We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mark's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mark's Lodge
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

After 3 days & 2 nights in Kinabatangan river cruise, we hand up to this hotel which at first make us feel not very pleased as it is in a new shop lot area but as we were flying early morning the next day following the tour company was a good place to stay. At our arrival around 1pm , after a fast check in, we didn't wanted to stay into the room and visit Sandakan, we decide to move on our way, but the receptionist has been approaching us and asking what does we wanted to do or where we wanted to go. As the location is pretty distance of the city center (10min drive about), he propose us to call a taxi and arrange a full city tour for us with some stop where you can enjoy food (English Tea House for tea break, Sim Sim Seafood Restaurant for Dinner & Balin top roof bar of the Nak Hotel for a drink) it was very convenient as we paid the taxi fare by hours, we left the hotel this afternoon by 2pm and only get back by 10pm full of fantastic moments. Pretty exhausted,we run up to our room to enjoy a very good quality bed (topper, very good linen, many pillows, love it), room was cosy, well designed, wifi well functioning. Breakfast had limited choice but enough for pleasing us.
All in all we did enjoy our stay here as it was a perfect to fulfill our last day in sandakan

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asa-Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    15
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
9
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Although the room was a bit small but it is well designed that it doesn't feel claustrophobic, warm atmosphere. It is close to shops, coffee shops (7heaven have wonderful dessert, equador for starbuck coffee style), 400 m walking distance of nightlife spot (clubs & bar). We have one room service lunch order western food, I was very surprise of their club sandwich & burger, really huge quantity and really reall tasty.We choose this hotel as it is quite close to the airport but quite a quite a distance to town centre. The Hotel haven't got life I didn't like it (but that's just me, I'm lazy), but it is only 2 storey building

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chunky92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time during my business trip. The hotel is located in a commercial area, convenient access to food, cafe, massage, convenient store, pubs etc.

Hotel is very well kept, one of the best amongst its category. Clean, bright and smells fresh! The only downside is there is no lift, so always request for ground floor rooms to save the hassle of walking up staircase.

Overall a very good hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsonKho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
257 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Had to stay the night here as our aircraft broke down and we had accomodations arranged for us at this hotel for the night.

Got a room on the ground floor, single bed. Facing the street. Quiet. Air cond is good and cold. Has all you need for the night. Comfy bed and 11 channels on the telly including the all important ESPN and Star sports.

A bit out of the way as it is at the back of bandar baru sandakan and about 7 or 8 kilometers from the old town, not that there is anything great about old sandakan town anyways.

Lots of food outlets nearby if you don't mind walking. You get what you would pay for I think.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diving-Addiction00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We were sent there by the airline which had cancelled its flight. We arrived after 9 pm. Warning: there are no lifts in this hotel. We proceeded to the restaurant which had about 11 people at the time, many of whom were a result of the cancelled flight. However, the service was so slow, food did not arrived until well over 1.5 hours by which time, before which time, we asked for the food and drinks to be sent up to our room. We were ready to sleep let alone eat dinner. The airconditioning did not seem to work despite making booming noise throughout the night like it should have worked (but did not).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with working air-conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journey2there2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I've booked 4 rooms for 2 nights from 4th-6th August, 2012. There are 8 of us with 4 retirees, my 2 teenagers boys and my husband and me. Location is good with many shops around. Walking distance to the famous ice-cream store 7 Heaven. The hotel is actually shop lot turn into hotel. There is no lift so climbing up the stairs may be a bit tiring. Make sure you ask for a room at Ground floor if you are travelling with elderly or don't want to walk up the stairs. The room and bathroom is clean. The most outstanding thing is the friendly staff and manager Lionel. I am really impressed by the attentiveness of the staff. The bell boy actually manage to recognize us and brought umbrellas to us during a rainy day when we came back at night, even though we park our car about 8 shops away from the hotel. The manager, Lionel has been very friendly and helpful in every way. It's been a wonderful stay with them and we will definitely go back if we ever visit Sandakan again. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Lionel and the staff for their excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at Ground floor if you are travelling with people who has problem climbing up the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calmstmh-Sereen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

The room and the bathroom are clean but quite small if to compare to other hotels in Sandakan. To pay for this price I find it was not too worthy.  There is no lift in the hotel as level 3 is the highest floor but just imagine if you are having a big and  heavy luggage to check in? One thing I was attracted is their design in the lobby and the staircase while you walk  up to your room.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
3.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
3.8 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#10 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#9 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Pavilion Hotel
The Pavilion Hotel
#14 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark's Lodge

Property: The Mark's Lodge
Address: Lot 1-7 Block 36, Bandar Indah, Mile 4, North Road, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mark's Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark's Lodge has 38 rooms equipped with accommodation amenities to make your stay with us most comfortable. Located in the busiest and trendies part of town, supermarkets, boutiques, lounges, cafes, recreation centers and club that are just a walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Mark's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark's Lodge Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing