We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Sandakan!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Sandakan!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed in the cheapest room and even then it was spacious and clean. If you are a Malaysian government servant, bring your work tag along and get a big discount on you room rate. Check in and check out was swift and the staff were friendly. They also provided airport transfer for RM25/room. Didn't have a huge selection for their buffet breakfast but it was sufficient for us. Only thing was it may get a bit noisy quite early in the morning and this will not be liked by light sleepers. All in all, I will stay in this hotel again if I revisit Sandakan.

Room Tip: Maybe you can try getting rooms that are not facing the main road to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mad_format
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    16
    10
    11
    7
See reviews for
4
24
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is my first time I'm knowing there was such a lady who never show as professional to her customer. She is never give proper respect and talk in manner to us when we query on restaurant stuff. Our business to them seems like not important and they not appreciate to deal with us. This kind of service is horrible and I would not recommend at all. Best Western is an international hotel, management should work-out to this lady in Sandakan branch to avoid any negative image to the entire group.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrEdwin, Owner at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hi There Max H,

First and foremost thank you for your stays in our Best Western Sandakan Hotel & Residence.
We are sorry on the late reply to your review as we are in the mist of re-organizing our administration.

On behalf of Best Western Sandakan Hotel I would like to apologize to you on your unpleasant experience in the Chinese Restaurant which are adjacent to us.

However kindly be informed that the Chinese Restaurant has no affiliation nor related to our hotel as it was fully run by a third party owner, but upon seeing your review we had already meet with the restaurant manager in dealing with your unpleasant experience.

Although their management had decline any such incident happens,
we have shown to them that all our guest in our hotel is important to us
and if such incident happens again to your next visit or your friends, family members please
do inform us so we could again talk to their management of the problematic ladies.

Again I would like to apologize and at the same time thank you for your time in giving this review which will help us to improve further & provide more assistance to all our important guests.

Thank You.
Dr Edwin.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandakan hotels

Henty Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This hotel is in a light industrial area, so we expected something quiet after 5 noisy days in a Kota Kinabalu hotel. The staff were great, the room was really spacious and clean. The rooms are around an interior 1st floor balcony, accessed from an arcade which has no doors so the public can freely walk up the interior stairs and past your room if they wished to. On the ground floor in the arcade was a large dining area with a nightly buffet service which we thought was great, but there it all ends. The buffet started and then the Kareoke started and the speakers were large and boomed until at least ten PM, you could not hear the TV so it was a waste of time turning it on. When the kareoke finally stopped, the bar on the outside of the building took over, ( although the bar was only noisy on the first night.) Don't know what is going through these peoples heads? It is a fairly new hotel, but obviously they just don't care about the guests, so after two nights we moved to the Borneo Cove hotel which i will review next. Sorry but i could not recommend this Best Western to anyone, and i am pretty layback.

Room Tip: The Borneo Cove hotel had a promotion on, is worth a look and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrEdwin, Owner at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hi Jim R,

Firstly we thank you for your stay in Best Western Sandakan Hotel & Residence.
Thank you for your precious review in our properties, as your opinion and review are important for us to further improve ourselves.

We are truly sorry on your poor quality of sleep, this has been a problem to us as well.
As our properties are located within shoplot which is not fully owned by us,
the Karaoke & Bar is not owned by our hotel group and are individually owned by 3rd party.

We had do all our effort to send our staff from time to time to request them to lower their volume, as we do know and understand that our guest quality of sleep is important. Though the willingness of these shops to cooperate has clearly shown it's not great.

However as of now, we are ready to launch another 30 rooms which is in a totally new block and away from all the noises.
We would be honored to again served you again if you're visiting Sandakan again.
Kindly inform our staff to house you in our new block to avoid the noises while we will try to do our best in getting the karaoke & bar to install necessary sound dampening / proofing for the importance of our guest.

Thank You again,
Dr Edwin
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Great big room, very clean. The ridiculously loud karaoke that even drowned out the tv in our room, was truely horrible. 2 nights in a row, sat & sun.
They offer a free shuttle into the city centre which is handy. Staff were ok.
Overall, would not reccomend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrEdwin, Owner at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hi There Clam77,

I would love to thank you for your stays in Best Western Sandakan Hotel & Residence.

On behalf of the management i would like to apologize to your poor quality of sleep during your stay in our hotel.

The karaoke is owned by 3rd party which we have no control over their operations.
However we had from time to time send our staff to request their management to lower down
their volume. However clearly it is not enough and has disturb your sleep and stays when we have you with us.
For that i again apologize to your goodself.

As we are well aware of this problem, we are opening a fully new 30+ rooms which is located in a totally different block of buildings which is away from all the noises, which are the priority to house our guest first.

We hope to be able to serve you again in your future stays,
Do informed our reservation team to house you in our new rooms to avoid all the noise.

We look forward for your return & review.

thank you,
Dr Edwin
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This hotel is an intergral part of the new commercial and entertainment area and therefore many shops are not opened yet. We booked a van which we collected from the airport and it only took us 10 minutes to reach the hotel. This hotel was not my first preference but I had to go along with my group of friends. But I must admit that I had a good sleep every night.
I stayed in the Deluxe King which was very spacious, with the bed and living room separated by a partition. The tv could be turned to either side, that is, you could watch from the couch or from the bed. If you do not need a living room, the superior double room is spacious too.
The room is well appointed even though it is only a 3 star hotel. I was very impressed that they even provide bedroom slippers. I would have rated the room higher if not for the crack in the toilet bowl which looked like a permanent stain. The bathroom is quite big and comes with rain shower. I like the brightly lit room. There were many lighting points.
Staff were very helpful and polite. When I asked the housekeeping staff to mop the floor as the room smells fetid( like smelly socks), she did a good job as the smell disappeared when I returned to the room.
Breakfast is very simple with only a few choices. It’s only to fill your stomach before setting out for your excursion.
The exterior of the hotel is not impressive at all but there is a central atrium where one can sit down to have a drink. There are a few small Malay eateries under the atrium. Beside the hotel is a big new Chinese Restaurant which was in the midst of renovation when I was there. One disadvantage of the design of the building is that you have to walk along the corridors to reach to your room. So if your room is facing the road instead of the atrium, you will either be exposed to the blazing sun or get wet if it rains heavily. However, I prefer the room facing the road to the atrium. Make sure your room is not directly above the karaoke lounge as the music is quite loud.
If you are looking for a resort feel or a laid back setting, this is not the hotel for you. But I felt very safe staying here unlike downtown. It is advisable to rent a car to move around. The location is quite good as it does not take long to go to touristy places. The famous Sim Sim Seafood Restaurant is only about 15-20 mins drive and further down is the Agnes Keith House. Only one straight road, so it is actually very easy to drive.
Overall, I would say I did not regret staying here as I got a very good value for the room. Book directly with the hotel as there have promotions off and on.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yellowie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Been staying here for 3 days 2 night. We book for suit with 2 rooms. The design is so modern and I like it so much. However, get a bit disappointed for the hotel which not really function well althought we has call for the housekeeping for the room maintanence. The breakfast is just simple and don expect much on it.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kingpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed here for three night's,we were offered a lovely cool drink as we checked in. Our air con was not working & we were transfered to a beautiful suite, with a queen size bed & lovely soft pillows.Breakfast was included in the very cheap price & there was a very good selection.The area the hotel is in is all new with a lot of empty units, this didn't bother us as we had a rented car & it's a much nicer area than the horrible dirty smelly city of Sandakan.Although the hotel seem to be having some problems with minor faults in the rooms the lovely staff couldn't be more helpful. You could watch tv while sitting on the couch, turn it around & watch it in bed. A lovely hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Mention smoking or non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 18Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LloydGan, General Manager at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear 18Marion,

First and foremost, on behalf of the team at Best Western Sandakan would like to thank you for staying with us and providing valuable feedback.

We have noted your feedback on the air conditioning system, and will look into the matter but hope that your requests was handled in a prompt manner. We have also scheduled air cond maintenance in the hotel on a phase to phase basis. Undeniably, our Hotel has some minor quirks in terms of the infrastructure, and we always welcome feedback from our guests to help us improve.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our humble hotel and we thank you for your valuable feedback. Rest assured, we will consistently strive for further improvement.

Best regards,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
9.1 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
11.0 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#14 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#11 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Pavilion Hotel
The Pavilion Hotel
#10 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan

Property: Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Address: Lot E-1-G, Bandar Letat Jaya, Mile 4 Lorong 3, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best WESTERN Sandakan Hotel and residence is now affiliated to RCI, THE only RCI hotel in Sabah. We have added 32 New hotel rooms and now we have a total of 80 rooms. We have mine 2 Bedrooms family apartment , 1 handicap Room, 1 honeymoon suite and 69 standard, superior and deluxe rooms.We have a new banquet hall capacity for 600 pax Fully air condition., suitable for marriage function, annual dinner, meetings , concert etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing