We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely extremely helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed here for three night's,we were offered a lovely cool drink as we checked in. Our air con was not working & we were transfered to a beautiful suite, with a queen size bed & lovely soft pillows.Breakfast was included in the very cheap price & there was a very good selection.The area the hotel is in is all new with a lot of empty units, this didn't bother us as we had a rented car & it's a much nicer area than the horrible dirty smelly city of Sandakan.Although the hotel seem to be having some problems with minor faults in the rooms the lovely staff couldn't be more helpful. You could watch tv while sitting on the couch, turn it around & watch it in bed. A lovely hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Mention smoking or non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 18Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydGan, General Manager at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear 18Marion,

First and foremost, on behalf of the team at Best Western Sandakan would like to thank you for staying with us and providing valuable feedback.

We have noted your feedback on the air conditioning system, and will look into the matter but hope that your requests was handled in a prompt manner. We have also scheduled air cond maintenance in the hotel on a phase to phase basis. Undeniably, our Hotel has some minor quirks in terms of the infrastructure, and we always welcome feedback from our guests to help us improve.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our humble hotel and we thank you for your valuable feedback. Rest assured, we will consistently strive for further improvement.

Best regards,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed here one night in March, 2013, while we were between transfers. This place was excellent! The hotel staff picked us up at the airport, helped us with our luggage, and then gave us a complimentary roundtrip ride into town so we could do a little shopping. You really can't beat that.

Our room was wonderful......probably the best in our experience traveling around Sabah. There was also a small Malay restaurant located in the hotel lobby. The food and service was incredible, and you could ask them for wine, beer, or a drink. We had a wonderful dinner for about 30 ringits. They also served a complimentary breakfast.

I don't usually review the hotels where we stay only one night. However, this place definately got two thumbs up from us!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oceananimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydGan, General Manager at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Dear Mikeyfish,

First and foremost, on behalf of the team at Best Western Sandakan would like to thank you for staying with us and providing valuable feedback.

We were pleasantly surprised with your review and hoped that you have enjoyed yhour experiences in Sandakan, albeit being here for only one night. At our Hotel, we continually strive to provide a "family orientated service" to all our guests, taking into consideration your needs at all times.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our humble hotel and we thank you for your valuable feedback. Rest assured, we will consistently strive for further improvement.

Best regards,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

A brand new hotel with no lift. Need a car to travel around as it's located in a quiet area. We stayed in a 2-bedroom spacious family suite. There are two types of shower head in both bathrooms - rain & traditional shower. However the rain shower in the master bathroom caused flooding due to poor drainage. Good staff service. They attended to complaints fast. We had air-conditioning problem. They tried a fix it and even moved a big air cooler fan into the living room which did help. Few selection of food for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 78Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydGan, General Manager at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear 78Mandy,

The team at Best Western Sandakan would like to thank you for staying with us and providing valuable feedback.

One of our hotel features is the Rain Showers and as you pointed out, water out flow is a structural issue in our Hotel. Our team is consistently monitoring and dosing the outlet pipes with scum remover to ensure our pipes are not clogged entirely. We are also studying on methods that will overcome this issue.

The Hotel, due to numerous requests and guest comments online, has recently appointed a new car rental hire with prices that are the same with the local market (i.e. The Airport) and we have also implemented a Shuttle Service (dropoff) to specific places within Sandakan itself. We hope that providing this additional service, it will provide more convenience to our guests who are staying with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our humble hotel and we thank you for your valuable feedback. Rest assured, we will consistently strive for further improvement.

Best regards,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The hotel is brand new. The location is not near the city centre, but 15 mins drive away. It is also 10-15 mins away from the airport. Since there is not much to do in the city we enjoyed our stay and rented a small car to move around the area. The room was very big and new. Bathroom too. Breakfast included some noodles, rice, toasts. We had to ask for some fruits. It was OK, but nothing special. In the reception area it was very cold. The A/C was working at 16 degrees and I did not feel good staying there. The staff was very polite, but not very good in english and the comunication was a bit difficult. I asked for a compact rent a car from the reception. They contacted a company, that brought me a car in the worst condition I have ever seen - durty, scratched. I felt it was a joke. i think the hotel must choose carefully the companies it works with. That was not professional. I had to take a taxi and go to the APT to rent the same class car from another company and cheaper.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterDran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydGan, General Manager at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear PeterDran,

First and foremost, the team at Best Western Sandakan would like to thank you for staying with us and providing us valuable feedback.

I have noted your comments on the Air Cond in the reception area and we have rectified the temperature at our reception. With regards to the car rental, I am in complete agreement with you and since our current partner did not conform to our guests expectations, we are now in the midst of sourcing for a new partner that would be able to provide better service and price.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable feedback and would look forward to welcoming you back to our humble hotel in future. Rest assured, we will consistently strive for further improvement.

Best regards,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed here for a night, booked online. When we arrived they had no record of our booking. After over half an hour we logged into our personal email to print off our booking receipt for them.
Room seemed nice, spacious, clean and modern. However, we later on realised that the hotel "bar" is below and from 8pm until the early hours, loud booming music was played!
After asking for it to be turned down at 11pm, nothing changed. Even with earplugs in the music vibration could be felt. It was a Sunday evening!!!!! At 00.30 and with a headache now, I went again to reception; they seemed to find it amusing!!! I insisted on waiting by the bar until they'd spoken with them..... the bass was turned down but the music continued.
Don't stay here!!!! The location is poor ( no transport options and close to nothing!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydGan, General Manager at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Teri G,

The Team at Best Western Sandakan would like to thank you for your valuable feedback and would like to extend our apologies for the inconvenience that you had encountered during your stay with us.

With regard to your booking, I hate to admit that we had some issues with our email server during the period of your stay and only discovered this during that time period. Some of our email accounts were disabled and we had asked our online partners to fax all reservations to us. That being said, I agree that our guests should not be made to wait and we have taken further action with our check in procedures at the counter to expedite all check ins.

As to the Bar, we view this matter seriously and have held a meeting with the operators recently. Collectively, we will be doing sound proofing to the outlet in the near future. For now, the Hotel is placing guests away from the Bar, as we understand sleep is of importance to all our guests.

Once again, on behalf of the team at Best Western Sandakan, I apologise for all the inconveniences caused.

Best regards,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The hotel has clearly been completely refurbished, to a modern & clean standard. Free WI-FI in the rooms is a very welcome bonus. Also a good hot shower (with a rain shower head as well as the traditional shower head), which alot of hotels in Borneo lacked in. The room it self was spacious and very clean. The outstanding part of my stay was certainly the customer service. They were always willing to go over and above their standard call of duty. We decided to take a bus (last minute decision) from Sandakan to Mount Kinabalu instead of flying. They took us directly to the bus depot with the hotel mini bus and also called up the depot to check times and costs for us. This was extreamly helpful as I could not find this type of info online. (for those interested the bus depot is less than 10 mins from Best Western, bus to Kinabalu National Park was about 32RM one way and runs every 30mins for the first half of the day).

The hotel is located in a very quiet area but a cheap taxi ride to the main town is simple to arrange. Also located near to the airport.

I would stay here again if I ever return to Sandakan. Photo's provided are reflective of what I saw.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydGan, General Manager at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear mdoff,

First and foremost, the team at Best Western Sandakan would like to thank you for staying with us and providing us valuable feedback.

At our Hotel, we always strive to provide an honest statement of services and facilities offered, and despite being in a quite area, continually strive to provide friendly, courteous service. We hope that you enjoyed your experiences in Sandakan and Sabah in general.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our humble hotel and we thank you for your valuable feedback. Rest assured, we will consistently strive for further improvement.

Best regards,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Poor drainage when having shower, which led to a flooding in the washroom.
TV got problem in connection for several times even though having asked a staff to fix it. It seemed that the TV was built in with the PC, and it was down when the PC was overheated.
Lighting in washroom got problem. It started to keep on flashing after turning on for 5 mins.
Breakfast provided was in limited choices and poor quality.
But the room is clean, if just stay for one night due to transit, I think it is fine. Just book the cheapest one is enough, as we booked deluxe room and that was paid too much for such value.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Borb_laib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydGan, General Manager at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Borb_laib,

First and foremost, the team at Best Western Sandakan would like to thank you for staying with us and providing us valuable feedback.

We have noted your comments on our poor drainage and will look into the matter together with the flashing bathroom lights. Recently, we have purchased a new set of LED Lights as our former supply was found to be not up to our expectations, and have begun phasing out the old LED Lights which had a habit of flashing after a set amount of hours. This is in part, our efforts to be a little more eco friendly.

With regards to the TV, we totally understand as we are using "new technologies" in this Hotel where our signals are purely digital. You so rightly pointed out that the current decoder in the room has issues with overheating, something which we intend to take up with out technology parther this month. On behalf of the team in Sandakan, I apologize for the poor connection in your room.

On breakfast, thank you for your honest feedback and we will look into the matter.

Once again, I apologize for any inconveniences caused to you due to the breakdown of facilities in our rooms. We will look into the matter but hope that this breakdowns did not hinder your experiences in Sandakan.

We thank you for your valuable feedback and consistently strive for further improvement.

Best regards,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
2 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#22 of 33 in Sandakan
64 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Pavilion Hotel
The Pavilion Hotel
#12 of 33 in Sandakan
26 reviews
0 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#7 of 33 in Sandakan
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Sandakan
41 reviews
3.1 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#9 of 33 in Sandakan
328 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sanbay Hotel
Sanbay Hotel
#10 of 33 in Sandakan
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan

Address: Lot E-1-G, Bandar Letat Jaya, Mile 4 Lorong 3, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: £16 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best WESTERN Sandakan Hotel and residence is now affiliated to RCI, THE only RCI hotel in Sabah. We have added 32 New hotel rooms and now we have a total of 80 rooms. We have mine 2 Bedrooms family apartment , 1 handicap Room, 1 honeymoon suite and 69 standard, superior and deluxe rooms.We have a new banquet hall capacity for 600 pax Fully air condition., suitable for marriage function, annual dinner, meetings , concert etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., Ctrip TA, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing