We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a quiet vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If you want a quiet vacation”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Basic and clean, good food, good service. Very relaxed environment. good location if you travel to Attractives in Sepilok and Sakau area. don't stay in Downtown. Last night it's heavily downpour, I feel the power of the nature in the room, it is a quite a exp. For a city man.

Room Tip: Have dinner there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankCTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us,

It is good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.

We will continue to strive to provide better services to other guests who stay with us.

Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    215
    188
    83
    49
See reviews for
113
294
50
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We loved it so much we stayed another 4 days. A fabulous place to chill, the gardens are brilliant, yes its a user pays system for the swimming pool but we were ok with that and spent some quality time relaxing by the pool. Our room was clean, air-conditioned: we had a beautiful balcony and even had wifi.

It is so close to the rainforest discovery centre and the orangutan centre you can comfortably walk there.

The staff were so brilliant, especially at the restaurant where they were ever so obliging and friendly, often we were late for breakfast but they would even oblige us with providing a fresh breakfast. They often pointed out interesting wildlife to our 10 year old son, so I would highly recommend this resort for families.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony but ensure you pack your insect repellant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerreBurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us.

It is good that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We have so many interesrting wildlife because we have set aside 20 acres of land to plants fruits trees for all the wildlife in it. And now that the trees are all grown up, all the wildlife can enjoy it.

It is not suprising to Orang Utan, civent cats, Western Tarsier etc to come for a visit.

Looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

To me this place was quite ok. I have read some comments on this resort before I booked a room for three nights and was prepared for worse. The room was basic but fine. I didn't expect a 4star extravaganza anyway, just wanted to stay close to the Sepilok-Orangutans. The breakfast and meals are no highlights and can certainly be improved. They charge you for using the pool and internet (RM 5 for half an hour. The computer is reeeeally old and slow. So you won't get much work done. Be prepared to spend a small fortune.) And sometimes there is no electricity. You might stay in the dark for a while. Better bring a torch.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 61hitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us.

We are located in the jungle and thus the internet line is very slow and we cannot do much about it as it is the service provided by the telecommunication company.

Same goes with the electricity. Sandakan infrastructure is very outdated and one can experience few blackouts (no electricity) in a day. We do have a generator to cater for this problem and it will turn on automatically in about 5 seconds when there is a blackout.

We will continue to work on with our food.

Looking forward to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

It is horrible - like going back in time. Very, very average rooms, paper thin towels, horrible bath rooms. Dining area made us cringe.

They charge you RM5 to swim in the resort pool!

There is no advanatge staying here - when the Orangutan sanctuary closes you are miles out of town. Stay in Sandakan, and get the feel of the town.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
125 Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us.

It is regretted that you did not enjoyed your stay with us.

the RM5 fees to use for the swimming pool is charged for the maintenance and operation of the pool. We are a 2 star resort and we are bold enough to say that we are the only resort in this star category that has a swimming pool facility in whole of Sabah. Normally it would be at least a 4 star resort and the price of the room is at least double of what we charged.

Our rates start from RM28 per person with breakfast in dormitory. We do not make money for charging the fees but merely to cover the maintenance costs. If one is not willing to pay for it, then they do not have to use it. The nearest swimming pool is about 20 minutes from the resort and you are paying a lot more just to get a taxi to go there.

The main advantage people staying with us is the proximity to Sepilok and to experience the jungle. Most of the shops in Sandakan closes at around 5.30pm and basically one is stucked in their hotel room at night facing 4 walls. But staying with us allow one to experience the jungle at night and we can even arrange night walk at the Sepilok Reserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandakan hotels

Beijing
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Look - you know you are going to the jungle - so do not expect starred hotels that you would expect in big cities. This hotel was fine in the environment it is set. Actually better than we had anticipated. We loved the air con in the room and dthe pool - a lovely end to each day. Restaurant was really good - heaps of choice. I know many people would probably be really picky, but for a hotel to be 5 minutes walk from the ornag utan jungle rehabilitation centre - you could not ask for anything better. Do it - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us.

Happy to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

Your comments on the food items and our distance to the sepilok orang utan centre are spot on and we truly appreciate that you have written down what is in our heart and purpose when we set up this resort.

Looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stay in a twin delux a/c room for rm 140. Room was very comfortable, only one small complaint; the walls between rooms are very thin and if you are unfortunate enough to have the neighbours from hell then sleep will be a long time coming. The hotel staff were exceedingly helpful; tracking down the airport taxi driver and arranging for a piece of luggage we left in the boot to be left at airport information and secondly changing our room very promptly to escape our neighbours from hell. There is a pool at the hotel which looked very inviting, sadly we didn't have time to use it. Guests are charged rm 5 to use the pool which is a little odd. The location is lovely with boardwalks to different areas of the hotel. The restaurant food was a little expensive and disappointing. Check out the open turtle pool to the side of the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asummersday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us.

We will continue to monitor to quality of our food.

So far we have hatched more than 30 turtles and release them back to the wild. We will continue to do it to increase its population.

We will always assist our guests if they are facing any problems especially when it deals with luggage. We are glad that we are able to find the bags for you.

Looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoersel, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just spent more than a hour reading most of the negative reviews which I found most of them are not fair. RM 38 (10 Euro) for a bed to a RM 170 (44.74 Euro) for A/C deluxe room both include all you can eat eggs and toast breakfast , both charges are fair and value for money. One should not expect a RM 1500 5 stars facilities and services. We found both the staff and owner are very down to earth,friendly and very helpfull, very much small town , country folks.
We wish the Lim family continue with all the hard work at Sepilok and reward and succcess will follow.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us.

Good to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your true and accurate review and it truly reflects what we are trying to achieve and we are happy that you could see our effort.

Looking forward to serve you agian in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
11.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.4 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
534 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
324 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Jungle Resort

Property: Sepilok Jungle Resort
Address: Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sepilok Jungle Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre, Sepilok Jungle Resort offers comfortable lodging for visitors around the world to get close but un-intrusive glimpse of this nature paradise. It is enclosed within a tropical virgin Borneo Rainforest in Sandakan, Sabah (Borneo), Malaysia. Let its beautiful landscaped gardens and wide expanse of lush jungle transport you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Sepilok Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Jungle Hotel Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Resort Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing