We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Borneo Nature Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Varberg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recent visit”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A wonderful, peaceful place, peaceful and amiable people and wonderful meals. The cook was a wonderful guy!
The service and everything is basic, so do not expect luxury (except the food which was really first class!)

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taridoc t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, 5 December 2014
Hi there,

Apology for the delay reply from our side!

Anyway thank you for the compliment and glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us at BNL.

Look forward to be at your service again in the near future and just keep in touch!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    61
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
30
101
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Borneo Nature Lodge is by no means a "Club Med" resort, but as a rainforest experience and lodge, it is very comfortable. We chose this particular lodge as it appeared to be the only one which offered airconditioning. We did, however, discover that, in keeping with its policy of being eco-friendly, the aircon was turned off overnight, but, in fact, we found that the fans were sufficient to keep the room cool overnight, as the roof is also insulated with leaf matter on top of the tin. The rooms have beautiful outlooks into the rainforest environment, and each cahalet is connected by a boardwalk. The meals provided were simple, but adequate. The staff were very friendly, and well-trained- special thanks to Wandie & Ain- your smiles & helpfulness made each mealtime a pleasure. We enjoyed the three boat trips we did into different areas of the Kinabatangan, seeing proboscis monkeys, macaques, hornbills, orang-utans, numerous birds and insects.......and leeches!! Despite info saying we would need leech socks, we did not- it was sufficient to wear long trousers tucked inside socks, and a long-sleeved shirt/ blouse for the short rainforest walk undertaken during the morning boat trip. We did a 3 night package which we purchased directly through the lodge online, which included pickup from our hotel in Sandakan, one night out on Selingan (Turtle) Is, Sepilok Orangutan Rehab Centre, transfer to & from the Kinabatangan, accommodation for 2 nights at Borneo Nature Lodge, visit to Gomantong Cave & a city tour of Sandakan- a very worthwhile package. My only regret is that we didn't see a pygmy elephant!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, 5 December 2014
Hi there,

Apology for the delay reply from our side!

Anyway thank you for the compliment and glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us at BNL.

Look forward to be at your service again in the near future and just keep in touch! Hopefully next time you will have luck with the pygmy elephants then.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The lodge is about 2 hours by car from Sandakan, plus a 10 minute transfer by boat. It is located at Sukau on the Kinabatangan river. We stayed 2 nights and had three excellent trips on the river and its tributaries. Wildlife was in abundance from crocs, wild orangs, proboscis monkees, macaques, numerous birds,snakes, and insects. The early morning stroll through the jungle was exciting and interesting. Wellington boots are provided but ensure that you wear long trousers and long sleeved shirts! The leeches are everywhere in the jungle.We were very lucky with our guide throughout our time here, Jame, whose knowledge was superb, and he taught us a lot about life in the rain forest and Borneo in general.
Note that you are in the rain forest and should not expect or wish for all modcons. The rooms are basic and yes they have all that you need including aircon which does switch off at 10.30, but as another reviewer said, this is not a problem, embrace the experience. The food is basic but great, and the staff including the wonderful Wandi are very helpful and friendly.
There are insects but that is what insect repellant is for!!
Thoroughly recommend this experience!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thornpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, 5 December 2014
Hi there,

Apology for the delay reply from our side!

Anyway thank you for the compliment and glad to hear that you have enjoyed your tour and your stay with us at BNL.

Look forward to be at your service again in the near future and just keep in touch!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
172 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

we were quite happy to look at the lodge. it should be the best among the other lodges in the same area. however, we were very disappointed about the price we paid and also package we had. which we could have done a bit more at our stay there with more activity or so
the bathroom is very basic which is ok. however, we found a leech in the toilet bowl and that freaked me out. we also found the room full of insects and a big one even crawling on me. i think they could make a better way to balance out the insects and the wildlife out there such as setting up a mosquito net or something that keeps the mosquitoes out.
air conditioner electricity supply stopped at night and luckily that it wasn't too hot

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shenzhen
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our family really enjoyed staying at the lodge. We were able to spot elephants, proboscis, macaques, crocs and an assortment of snakes. The river is beautiful and offers an amazing opportunity for photos. Just don't swim in the river;)

Room Tip: Be sure to confirm your room, and clearly state if you want adjoining rooms. The cabins are separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinashenzhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, 5 December 2014
Hi there,

Apology for the delay reply from our side!

Anyway thank you for the compliment and glad to hear that you have enjoyed your tour and your stay with us at BNL.

Look forward to be at your service again in the near future and just keep in touch!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Recommend you book independently - BNL for instance - as it will be cheaper than through a tour operator and the tour operators seem to be running a good, well organised operation.
I think you would have little issues booking directly with operators throughout Borneo to tailor your trip to your needs. We used a UK operator and they had just sub-contracted to BNL with their inevitable mark up. BNL will also tailor your ongoing trip - we needed to get to Lahad Datu for the next lodge and they will take you there (needs a very early start for the transfer but worth it).

They will pick you up from Sandakan and take you the two and a half hours (tarmac - some rough) drive to Sukau. From here you go on a boat for five minutes to the lodge. The facilities are simple but were absolutely fine - air conditioned until 10:30 pm which is absolutely fine.

Meals are taken in air conditioned room. The food is simple, nourishing and typical of the country, fruit, curry, rice etc. Fish and meat options.

Staff very friendly throughout.

There are no activities other than the organised river activities so take a book for the rest times. However our guide joined us on the viewing platform and we had some great bird watching just sitting on the platform with our binoculars, amazing wildlife.

We were woken up for the afternoon river cruise by long-tailed macaques running across the roof of our lodge and just playing around in the grounds. Other than that no animals came through the lodge.

Activities on the river were excellent. All three river cruises (across the two days) provided a different experience. We saw Proboscis monkeys, a solitary Orang Utan, many varieties or hornbills, kingfisher, buzzards, eagles, two or three other varieties of monkeys etc.

For us this was the best wildlife viewing of our trip to Borneo and we went on to the Borneo Rainforest Lodge and the Bako National Park down in Sarawak. Because you're on the boat you can get really close to the wildlife and there just seemed to be more of it visible as you cruised down the river.

The boats take up to six people and that's the only thing to be aware of - you'll be in a group which should be fine. The guide we had was brilliant; his knowledge was because he had a real interest in the wildlife, in fact all the guides we met on at the BNL were very knowledgeable and everyone was super friendly.

If I had to give one tip for visitors to Borneo it would be take a couple of nights on the Kimbutangan River.

Room Tip: No need to specify a room. I would recommend using BNL direct for your booking, they seem to know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MycroftAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, 5 December 2014
Hi there,

Apology for the delay reply from our side!

Anyway thank you for the compliment and glad to hear that you have enjoyed your tour and your stay with us at BNL.

Look forward to be at your service again in the near future and just keep in touch!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have received outstanding service from the staff. The local food was a real stand-out beside the river cruises and the fauna we have seen during the 2 nights stay. I higly recommend the place and the early morning cruise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasna111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for the compliment and glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.

Appreciate if you could pass around the words.

Look forward to be at your service again in the future.

Till then, take care & keep in touch!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
26.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
34.5 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
614 reviews
5.4 mi away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#6 of 29 in Sandakan
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
5.1 mi away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
252 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Nature Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Nature Lodge

Property: Borneo Nature Lodge
Address: No. 41 Block 3, 1st Floor, Prima Square, Phase 1, Mile 4, North Road, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Borneo Nature Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eco-friendly lodge nestled along the riverbank of Kinabatangan river the longest and biggest river in Sabah.The Lower Kinabatangan is one of Sabah's most splendid natural treasures and the richest concentration of wildlife in South East Asia. The lodge has 12 rooms with an additional twin-sharing handicapped friendly room equipped with air-condition and attached bathroom. Appreciate the "Green" details practise by the lodge where at night all electrical items run on solar power. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Borneo Nature Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Nature Lodge Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing