We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
Wangaratta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great first impression with wonderful staff. We stayed 1 night prior to a tour and 1 night after. The hotel offered to keep our luggage for the night that we were not staying with them which was fantastic. We had a fantastic room the first night overlooking the south end and harbour and the 2 night we had a wonderful view of the north harbour. Rooms were lovely, clean and modern. The pool was beautiful. My only gripe would be that the gym lacked inspiration. It felt as if the few pieced of equipment was put into a spare room and too hot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear happestos,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your comment about our gym and will look into this matter for future renovation.

Hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    466
    117
    19
    15
See reviews for
232
505
66
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aussie in the world
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Comfortable sized rooms, though not sound proofed, you can easily hear your neighbours, especially if children or loud talkers! Breakfast was included and this is substantial. Executive deal with it, especially if you enjoy a glass of wine as this is not easy to find in Borneo. Pool is lovely although so chlorinated it burns your eyes badly. Staff are helpful, but service does not compare to other Sheraton Hotels.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank trav-lersmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights here whilst visiting animal sanctuaries in Sepilok. Hotel is ok - you get what you pay for. Rooms are decent size and beds comfortable. Bathrooms are quite small but there is a big walk in shower. Cleanliness of rooms was a bit lacking (sheets were a bit dirty and didn't get changed).When we checked in we were told we had been upgraded and there would be a gift in the room as it was our honeymoon - both lies! Pool is nice. There are 2 restaurants but both have the same menu!? Bar is nice and live music show was very good. Hotel is on the harbour but Sandakan itself is not the nicest place - the backstreets of the hotel are not nice at all and we didn't feel safe walking round there, people are unfriendly and streets are filthy. Overall, ok for a base. If you are just going to visit the sanctuaries in Sepilok and a few other tourist things in Sandakan you only need one full day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Lauren M,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. It is nice to hear that you had enjoyed our room, swimming pool and had a great experience in our Best Brew bar. However, I am sorry to hear that our team did not deliver the room upgrade and amenities as informed. We will coach our associates again to ensure we provide the service up to standard and deliver items as we committed to guest.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you back to Sandakan and our hotel again soon.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

No complaints about the rooms. They are spacious and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. However, the food is not up to par. We had an 'American' barbeque buffet at the Best Brew restaurant on a Friday night for about RM38++ per person and it was not worth a single cent. The beef patty in my burger was chewy and inedible. I took one bite and couldn't eat it anymore. The roast beef was basically a piece of rubber. Salad was served without any dressing. For a hotel of this level, I would expect the food to be decent. Please hire better chefs and get better quality ingredients.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_chili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear travelling_chili,

Thank you very much for your review sharing in here. We are glad to know that you like our room and our associates. On the other hand, we are appreciated your constructive feedback given about our BBQ food quality. We are so sorry for not being able to satisfy you on this occasion. I had personally addressed this with our Executive Chef and he would immediately improve this for the next BBQ offer. Hope you would give us another chance to showcase our real quality of food standard we surely can deliver.

Hope we will see you again in Sandakan in not too distant future.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Four Points for a total of 4 nights and loved the fantastic views from the hotel. The rooms were luxurious, comfortable and clean. The reception staff, bell boys and cleaning staff were friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately the breakfast was very disappointing - service was as good as non-existing, you were not offered coffee unless you went to the staff and requested it yourself and not once did they refill your cup. There were a good selection of Asian food, otherwise the Western food variety was disappointing. There were a selection of three types of fruit, watermelon, pineapple and melon. I would have loved to see some of the large variety of tropical fruits which are readily available everywhere and cost so little served in stead. The restaurant Eatery also serves dinner, and we made the mistake of dining here one evening. The dinner was the poorest we had on our 4 week holiday in South East Asia. Neither of us finished our dinner and we had to go and find a other restaurant afterwards. In the evening they had live music in the bar and the drinks were excellent. I can highly recommend the hotel for a stay, but skip the breakfast and go to one of the many excellent restaurants just a short walk from the hotel in stead. Pay a bit extra for a sea view room, the view from the 24 story was breathtaking!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ingemar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Ingemar H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to know that you love the fantastic view from our hotel, the room, and our service from receoption associates. While I wish you had a better experience in our food & beverage, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Not really the nicest town for us , but was a stop off for other places- we thought a great place to stay on the harbours edge. Price is good, we had good food there-a set 3 course meal in hotel restaurant was AUD$12. -amazing. Smiling helpful staff. Great pool .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Suzd22,

Thank you very much indeed for sharing your great comment for our hotel in here. We are very much appreciated and happy to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

If you like your home comforts, this is the place to stay in Sandakan. Travellers guides implied (correctly) that there was not a lot to do in Sandakan town itself so we chose the hotel that was the most comfortable. We splashed out for a suite and this was a good choice as we spent some time there around tours and we had access to the Executive Lounge with complementary tea/coffee/snacks/cocktails, which was a nice place to spend time at odd times of the day/evening. Generally staff were on a real mission to be as helpful as possible. The only exception to this was when we had to send a steak back in the restaurant as it had been ordered as well-done and came to the table medium-rare at best. Although we tried to be as pleasant about this as possible, felt staff were apprehensive about approaching us. Our other problem was trying to find free sunbeds by the pool. There do not appear to be enough for the size of the hotel.
However, to be clear, we had a very enjoyable stay in a very comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going to be spending some time in Sandakan town, get the best room you can as you may end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Derry B,

Thank you so much for taking your time in sharing your experience at our hotel and also giving us some constructive feedback to work on. We are glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us. Suite was definitely a very good choice indeed. It is nice to know that you like our Executive Lounge experience as well. I am so sorry about the restaurant experience with the steak issue you had faced. I had highlighted this to our Food & Beverage team both to improve in food quality and also the associate to handle guest comment properly. Hope you would try it again in your next visit. Last but not least, we do know the issue with not enough sun lounges by the pool especially during peak season. We are in the process to get more of those to accommodate our lovely guests.

We hope to welcome you back to Sandakan and our hotel again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#14 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Address: Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 900000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan is right on a scenic waterfront pedestrian promenade overlooking the Sulu Sea, part of the Sandakan Harbour Square, which offers an indoor marketplace and retail shopping mall within the new Sandakan CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing