We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Found this resort while doing research for my trip and after reading the reviews, decided to send an email reservation. Reply was prompt and polite and reservation was confirmed immediately, with no guarantees as I prefer to make payment by cash.
I took the bus and dropped off at Sandakan junction and called for instructions on how to get to the lodge. The lady was shocked I was there alone as it was coming to nightfall and it is not a safe place for a single girl to be alone at the junction. Although I had not arranged for transportation, the lady immediately despatched a vehicle to pick me up from the school located near the junction at no extra charge.
Check in was smooth and my room is fantastic. For RM105 a nite, I got a full air-con room was attached bathroom (hot & cold shower) and a small TV. Free wireless is available at the restaurant.
As the place is way out of town, the only place available for food is the restaurant which has a pretty laid-back feel to it. The Food was average with quite small portions, and after two days of dining there only, came to realise the taste of everything is almost the same, just the ingredients vary.Perhaps the portion and the variety could be tweeked a little as its the only place we can chill out in and eat by the time sun sets at 5:30pm?
Great location, beautiful surroundings. Staff were friendly and able to provide information when asked.
Going back again in late September 2012, can't wait!

Room Tip: Email ahead for reservations and room request.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

It is our practise to pick our guests up from the junction when we were informed about it. Otherwise guests would have to walk for 2.75km.

We will continue to provide better food for our guests. Will inform our kitchen about the 'same taste' issue.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us again in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Sepilok Jungle Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2012

Lovely room. We liked that the room had different woods & each was labelled to tell you what it was & which tree it came from. Extra RM5 to use the pool. Breakfast limited but fresh & tasty. Good menu for lunch/evenings. Friendly, helpful staff. Just a couple of minutes walk away from Rainforest discovery centre. Electricity seemed to flicker off at busy periods of usage (when the pool had just closed & 7.00.-7.30am). We saw some lovely birds whilst eating meals & walking around the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Man_city_fan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

It is good to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We will continue to work harder to give the best services to our future customers.

Looking forward to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Basic and clean, good food, good service. Very relaxed environment. good location if you travel to Attractives in Sepilok and Sakau area. don't stay in Downtown. Last night it's heavily downpour, I feel the power of the nature in the room, it is a quite a exp. For a city man.

Room Tip: Have dinner there
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankCTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us,

It is good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.

We will continue to strive to provide better services to other guests who stay with us.

Once again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We loved it so much we stayed another 4 days. A fabulous place to chill, the gardens are brilliant, yes its a user pays system for the swimming pool but we were ok with that and spent some quality time relaxing by the pool. Our room was clean, air-conditioned: we had a beautiful balcony and even had wifi.

It is so close to the rainforest discovery centre and the orangutan centre you can comfortably walk there.

The staff were so brilliant, especially at the restaurant where they were ever so obliging and friendly, often we were late for breakfast but they would even oblige us with providing a fresh breakfast. They often pointed out interesting wildlife to our 10 year old son, so I would highly recommend this resort for families.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony but ensure you pack your insect repellant.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerreBurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for staying with us.

It is good that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We have so many interesrting wildlife because we have set aside 20 acres of land to plants fruits trees for all the wildlife in it. And now that the trees are all grown up, all the wildlife can enjoy it.

It is not suprising to Orang Utan, civent cats, Western Tarsier etc to come for a visit.

Looking forward to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

To me this place was quite ok. I have read some comments on this resort before I booked a room for three nights and was prepared for worse. The room was basic but fine. I didn't expect a 4star extravaganza anyway, just wanted to stay close to the Sepilok-Orangutans. The breakfast and meals are no highlights and can certainly be improved. They charge you for using the pool and internet (RM 5 for half an hour. The computer is reeeeally old and slow. So you won't get much work done. Be prepared to spend a small fortune.) And sometimes there is no electricity. You might stay in the dark for a while. Better bring a torch.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 61hitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you for staying with us.

We are located in the jungle and thus the internet line is very slow and we cannot do much about it as it is the service provided by the telecommunication company.

Same goes with the electricity. Sandakan infrastructure is very outdated and one can experience few blackouts (no electricity) in a day. We do have a generator to cater for this problem and it will turn on automatically in about 5 seconds when there is a blackout.

We will continue to work on with our food.

Looking forward to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

It is horrible - like going back in time. Very, very average rooms, paper thin towels, horrible bath rooms. Dining area made us cringe.

They charge you RM5 to swim in the resort pool!

There is no advanatge staying here - when the Orangutan sanctuary closes you are miles out of town. Stay in Sandakan, and get the feel of the town.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
125  Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you for staying with us.

It is regretted that you did not enjoyed your stay with us.

the RM5 fees to use for the swimming pool is charged for the maintenance and operation of the pool. We are a 2 star resort and we are bold enough to say that we are the only resort in this star category that has a swimming pool facility in whole of Sabah. Normally it would be at least a 4 star resort and the price of the room is at least double of what we charged.

Our rates start from RM28 per person with breakfast in dormitory. We do not make money for charging the fees but merely to cover the maintenance costs. If one is not willing to pay for it, then they do not have to use it. The nearest swimming pool is about 20 minutes from the resort and you are paying a lot more just to get a taxi to go there.

The main advantage people staying with us is the proximity to Sepilok and to experience the jungle. Most of the shops in Sandakan closes at around 5.30pm and basically one is stucked in their hotel room at night facing 4 walls. But staying with us allow one to experience the jungle at night and we can even arrange night walk at the Sepilok Reserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Look - you know you are going to the jungle - so do not expect starred hotels that you would expect in big cities. This hotel was fine in the environment it is set. Actually better than we had anticipated. We loved the air con in the room and dthe pool - a lovely end to each day. Restaurant was really good - heaps of choice. I know many people would probably be really picky, but for a hotel to be 5 minutes walk from the ornag utan jungle rehabilitation centre - you could not ask for anything better. Do it - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thank you for staying with us.

Happy to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

Your comments on the food items and our distance to the sepilok orang utan centre are spot on and we truly appreciate that you have written down what is in our heart and purpose when we set up this resort.

Looking forward to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.0 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
648 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.4 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
40 reviews
11.7 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Jungle Resort

Address: Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: £20 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sepilok Jungle Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre, Sepilok Jungle Resort offers comfortable lodging for visitors around the world to get close but un-intrusive glimpse of this nature paradise. It is enclosed within a tropical virgin Borneo Rainforest in Sandakan, Sabah (Borneo), Malaysia. Let its beautiful landscaped gardens and wide expanse of lush jungle transport you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sepilok Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Jungle Hotel Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Resort Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing