We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some bits were good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Borneo Nature Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Some bits were good!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The welcome and friendliness of the staff made a good initial impression. The river cruises and walk
Through the jungle from Ox Bow lake were really good and the night river cruise was also very good. We rented wellington boots for the walk and that was a sensible thing to do because it was very muddy in some places on the walk. We saw several orangutans and lots of proboscis monkeys , plus other types of monkeys. We saw about 40 pygmy elephants fairly close up as they were grazing by the side of the river.

The reason that I can only describe the lodge as average is because the rooms were very basic and freezing cold as the air con had to be on the whole time in order to heat up the water. There was no where comfortable to sit, either you sat on the bed (in a cold room) or on wooden chairs outside. The rooms were also not serviced while we wwre tjere for pir three night stay. There were several hours between the organised cruises so a few comfortable chairs would have been welcome. There were a few wicker chairs in front of the TV, but not comfortable or relaxing if the TV was on.

The other disappointment was the limited choice of food and the lukewarm temperature of the food even at the beginning of the serving time. Praise to the restaurant staff for always being friendly and helpful.

Just need to improve the food and get some cushions for the lodge to be very good. The main attraction is the wildlife bit other lodges in the jingle have succeeded in providing a not of comfort and better food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gelandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for the compliments and comments here. I have to apologize when you mentioned that your room was not service as normally our housekeeping do and have rectified this with the lodge in-charge.

As for the cold room, you could actually control the temperature at the remote control and we will take note on the cushions mentioned even though we have the rattan furniture at the lounge.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    61
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
30
101
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We were told "this is a lodge not a five star resort" when we arrived it is basic but lovely, I am vegetarian and they happily looked after me. Great friendly service, someone even came over with an umbrella as it was raining when we were due to leave. And the river trips were brilliant.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwitraveller025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for the compliments and glad you have enjoyed your stay. You are right it is not a five star resort but a two star lodge in the middle of the jungle.

Hope to be at your service again in the future and take care.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We really liked the concept of this eco friendly hotel. Without sacrificing any of the comfortable features of a regular hotel, it has been built and kept following strict envirnmental requirements. It makes really good use of the water supply, as well as the electricity. Also, the food and the service is top quality. They are really involved with local development and you can tell. Also the tours to the river are amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlsben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for the compliment and like our concept. Glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and appreciate if you could pass around the words.

Look forward to be at your service again!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Had a thoroughly enjoyable 2-night stay in July. All the staff are very friendly and welcoming. The lodge rooms are quite basic but comfortable. The environmental policies were well explained on arrival (to make sure we were not expecting 5-star!) but air-conditioning and water heating all worked well. The river excursions provided lots of wildlife encounters and the guides were obviously keen to maximise opportunities. We would happily recommend the lodge for anyone visiting the region.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajd02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for the compliment and the recommendation. Glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Borneo Nature Lodge and appreciate if you could pass the words around.

Look forward to be at your service again and just keep in touch!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the BNL recently as part of our honeymoon and were delighted with our visit. The location is perfect for access to river safaris (we were lucky enough to have a guide to assist us) and viewing the amazing wildlife of Borneo. The lodgings themselves were basic but very clean and tidy, and the food was also reasonable. There was even a viewing platform - perfect for star gazing. What really made the place special was the warmth and hospitality of the staff. The surprise (wedding) served on our last night was extremely thoughtful. Overall, a great spot to enjoy the delights of Borneo!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hi there,

Congratulation on your wedding and thank you for the compliment for your stay at Borneo Nature Lodge. Glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and would appreciate if you could pass the words around.

Look forward to welcome you again to Sabah!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile


It was an amazing experience in this lodge. I cannot say that this is a 2 star rated hotel as the service provided was excellent. We were on our honeymoon and the staff treated us with a surprise romantic dinner and with a nicely decorated room.

Situated in a very quiet and peaceful area, surrounded with greenery. Waking up to the sounds of the birds whistling is such a relaxing experience.

Food was healthy and quite delicious!

Would recommend to everyone!

A+

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xplando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for the compliment and glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Appreciate if you could pass the words around.

Look forward to be at your service again and just keep in touch!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in Borneo nature lodge last week. The accommodation is a lodge but comfortable and clean, what really makes this place great are the staff. We were on honeymoon and they made it all the more special by decorating our room and a special table in the restaurant. Most people stay for a couple of nights and spend the day on river cruises or nature walks, our guide Beanie managed to show us lots of monkeys, birds and even crocodiles. Unfortunately we did not get to see a Pygmy elephants. We were really lucky to meet a nice family also staying there who made the evenings entertainment teaching us new card games!!

Room Tip: Pack bug spray and waterproofs! Bring a book or a game for the evening and ear plugs if you are a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hi there,

Thank you so much for the compliment and glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the lodge and spending honeymoon in the jungle. Would appreciate if you could pass the words around.

May be you could come again next time and be lucky with the pygmy elephants and look forward to be at your service again.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
26.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
34.5 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
614 reviews
5.4 mi away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#6 of 29 in Sandakan
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
5.1 mi away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
252 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Nature Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Nature Lodge

Property: Borneo Nature Lodge
Address: No. 41 Block 3, 1st Floor, Prima Square, Phase 1, Mile 4, North Road, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Borneo Nature Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eco-friendly lodge nestled along the riverbank of Kinabatangan river the longest and biggest river in Sabah.The Lower Kinabatangan is one of Sabah's most splendid natural treasures and the richest concentration of wildlife in South East Asia. The lodge has 12 rooms with an additional twin-sharing handicapped friendly room equipped with air-condition and attached bathroom. Appreciate the "Green" details practise by the lodge where at night all electrical items run on solar power. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Borneo Nature Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Nature Lodge Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing