 Lorong 3, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best WESTERN Sandakan Hotel and residence is now affiliated to RCI, THE only RCI hotel in Sabah. We have added 32 New hotel rooms and now we have a total of 80 rooms. We have mine 2 Bedrooms family apartment , 1 handicap Room, 1 honeymoon suite and 69 standard, superior and deluxe rooms.We have a new banquet hall capacity for 600 pax Fully air condition., suitable for marriage function, annual dinner, meetings , concert etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing