We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The food was awful.
The rooms were grotty.
The air con was loud.
There were bugs everywhere.

I loved it. (Both times in 2004 and 2012).

Why? Because this resort is in the middle of the jungle. Yes, that means you don't have first world amenities at your disposal, and rightly so. If this place was a modern development it would cause damage to the surrounding area. As it stands I suspect the damage is minimal.

It's a very pretty hotel and grounds with flora and fauna everywhere including cheeky monkeys and noisy bats. I saw giant centipedes and leeches. A highpoint was when a lizard about 18 inches long strolled into our room for a little look then exited again through the hole in the wall he had arrived through.

Be sure to go visit the orang utans 100m down the road.

What this hotel is not: luxury accommodation for an orang utan visit.
What it is: moderately acceptable accommodation in a jungle enabling visitors to get up close with the natural inhabitants of the area.

Room Tip: If you're scared of bugs, don't bother even going to Borneo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeeTheWorld637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Hi Mike R,

Welcome home for the second time after 8 years.

Thank you for your review. Although you did not give us perfect score but we are glad that you gave us perfect 5 in your ratings to show us that you have enjoyed your stay despite that you are not happy with certain things.

We will continue to work on the negative comments to ensure that our future guests will be happy.

Thanks for understand that we are in the jungle and we are trying our best to minimise our impact to the environment.

We look forward to welcome you again in the future. (hopefully not in another 8 years)

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our first two nights of honeymoon to see the orangutans at sepilok orangutan rehabilatation centre. On arrival. We drove up to the hotel, and saw the strange woodlike cement decoration on the outside of the reception building, but my attention quickly turned to the nice welcome board that someone had taken the time to write all the day's new guests on. Once checked in, you walk along a board walk through the jungle garden to get to your room. We were staying in a deluxe ac room. It is certainly not a deluxe room on the same scale as deluxe rooms in any other hotel, but there were small touchs that made this place special, such as little plaques saying which type of jungle tree the wall was made from. In the afternoon after relaxing a little, we walked to the restaurant along the board walks, and say some amazing red birds fly by, as well as a bright green lizard walking in a tree. The jungle gardens here are really great. The food was good at sepilok jungle resort, we especially enjoyed the pakis ( fern shoot vegetable). The food and drinks were all very resonably priced, just like the rooms, i would recommend a stay here anytime. Only a 5 minute walk down the road to the orangutan rehab centre.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jade P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Hi Jade P,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are very happy that you have rated us a perfect 5 star.

We will inform all our staff from the kitchen, the gardener and the service staff about your compliments. I am sure they will be delighted to hear it.

Yes, the jungle fern (pakis) is one of the specialty dish in the resort.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

When we reached the entrance we were very excited as it looked like a proper resort with gates and all. We checked in easy enough and decided on a fan room. The room itself was fine, apart from a massive hole in the bathroom wall. The bed was clean and decent enough. There was a lot of rubbish outside the room and that was a shame to see. Walking around the resort is nice, saw some birds and snakes. The grounds are lovely and the pool is pretty nice too. The only downside for us was the crazy prices of food, 5.25RM for a coke for example and 9RM for chips! The staff were pretty rude too, they just looked bored and like they didn't care about the guests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
68  Thank Jen and Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Jen and Terry C,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We have cleaned the area that you have mentioned. For your information, we are doing some major cleaning up around the resort and thus you see a lot of rubbish in the surrounding.

Our soft drink is priced at RM4.00 per can plus 6% government service tax making it at RM4.25 and not RM5.25. Please understand that we are in the jungle and we are about 45 mins from town centre and we need to include the transportation cost.

We will continue to monitor our staff so that they will be able to serve our guests happily.

We are glad that you have enjoyed the ground and see some wildlife in the area. We have planted a lot of fruit trees for them and they enjoyed staying here because they are breeding.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for our first night in Borneo. We were going on a Kinabatangan River trip the following days and needed a place to stay upon arriving in Sabah. Nice quiet location in a jungle setting. Nice boardwalk over the lake where you can see the vegetation and some wildlife. We saw some beautiful birds. Excellent location if you want to visit the Sepilok Orangutan sanctuary. It is just a 5 minute walk. Room was ok. Small and not much light due to a small window. AC worked. A bit dated and with renovation could be very nice. But even still, the room was quite comfortable for us as we don't require too many luxuries.
The pool area is a nice spot to relax. Pay the small fee, it's worth it. We only ate at the Banana a cafe and the food was decent, filling, and the prices were fair considering there are is no town offering other restaurants. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and will answer your questions.
Overall, a nice relaxing stay for our first night in Borneo.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Hi Ryan G,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are happy that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us.

Please give us time to refurbishment our room. Our first phase which is the 16 superior room is completed. Our phase 2 which is the toilets for female and male dorm are completed. The next phase is to refurbish our restaurant .

As we have set aside 20 acres to plant many fruit trees, it is no surprising to see birds and wildlife in the area and we are glad that you managed to spot some of them.

We look forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Had a mixed stay here. They 'forgot' to collect us from airport...so we got upgrade on room to A/C, which was good, although beds like bricks. Did 2 nights in jungle, just fantastic, 3 river cruises, loads of wildlife, food basic but ok and rooms good. Staff were excellent, and there was a much happier more personal feel about the place than at Sepilock jungle resort. Back to resort, into fan room, noisey (next doors fan noise coming through wall), chickens and local family living under our room nattering at 6am...Went on turtle island tour. Fantastic, great island, seeing turtles, laying eggs and setting them free. all very well done, could say it is touristy, but the turtles well fare came first, and there was no way you could interrupt the egg laying. Water all off in morning tho. Rooms fantastic A/C.
Back to resort for last 2 nights. moved to a better fan room. Thank you staff! Food was ok, service was just service, didn't have the atmosphere it could have had, which would have made it a nicere place to stay. Swmming pool great to cool off in. Orangutan place 2 minute walk. We also did proboscis monley sanctuary, from a shuttle bus at Oranguatan sanctuary, half the price of tours on offer, and a really good day, much more interactive than orang-utans.
Staff at SJR had a set piece to say if you had a complaint, we were sorted out when we did have a problem, the rooms were ok, the walk ways over the water were great, it just lacked atmosphere....

Room Tip: for a win or double fan room ,ask for one upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nottyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Hi nottyone,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and gave us a thorough review of all the places of interest that you have visited.

Based on your feedback, we had a meeting with our staff and all the chickens will be removed. Actually the staff are rearing the chicken for their own consumption and they are free running. We will remove them to a new place.

We are glad that you are happy with our room upgrade as our apology for missing the airport transfer. Really sorry for any inconvenience caused.

We look forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Good for traveler stay. Sorrounding with nature rainforest. Restaurant also have good menu. But breakfst menu can improve. Not many menu to choose.at morning can go to sepilok to see org utan. But at night cannot do anything. No night life entertainment.

Room Tip: Good location.limited tv channel.no restaurant at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laksamana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Hi Laksamana A,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

Actually our restaurant open daily from 7.30am to 10.pm. As we are located away from the town centre and in the jungle, it is rather difficult to find night life entertainment.

The night life entertainment in the resort is the night walk in the jungle which any tourist can do if they are interested. There will be chance to see Pitta, Civet Cat, Wildboar, Kingfisher, Slow Loris and many more.

Thank you for your compliments on our nature surroundings. It takes about 20 years for the trees to grow until where they are now.

We look forward to see you again.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We did the 5D4N (5 days 4 nights) tour with Sepilok Tropical Wildlife Adventures, which included a stay at Sepilok Jungle Resort, one night at the Turtle Island and two nights at the Bilit Adventure Lodge near the Kinabantan river.
All was great! Everything was organised smoothly, starting with the warm welcome we got when picked up from the airport. Our plane was an hour late and we found out about it in the early morning before departure. This was too early to reach anyone so the driver wasn't informed up front and had to wait for us for the full hour. We apologised but he didn't care at all and gave us a very nice informative talk about Sandakan city. We picked up some more people as we headed for the Sepilok Orang Utan Centre. We saw eight Orang Utans including a few babies! Very cool.
The canopy walk was very nice as well.
The stay in the Jungle resort was very good, nice swimming pool (too bad it closes at 6.30pm) the room was clean and the food was great!
If there wouldn't have been bone chips in the chicken at Turtle Island (where we went next) we wouldn't have had anything to complain about. Very well organised and very nice island and tour! We saw a turtle hatch, we saw a mother turtle lay eggs and we freed baby turtles into the sea. All in all a great trip.
The city tour was a very welcome variety and the guide knew so much about the history. Very impressive. Loved it.
In bilit adventure lodge maybe the night walk was the best! Saw sleeping birds and a Chivet Cat. (Boots and Leech socks available for rent.) Wild Orang Utans in the trees during the river boat trip and many birds along the way.
Very friendly people, good food, great!
Drop off at the Nak hotel (highly recommended by the way) was arranged as well.
Nothing but good experiences. Thanks to all!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Hi Tim W,

Thanks for booking the tour with our sister company (sepilok Tropical WIldlife Adventure) and our sister lodge (Bilit Adventure Lodge) at Kinabatangan River. You are right about the night walk at Bilit. We have the best trails because it is on our own private land and no outsiders can go in there. The wildlife are happily staying there and they start breeding.

We are glad that you had a wonderful time staying with us and overall have thoroughly enjoyed your tour.

We will continue to make sure all the guests will have an enjoyable time while staying with us.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.0 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
663 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.4 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Sandakan
40 reviews
11.7 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 33 in Sandakan
325 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#7 of 33 in Sandakan
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Jungle Resort

Address: Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: £20 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sepilok Jungle Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre, Sepilok Jungle Resort offers comfortable lodging for visitors around the world to get close but un-intrusive glimpse of this nature paradise. It is enclosed within a tropical virgin Borneo Rainforest in Sandakan, Sabah (Borneo), Malaysia. Let its beautiful landscaped gardens and wide expanse of lush jungle transport you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sepilok Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Jungle Hotel Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Resort Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing