We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing place to stay in Sandakan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights during our 2 1/2 week honeymoon in Malaysia.

It's a very nice hotel as you would expect. The service was excellent; staff were friendly and very helpful, they helped us sort out some issues with our booking (which were due to no fault of their own).

The room was lovely with a great view. The pool was georgeous and breakfast was tasty and varied too.

We did experience some issues with the lift not going to our floor on a few occasions, but apart from that all was good.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank SJaneF81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear SJaneF81,

Thank you very much indeed for this great review of our hotel sharing in here. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our associates had made you feel delighted. I am sorry to hear about your challenge about our elevator. We had noted and rectified by reviewing the programming. Hope you will notice the difference in your next return to our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you again very soon.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

This 4 star hotel has the best location in Sandakan right on the Harbour overlooking Sandakan Bay. While Sandakan city is rather shabby,the hotel is real luxury with a fab comfort bed and all the extras you would expect including free wifi. Well worth upgrading to a deluxe seaview which has stunning views over the bay. It is located Right next door to the local market and shopping centre which has a good choice of goods. Local restaurants along the waterfront offer food choice and the hotel has a great Pub-"The best Brew" with nightly entertainment. Breakfast was good although with a big influx of people after the memorial service we attended it was almost impossible to get a coffee however I think this was not usual.Lifts where quite slow but had good security which required your room key to access your floor. This proved to be quite complicated for many older guests.
A great base to visit the Must see attractions in the area such as the Sepilok Orantg-Utan REhab Centre,SunBear Conservation Centre and Rainforest Discovery Centre all in the same location around 40mins drive from town as well as the Labuk Bay Proboscis Monkey Sanctuary around 25min from Sepilok. Be warned however that these animals are not in zoos - they come to the viewing platform if they feel like it so allow time in Sandikan incase you need a return visit especially to the Proboscis Monkeys( we tried for a late feeding and none arrived so went back the next day in the morning and this time saw heaps) Also close is the Sandakan Memorial that honours the 2700 Allied prisoners who lost their lives on the Death Marches and POW camp,and is a beautiful landscaped Park with many reminders of the tragedies of war.I would recommend a minimum of a 3-4 night stay to enjoy all the attractions this city has to offer. Sandy Brasier Harvey World travel Mt Waverley Melbourne

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to the seaview rooms for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Harveyworld,

Thank you very much indeed for this detail review of our hotel sharing in here. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our team and facilities have made you feel delighted. You were truly right that we had a busy week with travelers coming for Sandakan Memorial Day. We had learned some experiences from this event and would definitely try to improve them from the next round.

We are looking forward to welcome you again very soon.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is fantastic value for money. We stayed 3 nights here in July 2014 and to me, seemed like the nicest place to stay in Sandakan. I found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful. I read a few reviews on here that this was a ‘5 star hotel’. Don’t be fooled – its nowhere near 5 star hotel quality. The rooms are nice but nothing special, and I found them not to be a 4-star hotel standard of cleanliness. The pool is really lovely – if you can get a sun lounger! Every day when we went down there were people lying on the hard ground as there are only a handful of sun loungers. Seems ridiculous as its such an easy problem to fix! Sandakan itself is pretty run down and not much to see. All in all, a great place as a base for other trips but not a 5-star experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear JenniferScotland,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We loved to hear that you had enjoyed services from our associates. However we are concerned to hear about your pool experience. We are in the plan to increase more numbers of sun lounge. We did notice and had put some chairs to accommodate guests for the time being. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I was a bit disappointed in Sandakan itself, which is perhaps why I was especially pleased with my decision to stay at the Sheraton for only approx $60/night (excluding tax, etc). Really, the key features were the pool, the room and its view, and the service at the front desk.

Location is about as good as you can get in Sandakan, from what I can tell. There is a full-on market across the street, selling fruit/fish/meat on the first floor, and delicious food on the 2nd and 3rd levels. Nearby are streets with small restos, everything from local seafood to KFC. There is a micro-mall attached to the building with a pharmacy, Body Shop, and a few other shops.

Room Tip: Avoid the "wrapped" resto on the ground floor: poor service and the food was sub-par.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joshuamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Joshuamt,

Thank you very much indeed for sharing your great experience at our hotel in here. We are very much appreciated and happy to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights in this hotel. I have some mixed feelings. It is probably the best in Sandakan but it has issues. Barely 3 years old and things don't work so well.
We had 3 apartments and we all had issues with elevators not accepting room keys to get to the required floors. We met others in elevators many times who were unable to get to their floors because the lifts were faulty. 3 lifts to the top in a hotel this size causes congestion as well.
In our room our bath plug was faulty, our shower tap didn't work, the toilet was blocked and it took 7 hours to come and fix, the handle fell off the drawer, The power access key slot near the front door was faulty and we could not always get a/c and lighting when we got to the room despite "engineer" trying to fix. The poor guy next doors key would not always work in his door and he had trouble constantly in accessing his room with little help from the hotel.
The food was ok. The issues were communication, lack of access to a cup of coffee with milk, and food quality at times. On one breakfast occasion the food was in the food warmers at room temp and it was not in my view at all safe to eat. particularly the chicken and meat products.
Most of the staff were great but there seems to be a lack of understanding the needs of the guests needs.
Overall not terrible but sad that the service and food still need improving and that it seems to be maintenance poor after only 3 years.
One other warning. The bath tub sides are over 20 cm wide so if you are short or elderly request a shower only room. I have not often seen bath widths this big.

Room Tip: Watch the bath rooms if you are not agile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fishin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear fishin2014,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. The comments about our maintenance issue and food & beverage experiences are well addressed to respective departments' manager. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Warmest regards,

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great first impression with wonderful staff. We stayed 1 night prior to a tour and 1 night after. The hotel offered to keep our luggage for the night that we were not staying with them which was fantastic. We had a fantastic room the first night overlooking the south end and harbour and the 2 night we had a wonderful view of the north harbour. Rooms were lovely, clean and modern. The pool was beautiful. My only gripe would be that the gym lacked inspiration. It felt as if the few pieced of equipment was put into a spare room and too hot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear happestos,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your comment about our gym and will look into this matter for future renovation.

Hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Comfortable sized rooms, though not sound proofed, you can easily hear your neighbours, especially if children or loud talkers! Breakfast was included and this is substantial. Executive deal with it, especially if you enjoy a glass of wine as this is not easy to find in Borneo. Pool is lovely although so chlorinated it burns your eyes badly. Staff are helpful, but service does not compare to other Sheraton Hotels.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank trav-lersmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
539 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
665 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 33 in Sandakan
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 33 in Sandakan
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sandakan
Hotel Sandakan
#11 of 33 in Sandakan
120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#21 of 33 in Sandakan
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan

Address: Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 900000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: £38 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan is right on a scenic waterfront pedestrian promenade overlooking the Sulu Sea, part of the Sandakan Harbour Square, which offers an indoor marketplace and retail shopping mall within the new Sandakan CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing