We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mometo
Los Angeles, California

Central and safe location, clean and professional service

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Sept 2015
I stayed in this hotel during my visit for Chinese New Year 2015 to Malaysian Borneo. It is centrally located in Sandakan, equal distance to all major attractions. The area is residential and secluded, much different from the hustle and bustle of other areas of town. One can easily hire a taxi or tour operator to drive them from the hotel to a places of interest. The rooms are super clean, with lots of amenities including clean slippers. The beds are comfortable with soft sheets. The floor is wooden so therefore very clean as well. They serve breakfast that includes all possibilities, from European to Asia dishes. Great beer and coffee service as well, with peanuts and other snacks served, daily offerings of fruits. The management maintains a high standard of service, and the price is reasonable and competitive in comparison to other places on the island.
Date of stay: February 2015
Room Tip: One side faces the parking the other faces private housing, both are quite
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Superior / Deluxe King
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £33
  • Trip.com
0.3 miles from The Mark's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
    £45
  • ZenHotels.com
    £44
  • eDreams
0.8 miles from The Mark's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cafe
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £17
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from The Mark's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Main Photo
£24
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
    £24
1.2 miles from The Mark's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Superior Twin
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £37
  • Expedia.com
    £40
3.2 miles from The Mark's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £27
  • StayForLong
1.6 miles from The Mark's Lodge
Free Wifi
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £17
  • eDreams
3.4 miles from The Mark's Lodge
Free Wifi
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £31
  • Expedia.com
    £48
3.4 miles from The Mark's Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £27
  • Trip.com
1.1 miles from The Mark's Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £18
  • Booking.com
2.1 miles from The Mark's Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sandakan
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
16
18
10
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
18
10
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Stayed in this hotel twice
1st stay was on August 2015, 2nd stay was from 2 Spet - 4 Sept 2015 - both 2 night stayed

Reception & Lobby area
- Front desk was okay, friendly and helpful
- Lobby is cozy though they need put more sofa for guest to sit.

Room
- Stayed in Room 105 during my 1st & 2nd stay
- During my 1 st stay, i asked for non smoking room but they said, all rooms even though they did not provide ashtray, some guests they just smoke in the room. What they can do is to help me to spray air freshener in the room which it did help a little.
- I like my room, it's nice, clean and quite spacious.
- Toilet is clean too. Toiletries is complete accept no tooth brush and tooth paste provided.
-next to my room there's a mini gym.
- Closet has funny smells though. I hope the management can do something about it.
- Wifi is quite slow

Breakfast
- So- so, it's okay for the price we pay.
- Suggestion, besides cakes (which was not look tempting), maybe they could serve few types of local traditional cakes

Hotel location
- Great location, we own parking area
- Near eateries
- Quiet surrounding area

Room tip: Corner room at ground floor is near to the mini gym. less noisy
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

I'm a bit skeptical when I saw a Cert on the reception counter saying that this hotel was rated as a 3 star hotel by Ministry of Tourism Malaysia. Just judged from the exterior of the hotel. My 1st impression was this so called boutique luxury hotel in their website will be another "marketing" scam by putting a fake photo of the hotel's room.

. OnceI

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Joeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2015

The price is a gift compared with the quality of beds and food. The dinner at the restaurant was amazing. Alla cart options, with local and international delicacies. The best treat in our Borneo Journey.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DaniVarela89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2015 via mobile

Though the management have changed, the quality still pretty much the same. Room is spacious and always clean. Bathroom tastefully designed. Yes. Bathroom. Simple breakfast, nothing to shout about. The only thing maybe is the condition of the aircond. Noisy and hard to measure. It seems either too cold or too warm.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank AlexQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

Mark's Lodge is located inTaman Indah Shoplots. It was converted from a few three storey shoplots of the last row of shop in Taman Indah, facing the backyard of some terrance house. So the sorrounding was rather quite. This might be a plus point for travellers who have cars needing convenient on-site parkings.

We chose to stay in this hotel because of the need to visit one of the nearby schools and also due to many advices from friends who felt that downtown in Sandakan could be quite rough at night time.

We arrived the hotel in the morning well before the official check in time. The room was not ready yet. The very friendly reception young man politely took care of our small baggage and promised us he would call once the room was ready, which he did before noon. Check in was smooth.

There was no lift in this hotel. It would be very inconvenient if you happened to have heavy luggages. We had only a small trolley bag so we were fine. The room was a spacious deluxe twin bedded room on the first floor. It was rather clean and well lit except the toilet's lights were too dim. The furnitures especially the tablet top looked old and warned with stains. Laminated floor looked clean.

The beds were comfy but do not expect those expensive bed sheets which you get in five stars international chain hotels. The air con was efficient and cool.

Breakfast began only after 7am. Hence we pre-arranged packed breakfast ready at 6am. They packed into 2 bags for us. By the time we brought the food up to our room, we realised that one of bags was invaded with hundreds of ants insides and outside the plastic containers !!!! So we ended up having to discard it. We had no time to complain or re-order

The second morning, we managed to have breakfast in their cafe. Buffet breakfast was very basic. There were some limited selection of fruit juice, white bread with locally made jam (with strange taste), noodles, fish cake, extremely sweet cakes, cornflakes and local fruits. They did not serve freshly brewed coffee.. Only self-serviced hot beverages were available, by adding hot water to instant coffee granules or tea bags.

We paid slightly more than Rm 200 per night. It was not cheap for a three stars hotel at a quiet not much happening place. A bit extra could put us in a 4 stars international brand hotel, Four Points by Sheraton, in town centre. We would have chosen that hotel if it were not due the recent kidnapping incidence at one of the coastal eateries near town area.

A better choice perhaps, was to stay at the newer area at Prima Square just opposite Taman Indah. There were many hotels here but were all fully booked the time we visited.

In general, a fine budget hotel (comparatively not so budget in fact) to stay in. We had a comfy stay indeed.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank SleekVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews