We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Meanie B
Christchurch, New Zealand

lovely hotel cross the road from the long distance bus terminal

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Jun 2018
We emerged from a week of work in the rainforest at the bus terminal Mile 4 with phones dead and weary bodies. In luck! there is a hotel just diagonally across/ It looks a bit garish? No - the room was fabulous, especially the rainshower. We paid MYR 120 for the middle type of room. Very comfortable beds and plenty of space. It gets better, we ordered dinner from the corner shop that opens into the open area, and they brought it up to our room.
The mamak cafe round the back does Roti Tisu - and Roti susu, plus of course the best roti telur.
We came back at the end of our work and it was just as good.
Date of stay: May 2018
Room Tip: Ask the staff to point you to the kedai round the back and try his roti tisu - tissue-thin with...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£62
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £66
  • Vio.com
  • Hotels.com
    £65
2.5 miles from Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cafe
£13
Fully refundable
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    £10
  • Priceline
    £11
2.0 miles from Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Free Wifi
Free parking
£26
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    £19
  • Priceline
    £21
1.2 miles from Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Free Wifi
Free parking
£41
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
    £38
  • Expedia.com
    £39
9.0 miles from Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Free parking
Pool
£19
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
    £31
  • Vio.com
    £17
  • Agoda.com
    £18
0.4 miles from Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£18
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    £16
  • Trip.com
2.0 miles from Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Free Wifi
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    £36
  • Agoda.com
    £33
  • StayForLong
0.6 miles from Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Superior / Deluxe King
  • Priceline
    £27
  • Agoda.com
    £22
  • Trip.com
0.9 miles from Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Free Wifi
Free parking
Superior Twin
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £25
  • eDreams
2.9 miles from Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    £34
  • eDreams
3.1 miles from Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Sandakan
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
16
17
10
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
16
17
10
11
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Room: The room was large and spacious. Deluxe Room have its own seating area. However my room facing the sunset during check-in as my room was so hot. The numbering system really like a maze. So confusing.

Minibar: 2 complimentary mineral water and coffee/tea.

Bathroom - Bathroom was large and clean. Bath and shower gel available. Soap and toothbrush also provided together with shaving kit..

Location:at Letat Jaya... Which is an area that previously own by Best Western. The location is near the Bus Terminal

Service - Staff is friendly and smile always.

Value: Room rate is reasonable. Avoid the room that facing sun

F&B: Didn't had their breakfast but many restaurant nearby.

Room tip: ask the room that avoid the sunlight
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kennyahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2017

the staff here were really nice and very helpful,the room are ok as well.the hotel itself is a strange set out,breakfast is not so good,wifi terrible and location is bad,very litte to eat and drink around

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank geezerblagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

stayed for 2 nights..Big and spacious bedroom with set of sofa and spacious clean bathroom. Quite place to stay with a few restaurants around. Rooms and towels are clean with enough coffee / tea and mineral drinks complimentary. Peaceful environment with few shops available for your needs. Reasonable prices and recommended if happened to be in Sandakan and a bit far from the city centre.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank kamarasaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Due to bad weather, the airline has given us a voucher to stay overnight at this hotel.

As this was a last minute arrangement, the hotel staff reacted quickly to help us to get into the room and rest as it was past midnight when we arrived.

I am impressed with the teamwork of the boss and his staffs. They tried their best.

Overall, this is a simple hotel with warm and helpful staffs tombstone goes all the to help us who are hungry and tired at that very moment.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
4  Thank TayBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Not a terrible hotel but our experience was not pleasant.

My wife and I came back to Sandakan for Cheng Beng, we chose this hotel because it is near to our relatives' house so that they can pick us up easily, but to be honest, I somehow regretted choosing it.

Thumbs up:
1) We were granted for early check-in at 11am (2pm standard time) and late check-out at 2pm (12 pm standard time) without additional charges. Appreciate that I must say. :)
2) Very friendly and helpful staff. We had some difficult time during our stay but the staff have been very helpful in solving the problem (more on that later).
3) Despite the place is surrounded by very limited F&B shops, the food of Min Satay Corner are not bad, but don't expect for Chinese food in this location.

Thumbs down:
1) We were suppose to sleep early on the day we checked in because we needed to wake up early the next day at about 5.30am. Then something horrible happened: a restaurant opposite our room (No.101), namely Rasa Kita, was having an open-door karaoke session. We couldn't sleep at all despite of tiredness. We requested to change room but the other rooms are full. Kudos to the staff who actually lodged a complaint to the restaurant and reported to the police. Not sure whether the police acted on it but the noise stopped at around 10.30pm, so we finally got to sleep. (Not sure whether the karaoke session was one-off or regular, do check with the hotel if you want to stay here)
2) The air-conditioning took quite a long time to get chilled.
3) TV actually not working (showing "error in redirecting"). We didn't watch TV anyway so we didn't complain.
4) I don't normally bring along my toothbrush and toothpaste when I travel because the hotels normally offer one. They don't (I didn't ask for one actually).

Overall:
Kudos to the friendly and helpful staff but sorry to say that I wouldn't choose the hotel again. For RM130 per night, I think I can get a much better hotel in Sandakan, like in location of Prima Square.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fung9815
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews