We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sepilok Jungle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We loved this place, we stayed 2 nights in July in a deluxe bungalow which we were really happy with, lovely peaceful view from our balcony. The grounds are breathtaking, the walk to the restaurant every day was a real treat, the pool area way exceeded my expectations and was well with the tiny entry charge, if is a perfect place to cool down after the heat and humidity of the orangutan and discovery centres (which are a very short walk away, and well worth a visit). I must make a special mention to the 2 girls on reception who were amazing, really lovely and friendly and a brilliant asset to the Resort. Would recommend and will definitely return, thank you for a lovely visit.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
HI Lynne P,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are happy that you have had a great time staying with us.

I will pass the compliments to Melda and Regina and I am sure they will be delighted and motivated to serve other tourists in the future.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to serve you again.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    200
    178
    73
    45
See reviews for
103
272
48
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We had two nights here recently. It had a real quirky feel to it, more like you were staying in someone's private residence than in a hotel. Like most of the places we stayed it looks as if its seen better days (my theory is that with the hot humid climate everywhere is at its best on day one and the maintenance jobs come round far more quickly than they do here) but don't let that put you off. The restaurant was fine, adequate although a bit I unexciting for veggies like us. A good option.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavidandMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
HI Davidandmaggie,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

You are absolutely spot on on the climate and maintenance points.

We are in the midst of refurbishing and upgrading some of our facilities. Hopefully it can be completed as soon as possible.

Looking forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The hotel is very well situated with only a five minute walk from the world-famous Sepilok Orang-Utan Rehabilitation Centre. The rooms are spacious and most have good quality air conditioning. The bathrooms in each room are small but decent and with warm showers. The swimming pool is fairly big and only 5RM for a whole day pass, the only set back is that it closes at 5.30pm and has no life guard on duty. The rooms have very comfortable beds with a warm duvet if you get cold, the only problem is a thin window which goes along the top of the wall and has no blind or curtain so the lamps outside shine into your room a bit so it is never fully dark still dark enough to sleep for most people. The laundry service is fairly quick and to a high standard, and staff are very friendly. The restaurant is quite disappointing with expensive but poor quality food and disappointing portion sizes. The resort has not only tropical species of birds around but some quite unpleasant looking dogs roaming the park. I was unlucky enough to see one dog with its ear hanging off but the dogs seem very calm and ignore you if you ignore them. The resort is very beautiful (minus the dogs) during the day but at night has a strange haunted feeling about it which is quite off putting when arriving back to your room late at night or sitting outside in the late evening. Overall this resort has its pros and cons, and is decent if you are only staying a few nights.

Room Tip: Smaller rooms are considerably nicer than the larger rooms. I found that the 2 person room was much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerMaria2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Hi TravellerMaria2013,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are glad that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Actually those are stray dogs and they do not belong to us. We have informed our council and they are suppose to come and clear those dogs but unfortunately the dogs are still around when you were here because it was Hari Raya (Malay New Year) and no one is working.

I will pass your comments about the food to our kitchen.

Thanks for complimenting our staff for being friendly. We have planted many fruits trees around the garden and that is why there are so many wildlife in the area. Do a night walk with us and you will see some nocturnal wildlife which is very interesting.

We look forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I had the privelage of a two night stay at this hotel.
Immediately Ii felt at home as the staff were great. They were friendly and helpful but more importantly very in touch with environment and bird and animal life. One of the staff took me on a night walk and we were very lucky to see a slow Loris and two differnt types of Horn Bills, also frogs and other birds.
The hotel is a bit tired but is more than made up by the staff, the surrounding gardens and proximity to the forrest discovery centre and the Oranutang park
Just loved it and hopefully will visit again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Hi Maureen S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We have been training our staff and encourage them to talk to our customers and treat them as friends and we are glad it paid off. We will pass your compliments to them and I am sure they will be happy.

We have planted many fruits trees around the garden and we are seeing the benefit now. Not only it has become like a jungle but is supplying food to all the wildlife in the area. That is why you can see so many wildlife in the area.

Slow loris!! Lucky you. This is the only venomous primates in the world! However, it is not very very hard to find it within the resort as they stay there.

Give us some time as we are refurbishing the resort now in different phase.

Looking forward to serve you again in the future

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Spent 3 nights in Sepilok Jungle Resort, there was hardly any other travellers and it felt like we were in our own private paradise. The staff were lovely and the grounds were amazing. Overall me and my partner loved our stay but agreed that we wouldn't have wanted to stay for more then 4/5 nights as you would run out of things to do in Borneo and at the resort. The rooms are a little basic and seem and no they are not exactly luxuriousbut once u get past that and realise exactly how beautiful ta bit run down - but they are clean and not dirty at all!! The resort itself is beautiful and beats a hotel any day - especially when considering price! Only thing id say that disappointed me is that only the cafe was open at the resort - the other bar and poolside cafe was closed.

Room Tip: choose the deluxe room with air conditioning - you will need the aircon!!! keep aircon on when you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Hi Hannah V,

Thanks for staying with us.

At the moment only Banana Cafe is open daily from 7.30am to 10.00pm. Poolside cafe is catered for private function only.

We are doing some renovation in different phase and once that is done, we will not be run down anymore. However, thanks for pointing out that we are still very clean inspite being a little bit run down.

Thank you for saying that we can beat any hotel in any day. Appreciated it.

Now, we are doing the male toilets for the dormitory. Once that is done, it will be Banana Cafe.

Actually some people spend 2 weeks in Borneo and they cannot even finished everything in Borneo. However, for Sandakan, a normally 4-5 days would be sufficient depending on where you want to go.

Perhaps next year would be better as they are opening up the outdoor orang utan nursery so you can see those babies training in the jungle gym and also the opening of the Bornean Sunbear Conservation Centre. All within 5 minutes walk from the resort.

Looking forward to serve you again.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a pretty nice resort - not 5-star luxury by any means but you're in the jungle after all. The pool area is nice but it does cost extra to use. The rooms themselves are spacious and clean, the bathrooms are very nice, and the resort surrounds are beautiful and jungle-y. Walking distance to the orangutan sanctuary but if you're planning to go anywhere else you may be in trouble as there's not much around, which is a shame because we found the food at the adjoining Banana Cafe to be pretty sub-par. Overall though, enjoyed our stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Hi Joel M,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We are happy that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We will continue to work harder to improve our Banana Cafe to make it better then sub par.

Yes, our room is indeed big, spacious and clean.

Looking forward to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Our stay at the resort was marred by a rat falling from the ceiling and landing between myself and my 2 children. They sent a man who proceeded to catch it and proudly posed for a photo with it. There was no apology and it was not until later that night when the children were too scared to go in the same room that we asked to move - which they did, to a room next door. I do appreciate that we are in the jungle and that there is abundant wild-life but our room backed on to the kitchen which did not give me too much faith! This was not an isolated incident as 2 fellow travellers in a dorm had to be moved due to mice.

Generally the new parts of the complex are in better shape than the old - which are a bit run down. The room was clean and compact with no hooks to hang things. The bathroom had the shower over the toilet and again there were no hooks or a mirror.

The location is good just 5 minute walk to the Orang Utan sanctuary. Getting out was harder there was no correct information on the public bus service, the aim being to sell you their bus service.

The food was basic and well priced. The only complaint here was the beer at 10 RM per can - everywhere else in Malaysia was 6-7 RM

Room Tip: Room 19 had the rat
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
61 Thank towella69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Hi towella69,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us

As we are in the jungle, there will surely be rats. To tell our guests that there are not rats is total lies. However, the rats are not able to get into the room and the rooms are netted with mosquito nets and wire mesh. As for the 2 persons in the dorm, they too see rats but it is not inside the room. As you also agreed, all our rooms are clean.

Normally there will not be rats spotted in the morning but because it has been raining and there is a little flood in the jungle, so the rats has to where to go. Not only rats, there are other wildlife who come into the resort too.

We are doing some repairing around the resort. Currently, 16 superior rooms are completed and now we are doing the common toilet for men in the dormitory. Please give us some time and the resort will look great.

Malaysia beer price is priced around RM6-7 but are they in the jungle? Please take note that it takes extra transportation costs for the beer to arrive to the resort.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serve you again in the future

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandakan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.0 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.4 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
11.1 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#10 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#9 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Jungle Resort

Property: Sepilok Jungle Resort
Address: Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sepilok Jungle Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre, Sepilok Jungle Resort offers comfortable lodging for visitors around the world to get close but un-intrusive glimpse of this nature paradise. It is enclosed within a tropical virgin Borneo Rainforest in Sandakan, Sabah (Borneo), Malaysia. Let its beautiful landscaped gardens and wide expanse of lush jungle transport you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sepilok Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Jungle Hotel Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Resort Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing