We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I was a bit disappointed in Sandakan itself, which is perhaps why I was especially pleased with my decision to stay at the Sheraton for only approx $60/night (excluding tax, etc). Really, the key features were the pool, the room and its view, and the service at the front desk.

Location is about as good as you can get in Sandakan, from what I can tell. There is a full-on market across the street, selling fruit/fish/meat on the first floor, and delicious food on the 2nd and 3rd levels. Nearby are streets with small restos, everything from local seafood to KFC. There is a micro-mall attached to the building with a pharmacy, Body Shop, and a few other shops.

Room Tip: Avoid the "wrapped" resto on the ground floor: poor service and the food was sub-par.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joshuamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Joshuamt,

Thank you very much indeed for sharing your great experience at our hotel in here. We are very much appreciated and happy to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 679 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights in this hotel. I have some mixed feelings. It is probably the best in Sandakan but it has issues. Barely 3 years old and things don't work so well.
We had 3 apartments and we all had issues with elevators not accepting room keys to get to the required floors. We met others in elevators many times who were unable to get to their floors because the lifts were faulty. 3 lifts to the top in a hotel this size causes congestion as well.
In our room our bath plug was faulty, our shower tap didn't work, the toilet was blocked and it took 7 hours to come and fix, the handle fell off the drawer, The power access key slot near the front door was faulty and we could not always get a/c and lighting when we got to the room despite "engineer" trying to fix. The poor guy next doors key would not always work in his door and he had trouble constantly in accessing his room with little help from the hotel.
The food was ok. The issues were communication, lack of access to a cup of coffee with milk, and food quality at times. On one breakfast occasion the food was in the food warmers at room temp and it was not in my view at all safe to eat. particularly the chicken and meat products.
Most of the staff were great but there seems to be a lack of understanding the needs of the guests needs.
Overall not terrible but sad that the service and food still need improving and that it seems to be maintenance poor after only 3 years.
One other warning. The bath tub sides are over 20 cm wide so if you are short or elderly request a shower only room. I have not often seen bath widths this big.

Room Tip: Watch the bath rooms if you are not agile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fishin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear fishin2014,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. The comments about our maintenance issue and food & beverage experiences are well addressed to respective departments' manager. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Warmest regards,

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great first impression with wonderful staff. We stayed 1 night prior to a tour and 1 night after. The hotel offered to keep our luggage for the night that we were not staying with them which was fantastic. We had a fantastic room the first night overlooking the south end and harbour and the 2 night we had a wonderful view of the north harbour. Rooms were lovely, clean and modern. The pool was beautiful. My only gripe would be that the gym lacked inspiration. It felt as if the few pieced of equipment was put into a spare room and too hot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear happestos,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your comment about our gym and will look into this matter for future renovation.

Hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Comfortable sized rooms, though not sound proofed, you can easily hear your neighbours, especially if children or loud talkers! Breakfast was included and this is substantial. Executive deal with it, especially if you enjoy a glass of wine as this is not easy to find in Borneo. Pool is lovely although so chlorinated it burns your eyes badly. Staff are helpful, but service does not compare to other Sheraton Hotels.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank trav-lersmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights here whilst visiting animal sanctuaries in Sepilok. Hotel is ok - you get what you pay for. Rooms are decent size and beds comfortable. Bathrooms are quite small but there is a big walk in shower. Cleanliness of rooms was a bit lacking (sheets were a bit dirty and didn't get changed).When we checked in we were told we had been upgraded and there would be a gift in the room as it was our honeymoon - both lies! Pool is nice. There are 2 restaurants but both have the same menu!? Bar is nice and live music show was very good. Hotel is on the harbour but Sandakan itself is not the nicest place - the backstreets of the hotel are not nice at all and we didn't feel safe walking round there, people are unfriendly and streets are filthy. Overall, ok for a base. If you are just going to visit the sanctuaries in Sepilok and a few other tourist things in Sandakan you only need one full day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Lauren M,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. It is nice to hear that you had enjoyed our room, swimming pool and had a great experience in our Best Brew bar. However, I am sorry to hear that our team did not deliver the room upgrade and amenities as informed. We will coach our associates again to ensure we provide the service up to standard and deliver items as we committed to guest.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you back to Sandakan and our hotel again soon.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

No complaints about the rooms. They are spacious and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. However, the food is not up to par. We had an 'American' barbeque buffet at the Best Brew restaurant on a Friday night for about RM38++ per person and it was not worth a single cent. The beef patty in my burger was chewy and inedible. I took one bite and couldn't eat it anymore. The roast beef was basically a piece of rubber. Salad was served without any dressing. For a hotel of this level, I would expect the food to be decent. Please hire better chefs and get better quality ingredients.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling_chili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear travelling_chili,

Thank you very much for your review sharing in here. We are glad to know that you like our room and our associates. On the other hand, we are appreciated your constructive feedback given about our BBQ food quality. We are so sorry for not being able to satisfy you on this occasion. I had personally addressed this with our Executive Chef and he would immediately improve this for the next BBQ offer. Hope you would give us another chance to showcase our real quality of food standard we surely can deliver.

Hope we will see you again in Sandakan in not too distant future.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Four Points for a total of 4 nights and loved the fantastic views from the hotel. The rooms were luxurious, comfortable and clean. The reception staff, bell boys and cleaning staff were friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately the breakfast was very disappointing - service was as good as non-existing, you were not offered coffee unless you went to the staff and requested it yourself and not once did they refill your cup. There were a good selection of Asian food, otherwise the Western food variety was disappointing. There were a selection of three types of fruit, watermelon, pineapple and melon. I would have loved to see some of the large variety of tropical fruits which are readily available everywhere and cost so little served in stead. The restaurant Eatery also serves dinner, and we made the mistake of dining here one evening. The dinner was the poorest we had on our 4 week holiday in South East Asia. Neither of us finished our dinner and we had to go and find a other restaurant afterwards. In the evening they had live music in the bar and the drinks were excellent. I can highly recommend the hotel for a stay, but skip the breakfast and go to one of the many excellent restaurants just a short walk from the hotel in stead. Pay a bit extra for a sea view room, the view from the 24 story was breathtaking!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Ingemar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Ingemar H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to know that you love the fantastic view from our hotel, the room, and our service from receoption associates. While I wish you had a better experience in our food & beverage, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
539 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
665 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 33 in Sandakan
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 33 in Sandakan
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sandakan
Hotel Sandakan
#11 of 33 in Sandakan
120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#21 of 33 in Sandakan
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan

Address: Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 900000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: £38 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan is right on a scenic waterfront pedestrian promenade overlooking the Sulu Sea, part of the Sandakan Harbour Square, which offers an indoor marketplace and retail shopping mall within the new Sandakan CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing