We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay and nice staffs.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I recently went there for my elective with a few of my friends at Sepilok Rehab Centre and I chose to stay here because it was close (literally 5min walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehab Centre) and for the price.

We were shocked at first to find out that our room had one fan only and a small one too and it the blazing hot weather, it wasnt enough. However, the nights were better at least and we can sleep.
The bed was comfortable, the hot shower (not that we need them because of the weather) was functional but the flow of the water is not that strong so we took our bath using the pail and bucket provided.
There is also that stinky smell coming from outside the bathroom sometimes in the night. I don't know where that is from but it was really disturbing haha.
The staffs were really nice though. We requested a few things not easily available, and they provided us with those things, free of charge!

The breakfast, although almost always the same menu everyday, but it was tasty and sufficient.
And we have neighbours living below us who I think are workers there, sometimes they turn on the TV and their musics too loud. And they smoke most of the times (even early morning 5am++) and the smoke will enter our rooms.
So that was a bit turn off staying here.

Other than that, it was a pleasant stay. Will definitely stay here again, but I would definitely book the one with air conditioning. haha

Room Tip: Definitely go for the air conditioned rooms on hot weathers. :D
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zenmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear zenmax,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

Being a local Malaysian should understand that our weather is very hot and humid. Usually a room will be given a fan. We do not see the need of putting multiple fan in a standard size room.

We will inform our staff about your compliments.

However, we thank you for your feedback about the loud noise and we will inform our staff about it. Those staff who are staying near the fan room is all non smoker so I am not sure if the smoke is from the staff quarters.

Overall, we are happy that you will come back to stay with us and be sure to choose an air cond room next time.

Thank you very much.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Sepilok Jungle Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We highly recommend staying at the Sepilok Jungle Resort if you want to be within walking distance to the Sepilok Urang Utan Rehabilitation Centre. There is another hotel near the centre but it was pricier than the Sepilok Jungle Resort. The village of Sepilok is just a few minutes by taxi from the Sandakan airport (about 40 MYR). Imelda and Regina at the front desk were very helpful, professional and efficient. They provided us a room that was very clean and functional. The A/C and fan were a luxury for us. The restaurant/dining area could be reached by a series of board walks from our room. The breakfast was excellent and it was included in the price of the room. We also ate one lunch and two dinners and we were very satisfied with what we ordered. You can also easily visit the Rainforest Development Centre (20 min walk or short taxi ride), Sun Bear Conservation Centre (short walk), and Labuk Bay Proboscis Monkey Santuary (half hour taxi ride) from the Sepilok Jungle Resort (SJR). What impressed us the most about the SJR was the staff who could think outside the box. We paid for 3 nights but after two awesome days in the Sepilok area we decided to move on to see more of Sabah. It turned out that SJR has a sister lodge at the Kinabatangan River area The front desk gals, Imelda and Regina, applied a big portion of our balance (less booking fee from a third party booking company) at the SJR to their sister lodge. They also helped us with the transportation arrangements and tours in the Kinabatangan River - that was service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear ReneTeresa,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are happy that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and our sister lodge, Bilit Adventure Lodge at Kinabatangan River.

We are specially delighted that you are enjoying and find our food very delicious.

I have forwarded your comments to all the staff and it has motivated them to work harder to serve all future guests especially Melda and Regina.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have marked this review as a 5 because of what it cost us and what we received.
The room was spotlessly clean and the aircon worked well.

We stayed 3 nights and ate all our meals in the banana café. The breakfast was ok, not great but perfectly edible. The lunch and dinners were really good. We ate all Malaysian food and it was perfect. I'm sure if you want burgers then it prob wasn't great, but you're in Malaysia , so eat what the locals eat!

The location to the sun bears and Orangutans was literally a 5 minute stroll .

We didn't mind paying extra for the pool, as we knew it before we went and it was peanuts, and absolutely beautiful after walking round the sanctuarys, and getting very hot.

We also saw 2 orang-utans in the banana café on our last evening and one there in the morning when we went to get our packed breakfast, which made the stay even more magical.

Don't bother to prebook a taxi when you arrive as there are lots at the airport for 40RM, but if you're leaving early in the morning ,check on your taxi. We had prebooked and prepaid for a taxi that didn't arrive, but my husband "hijacked" one of the tour buses!

All in all a fantastic place to stay, and a big thank you to all the staff , especially the girl who kept us topped up with Tiger beer, (sorry don't know your name!!) and Johnny for all the local info.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 38, with a lovely view of the jungle
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marknlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear marknlou,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you loved the local food that we served.

Orang Utan coming to the resort is quite common as we are sharing the same forest with Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre.

We will let our staff know about your compliments and I am sure they will be very happy to hear it.

Good to know that you find that my local information is useful to you.

We look forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spent 2 nights here with my husband. The resort is just 10min away from orang utans and sun bear, so great location. the resort is nice, bit run down, but food in the restaurant is fresh and good. go for the prawns that are big and juicy and amazing Sabah vegetable which you cannot get outside Sabah. During our breakfast one morning orang utan came to visit, so we have a really close encounter with this amazing animal. Pool is there, which is nice after hot day spent in jungle trails, and also because after 4pm all places close. the fee of RM5 for pool use and RM2 for towel seem excessive for guests staying in resort. it is right to charge the outsiders, which come from other hotels to use the pool. Rainforest discovery center is also very nice and interesting with better trails. RM40 to airport by taxi.

Room Tip: n.38 is with balcony facing jungle ad near to reception.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minna_s_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear minna_s_12,

Thank for choosing to stay with us.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with especially the food. We will inform kitchen and I am sure it will motivates them to work harder.

Orang Utan visit to the resort is not unusual as our land is just to the sepilok orang utan rehabilitation centre. They come quite often. Sometimes few days in a row.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to serve you again.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel is very much "tired" looking, must have been a wonderful place to stay a few years ago but now a bit run down. Staff helpful when TV not on, breakfast disappointing and service for evening meals very slow but food good once it arrived. Room clean and comfortable.
very convenient for the Orang-utans Rehabilitation centre and Rainforest Discovery. If a bit of effort was made and money spent it could be a 5 star hotel. Really mean having to pay extra for the swimming pool!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
43  Thank marian_kuyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear marian_kuyper,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We value your feedback and it is because of such feedback that we are doing renovation to the resort. At the moment, we are doing the Banana Café and the 4 sharing fan room.

Once that is done, we will be doing other parts of the resort. Please give us time.

As for swimming pool, the operation and maintenance costs were not included in the room rates. That is how we can maintain at dorm room at RM30 per dorm per night with breakfast. If we continue to receive more feedback, we may put these costs into the rooms and our room rates will increase. We will see ....

Good to hear that you enjoyed the food.

Once again, thank you very much.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights on either side of rainforest trip. The place could do with an upgrade, however it is good value for the price. The second time we stayed there the air-conditioning in the room wasn't too good. The rooms are clean and comfortable, they have a kettle and a tv. The restaurant is basic but the food is very good and reasonably priced. The hotel has a nice pool and is walking distance (5-10mins) from the Orang-utan Rehab Centre and the Sun bear Sanctuary.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laspig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Laspig,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We are glad that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us especially the food.

We will inform the kitchen and I am sure they will be happy to hear.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights because of its proximity to the orangutan and sun bear sanctuary (3 minute walk)

The room we had did seem to have been recently upgraded but for the price was not up to par, $50 (AUD) per night was the most we paid for a room in Malaysia. The shower was broken and the replacement didn't attach to the wall, you had to hold it. Minor problem but for the price we were surprised. Other than that the aircon worked well and the room was clean at least. I know they claim to be a two star resort but the price should match this.

As mentioned in other reviews the place is quite run down the reception is really dark with a random collection of dirty musty couches. Would it really be so much to spruce up the reception since it is your first impression of the place after all.

The pool is beautiful but you do pay extra to use it.

The banana cafe is horrendous. I think it is the worst breakfast/ worst service I have ever had in my life. Each morning we went down the staff were sitting around chatting/on their phones and when we went up to the buffet everything was practically gone. Maybe the problem is there is too many people working there so nothing gets done. When you finally got their attention they would bring out a tiny portion of whatever you had asked for which didn't taste very nice. Never any milk left for coffee/tea. No juice or water at breakfast either.

We never ate in the banana cafe for lunch or dinner because the breakfast was so poor. We mainly went to the sepilok nature resort which most people staying at the jungle resort seem to do. The food there is very tasty although a little expensive.

Room Tip: If you can afford to pay a bit more stay at the Sepilok Nature Resort.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
44  Thank Ariel89893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Ariel89893,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We will continue to monitor our staff to ensure they will give the best service to all our guests. We are sorry that they did not serve you very well while you were staying with us.

If anyone is coming to stay with us now, we are doing the renovation of the reception area. We already have plan to refurbish the whole resort but we are doing it in different phase. We have just completed the standard fan room and finishing the 4 sharing fan room while at the same time starting the reception.

Having a lunch at another resort could pay for a night stay in dormitory with breakfast with us.

Please give us some time and you will see a new resort.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.0 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
649 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.4 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
40 reviews
11.7 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Jungle Resort

Address: Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: £20 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sepilok Jungle Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre, Sepilok Jungle Resort offers comfortable lodging for visitors around the world to get close but un-intrusive glimpse of this nature paradise. It is enclosed within a tropical virgin Borneo Rainforest in Sandakan, Sabah (Borneo), Malaysia. Let its beautiful landscaped gardens and wide expanse of lush jungle transport you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sepilok Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Jungle Hotel Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Resort Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing