We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
May Fair Hotel(Sandakan)
View Hotel
Hotel Lagenda(Sandakan)
View Hotel
Hotel City Star(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Samila(Sandakan)
View Hotel
Hotel London(Sandakan)
View Hotel
NAK Hotel(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sandakan(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel New Sabah(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,327)
Filter reviews
1,327 results
Traveller rating
583
553
142
32
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
553
142
32
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolclub roomshopping mallspg membersea viewfish marketcorner roombreakfast buffetfirst floorsulu seamodern hotellocal marketlocal foodwater frontstayed here for nightsturtle islandcomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
759 - 764 of 1,327 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Four Points for a total of 4 nights and loved the fantastic views from the hotel. The rooms were luxurious, comfortable and clean. The reception staff, bell boys and cleaning staff were friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately the breakfast was very disappointing - service was as good as non-existing, you were not offered coffee unless you went to the staff and requested it yourself and not once did they refill your cup. There were a good selection of Asian food, otherwise the Western food variety was disappointing. There were a selection of three types of fruit, watermelon, pineapple and melon. I would have loved to see some of the large variety of tropical fruits which are readily available everywhere and cost so little served in stead. The restaurant Eatery also serves dinner, and we made the mistake of dining here one evening. The dinner was the poorest we had on our 4 week holiday in South East Asia. Neither of us finished our dinner and we had to go and find a other restaurant afterwards. In the evening they had live music in the bar and the drinks were excellent. I can highly recommend the hotel for a stay, but skip the breakfast and go to one of the many excellent restaurants just a short walk from the hotel in stead. Pay a bit extra for a sea view room, the view from the 24 story was breathtaking!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Ingemar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Ingemar H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to know that you love the fantastic view from our hotel, the room, and our service from receoption associates. While I wish you had a better experience in our food & beverage, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Not really the nicest town for us , but was a stop off for other places- we thought a great place to stay on the harbours edge. Price is good, we had good food there-a set 3 course meal in hotel restaurant was AUD$12. -amazing. Smiling helpful staff. Great pool .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suzd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Suzd22,

Thank you very much indeed for sharing your great comment for our hotel in here. We are very much appreciated and happy to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

If you like your home comforts, this is the place to stay in Sandakan. Travellers guides implied (correctly) that there was not a lot to do in Sandakan town itself so we chose the hotel that was the most comfortable. We splashed out for a suite and this was a good choice as we spent some time there around tours and we had access to the Executive Lounge with complementary tea/coffee/snacks/cocktails, which was a nice place to spend time at odd times of the day/evening. Generally staff were on a real mission to be as helpful as possible. The only exception to this was when we had to send a steak back in the restaurant as it had been ordered as well-done and came to the table medium-rare at best. Although we tried to be as pleasant about this as possible, felt staff were apprehensive about approaching us. Our other problem was trying to find free sunbeds by the pool. There do not appear to be enough for the size of the hotel.
However, to be clear, we had a very enjoyable stay in a very comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going to be spending some time in Sandakan town, get the best room you can as you may end up spending significant time there, as there is not much to do other than wildlife tours
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Derry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Derry B,

Thank you so much for taking your time in sharing your experience at our hotel and also giving us some constructive feedback to work on. We are glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us. Suite was definitely a very good choice indeed. It is nice to know that you like our Executive Lounge experience as well. I am so sorry about the restaurant experience with the steak issue you had faced. I had highlighted this to our Food & Beverage team both to improve in food quality and also the associate to handle guest comment properly. Hope you would try it again in your next visit. Last but not least, we do know the issue with not enough sun lounges by the pool especially during peak season. We are in the process to get more of those to accommodate our lovely guests.

We hope to welcome you back to Sandakan and our hotel again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed out stay here so definitely a 4.5/5! It looks and feels like a very new hotel. It's right on the harbour front, well worth a look into the market next door and the places to eat around and about.

Only really had a couple of small criticisms. Not surprisingly maybe given that this is a new western hotel in an area with few other western hotels, some of the staff seemed a little inexperienced. We also found the food in the restaurant we had for our evening meal (The Eatery) a bit hit and miss, some dishes were ok, others not that good (my wife had kung pao chicken which didn't taste that good). But breakfast in the same restaurant was great.

Great pool on the 13th floor is another highlight.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewlandsMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear NewlandsMiddlesex,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We do take note on your commend regarding our food which we will continue improving it. Hope you would notice the difference in your next visit. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

With two jungle based "roughing it" tours booked this place was a welcome relief. Brilliant staff, brilliant rooms and fantastic roof pool. Only complaint might be that the food and drink was pretty expensive but not an issue when room is only £40!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank burgerfan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear burgerfan001,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We had taken note on the pricing and will look into it with the team. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews